We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Bambu hotel was fantastic. We felt very much at home there and enjoyed the great service and food. Happy hour was a highlight at the poolside bar. We also received some insights into Cambodian life from the expats who live in Battambang. Thanks Pat for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 449 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is a perfect base from which to explore Battambang. They are just over the river from town, and we walked to lunch and dinner each day, but there was never a shortage of tuk tuks in case we wanted one.
The property is gorgeous, and the pool area is very relaxing. Our room was overlooking the pool and had a great balcony where we could read and chill out. The room itself had two twin beds and was very spacious. I LOVED the bathroom and its huge shower, however the water went out on us quite a few times. It was not a big deal, as I live in Cambodia and am used to it, but it might be something other guests are unfamiliar with. The only other downside in the rooms is that there is just one small mirror in the bathroom. As it was two girls in the room, this was a bit inconvenient, but nothing huge. Breakfast was delicious, the bar area was charming and serves up a stiff margarita!
Fair warning - there are two temples near by, and since we were visiting during a holiday, the music and chanting starts at about 4am. Again, we were used to this, but other guests are probably not prepared for such a wake up call. BTT is very small though, so I assume just about every hotel is near a pagoda, and there is absolutely nothing they can do about weddings, funerals or other services going on ( as it should be!)
The front desk also organized for us to have a tuk tuk take us to the countryside for an entire day and go to the main temples. The driver was excellent, spoke English and knew exactly where to take us. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karose312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Travelling from Bangkok, Battambang was the first stop on our summer tour of Cambodia. We used trip adviser to choose this hotel and we were so pleased we did. The hotel is beautifully designed and is both comfortable and stylish. The rooms were fabulous with a mix of old traditional furniture and modern amenities. The pool was wonderfully clean and surrounded by beautiful tropical flowering plants. All the staff were simply delightful and we too felt that from check in to check out we couldn't fault this place!
We really enjoyed visiting Battambang. Its a busy little city with plenty of life and surrounded by some fantastic countryside. It seems that the Bambu is one of a few newly opened hotels and I hope between them they will help put the town firmly on the tourist map.
We would like to wish Pat ( the owner) and all his charming staff the very best with this new venture.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I feel sorry for Battambang because it really should be a rural city that travellers visit more often, this city has all the trappings (especially the riverside area) of what could be a hidden gem. However, the locals need to work out a plan of how to clean it up (ie. beautify the place) and make it more traveller-appealing and I reckon it will go through the roof.

On the other side of the river is the recently opened Bambu which on first appearances gives you the impression that it is going to be a very expensive place to stay. this could not be further from the truth !!

We booked for four nights and only had to pay for three with a full-cooked breakfast part of the package as well. They have a beautiful swimming pool in the middle of the complex, a first-class commercial kitchen with a mad head chef (I mean that in a positive sense) plus a bar with ice-cold Tiger beer on tap.

Rooms had a huge ensuite, casablanca fan over the bed, iPod connectable sound system, colour TV, fridge plus our room had a big balcony that looked back over the pool etc.

Along the side street, we were treated to a slice of Cambodian life as part of the daily show. Every morning we would watch the monks from the local monastery walking along in their saffron robes under a saffron coloured umbrella dodging the local farmers moving their brahmin cattle from one grazing paddock to another whilst school children weaved between them on their bicycles as they rode to school.

Of particular note are the staff who are without doubt, some of the most friendly & caring people you could ever ask for. They all shared a joke with me and enjoyed my normal crazy banter all the while maintaining their own level of professionalism.

The manager was an Englishman (Pat) who twice embarrassed us with his hospitality. One very warm night he offered me some complimentary beers around the bar (which turned into a longer than expected session) and the night prior to us leaving, insisted on the head chef making us the traditional 'fish amok' dish. How spoilt were we then ??

Look, if you want to go to a part of Cambodia that many other travellers probably don't, then you would be crazy to not stay at Bambu, it is by far the best place in town and for a wide variety of reasons too.

Splash out for a few days, it won't cost you the earth but you'll get to know how the rich & famous live all the time.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms that face back towards the front on the first floor, having the balcony is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stay for two nights, i wish we could have stayed longer cause it was beautiful. All details are well thought. It is a really nice place to relax after a sightseeing day!, We also ate at the hotel and I must admit we didn't eat somewhere cause the food was great also the cocktails and different juices!, The staff is also really nice and attentive. I recommend this place without hesitation!,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cami85-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We are so glad we decided to go to Battambang because we found this beautiful hotel in a very special town. We were going to stay 2 nights but extended to 3 as there was plenty to do. From checkin to check out I couldn't fault this place. The staff were lovely and very happy to share their knowledge of Battambang. The girls at the bar during the day were beautiful. Pat the manager was very friendly and sorted out all sorts of things for us including a visit to the school the hotel supports (inspiring), tickets to the circus ( a must see) and getting up early to buy us some cushions for the long boat ride to Siem Reap (an experience!!). Breakfasts were freshly made with a variety of options including eggs, fruit and cheese. The watermelon juice was amazingly good. My mouth waters at the thought. We ate a couple of times in the hotel and the food was excellent. I loved our room which was very comfortable and decorated with some beautiful art pieces. Beautiful large bathroom with a massive shower. The pool was beautifully presented and very clean, down to including hats with towels. Battambang is a beautiful city with lots to offer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedombird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel is a keeper! The design is based upon traditional Cambodian houses and immediately puts a guest at ease (as opposed to all the concrete monstrosities that seem to be going up in Battambang.)

Rooms on the bottom floor tend to be concrete, while rooms on the second floor tended to have wooden walls and terracotta roofs. Our room was on the second floor and had a lovely view across greenery (nothing breath-taking, but pleasant). The air-conditioning and fan were sufficient at keeping the room cool.

There were nice little amenities in the room, like designer soaps made locally, a fruit basket replaced daily, and an dock for iPod devices. The bathroom was huge and the water pressure and temperature were fantastic. However, the room only provided two bottle of water and the minibar turned off with the kill switch, causing the contents to swelter.

The biggest critique of the hotel was it's proximity to a local temple. Unfortunately, on one of the nights we stay there was a Buddhist celebration which began with monks chanting at around 4 AM. This is an uncomfortable time to be awoken, and the monks did not stop until about 8:30. While this isn't a fault of the hotel, the managers probably need to take this into consideration.

For me, this inconvenience was made up for by the quality of the pool, the relative speed of the wifi, and the deliciousness of the food and drinks. If I go back to Battambang, I would stay again - provided there is no early morning chanting!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEA_LION_PRIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Battambang Hotel

Address: Ko Street | Romcheak 5, Sangkat Rottanak, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bambu Battambang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Battambang Hotel was opened in September 2010 and has 16 bedrooms arranged in 4 traditionally inspired buildings. When designing the hotel we wanted to combine all that was best in the local Khmer and French colonial architecture whilst providing our guests with maximum comfort and convenience.All rooms have en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephone, flat screen cable TV, DVD player with access to our DVD library, iPod docker, mini bar, room safe and private terrace or balcony. Free WiFi is provided around the site and we also have 2 dedicated computer terminals in reception for use by guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bambu Battambang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing