We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words: Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Two words: Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

It truly is a small boutique hotel with a cluster of two story teak(?) buildings.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the bathrooms spacious without being obscenely large.
A nice mixed crowd when we were here - some small groups , a few families and many couples - straight , gay, older and younger.

It feel like an oasis lovely pool and wonderful plantings throughout the grounds so there is always delight for the eye.

Breakfast is a plentiful buffet and they are quick to refill your coffee or tea.
The staff practically begs you to order an omelet .

Being a bit tired on the day we arrived we stayed in and had dinner here - restaurant was great - the best amok fish in 10 days in Cambodia but don't bother ordering the ice cream for your dessert - it is just a store bought cup- the only disappointment in 48 hours.

So it seems that this place can be most things to most people which is NOT nearly high enough praise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    141
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
194
34
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have just returned from my second stay at the Bambu Hotel. This place is just the best. The rooms are wonderful - everything you could possibly need. Very clean and attention to detail. The best thing about this place is the staff and the owner. The staff do all they can to help - nothing is too much. There is a real feel of happiness as you enter the hotel and this filters through to every aspect of the place. I really cannot fault this hotel. Pat the owner and his lovely wife Chan are more than helpful and wonderful hosts. I will definitely be returning next year. Battambang would not be the same experience for me without the Bambu hotel. I strongly recommend staying here - you will not regret it. thanks for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: if you can stay in the upstairs rooms at the back or the suites in the main building - all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Not far from the river on the bank opposite downtown has a lovely pool and dining area with a nice hot buffet style breakfast each morning. The hotel can arrange transport for getting around the area and taxis to other cities. Has reliable wi-fi.Our room had a huge bathroom with large shower area, perfect for couples. Room is also decked out with ipod alarm clock, flat screen TV with DVD (DVD's at front desk), fridge with drinks, AC, ceiling fan, and two plush robes.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the back had skylight and overlook the pool. Rooms in the front overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew608b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed three nights in one of the suite rooms at this boutique-style hotel on the outskirts of Battambang. The hotel is on the opposite side of the river from the main town area - just a short tuk tuk ride away.
Our room was well equiped and had a lovely large bathroom and the best quality towels we used during our stay in Cambodia! The decor is lovely and all of the little touches (for example -shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in their own Bambu pottery containers) have been thought of. Nothing was too much trouble - when we mentioned that the pillows were a little high for us, new ones were provided.
The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with them. The owner (Pat) is also around to make sure that you are happy. He organised a country-side tour for us with the delightful Mr Ohl, which we thouroughly enjoyed.
A tip - when booking, it is worth asking if there are any special offers, as we received three nights for the price of two.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Bamboo Hotel is located on the eastern side of the river in Battambang in a quiet road. It is on two floors with a restaurant and a swimming pool on the ground floor. The room was comfortable and clean. We only stayed for one night but the rate included a pick up from the ferry from Siem Reap which was a little way from town as the river was high because of the rain and the bridge was impassable. The hotel arranged for us to have a tuk-tuk driver who took us to various interesting places. Breakfast was included in the price.

We visited a local school supported by the hotel owner which took us in to the countryside and gave us a glimpse of Cambodian school life that is not always available to visitors.

As elsewhere on our trip to Cambodia staff were friendly and helpful and helped with onward travel arrangements. Despite the brevity of our stay it was enjoyable and we would have no hesitation in returning there and recommending the hotel to others who want a stylish comfortable and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our family of four stayed 2 nights in Bambu. All 4 of us were comfortable in one room. We stayed in the ground floor "garden" room, it was right off the central courtyard with a really pretty outlook. The pool / bar area was a very pleasant place to sit and have dinner and a drink. Happy hour is definitely worth hanging around for and their food was the best we ate in town. Breakfasts were good, and staff were very accommodating with our pancake requesting children. I think the omelet was the best I had in 4 weeks. The pool is clean and just long enough for laps. On the other side to town to main business of Battambang - a bit of a hot dusty walk to town.

Room Tip: Ground floor off the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed 2 days in this lovely, well designed hotel before making our trip to SM by boat (fascinating trip, recommended by the hotel). The hotel is very luxurious, very clean and well located. The beds just excellent - so comfortable! We loved the happy hour cocktails by the pool! Each bedroom has its little back garden. Friendly british owner.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_alden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 26 in Battambang
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Battambang Hotel

Property: Bambu Battambang Hotel
Address: Ko Street | Romcheak 5, Sangkat Rottanak, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Battambang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Battambang Hotel was opened in September 2010 and has 16 bedrooms arranged in 4 traditionally inspired buildings. When designing the hotel we wanted to combine all that was best in the local Khmer and French colonial architecture whilst providing our guests with maximum comfort and convenience.All rooms have en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephone, flat screen cable TV, DVD player with access to our DVD library, iPod docker, mini bar, room safe and private terrace or balcony. Free WiFi is provided around the site and we also have 2 dedicated computer terminals in reception for use by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bambu Battambang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing