We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff. Tourism scam.”
Review of Chhaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chhaya Hotel
Ranked #14 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Rude staff. Tourism scam.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

(The only thing that saved the chhaya from a worse rating was that he provided transport to/from the bus station for us - despite our late night arrival.)

I've travelled Cambodia for 3 months now, always staying at guest houses in this price range. The Chhaya's rooms/bathrooms are about in line with the others in this price range but that's where the similarities end.

1) this had the rudest staff of all the places I've stayed (the first rude Cambodians I've met actually)

2) most guest house owners can set you up on day tours for a fee. The fee gets you transport and entry to all of the attractions. This place set us up on a tour for a fee ($7 each...which is a lot of money here) but the fee included only transport. We were then taken to attractions where our tuk tuk drivers explained we had to pay fees to the "tourism police" to see these attractions. This is the first time in this country I have ever encountered "tourism police" and they forced us to pay prices that, in some cases, weren't even published in the city's own guide book or, double of the prices that were published there.

I felt scammed and did try to confront our tuk tuk drivers & the hotel about it but when I did, all I got was an argument, excuses and dismissal...and then the silent treatment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    46
    27
    17
See reviews for
4
46
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a triple room here for $12 a night, which included a/c, hot water and one free bottled water each. You can't argue with that!


I agree with previous reviewers that there are a number of shady characters hanging around the reception, but after a while you realise that they do all have a function!

We were approached by a tuk tuk driver in reception after checking in and arranged a whole day your of the surrounding attractions with him for $12. He spoke good English and it was one of the best days we had in Cambodia!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our A/C double room with fridge was good value, clean and comfortable. The front desk / foyer area however is very badly run with various tuk tuk drivers hanging around & reception staff that are generally indifferent to the guests. However, be particularly careful with any finances / arrangements that the manager tries to make with you. On arrival we paid him US$20 for the first two nights for which he gave us a receipt... thank goodness.. because when we came to check out (he was not there) there was absolutely no record of the payment except the receipt we had. The staff even had to photocopy our receipt for their records. When we booked 2 bus tickets with him to Kam Pot, he tried to get us to pay more to take the "express connection" at Phom Phen, something that doesn't exist.Our tuk tuk driver however was excellent and a fantastic restaurant a couple of streets away is Central Cafe where meals are delicious and the staff wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevlyn422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I didn't like the way this hotel operates, but the rooms are good value. Basically, on arrival, a tuk-tuk driver takes you to your room. Every time you enter the reception the same tuk-tuk driver will harass you about your plans. If u dont buy your bus tickets there, the tuk-tuk drivers won't take you to the station, they tell you to find someone else on the street. It was difficult to tell who were actually staff there & they were neither helpful nor friendly. Having said all that, the room was great value for money. It was clean, mosquito-proof, well maintained & secure (double-lock on door & sliding bolt). Even though I disliked the way this hotel operated, I would stay here again to save $$$.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAcatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We checked-out from Royal Hotel to Chhaya Hotel because it was a bit cheaper...what a mistake.
Despite the tiles walls which give the place a cold atmosphere, our room was alright. Big enough, clean, hot shower. But, really bad sleep : noisy early in the morning because of the "screaming" staff in the corridor, talking, using their phones...
About the hall, as it's a bit dark down there, people who are standing there (staff, tuktuk drivers) are staring at you and that makes you feel unconfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikeasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Battambang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived in Battambang after a pretty long boat ride from Siem Reap. Before we had even got off the boat touts from the main hotels were bombarding us. This is usually a bad start and I try to stay away from the ones nagging me, but there didn't seem to a lot of choice in this town so we picked one who could offer the cheapest double.
This place isn't a resort, and I think people should be careful when they say bad things about extremely cheap places. I think my room with AC was $2.50 each for two of us. The bathroom was okay and I felt kind of safe, so it was immediately worth it. The staff are kind of weird and there are strange people hanging around the lobby but that's about on par with many of my experiences.
What sets my experience in Battambang and Chhaya apart from many other experiences is the guide we met there. His name was Sambath and he hangs around this hotel. He was young, spoke excellent English and was fantastic. He took us out for dinner one night where we ate some very interesting - and delicious - local cuisine for next to nothing with a group of people. After that he took us to a few different bars and repeated the next night. Hanging out with him was fantastic and he became more a friend than a driver.
I'd say find a nicer place to stay but search out Sambath, he can tell you everything about the area and his tuk-tuk is fast and reliable, which is impressive.
Bat caves and killing caves are a must. Go for a bike ride outside the city to get some local vibes and high five 10 kids in a row.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglasparker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The rooms are large and the staff is very helpfull. What made the big difference was our tuk-tuk driver/guide. Very beautiful day, took us every where. Spoke very good English and knows every detail about the trees, culture, landscape. If you stay here: ask for Bun to be your driver/guide!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_vervoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 45 in Battambang
777 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhaya Hotel

Property: Chhaya Hotel
Address: 3 118, Street | Svaypor, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Hotel Class:1 star — Chhaya Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chhaya Hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city, quiet, comfortable and safe, a few minutes walk to Central Market. All staffs are friendly, intimate with English and french speaking. We offer a free transportation from bus or boat station to our hotel . room start from 3$, 5$, 7$ ,12$ Dormitory available! * Selling & Booking Boat,bus, Taxi ticket to every where * Tour Trip around Battambang,with good English speaking driver/Guide.(good price) * Bike tours with good English speaking guide (good price) * Vietnam Visa Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Chhaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing