We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Battambang”
Review of Lux Guest house

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lux Guest house
Ranked #10 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I travelled to Battambang with sixteen other volunteers to spend one night. We were met by the hotel Tuk Tuks, which were free. The staff were friendly, and on arrival we were offered fresh bananas, mangos and pineapples. The rooms were clean and great value for money. A few of us were upgraded to the King Size rooms, that were very nice. We had fan rooms, and they were cool enough, didn't need air conditioning. The hotel arranged a trip to the Bamboo train and the Killing Caves, Tuk Tuks included. Cost about $15 to have the tuk tuks for the day, and they gave us more fruit to take with us. Mr Lizy - one of the drivers, gave us a tour of the Killing Caves and he was great! - Slight hiccup with the hotel arranging bus tickets, so maybe organise yourself?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 219 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights, room 405 (no elevator so good exercise!). Attentive staff, fruit treats and free krama, 2 small waters per day, good laundry service, quiet at night for being so centrally located, near many good restaurants . Almost all rooms face West (afternoon sun but good curtains). One bad policy, if the power goes out during the day they don't run the generator if they only have a couple of occupants - not great if you are there on business, back in your room on a hot day without fan or A/C!! Good wifi with router relay on every floor - wish some better hotels in SE Asia would learn how easy this is to do.

Room Tip: Looked in a few rooms on the 3 upstairs floors. Great variation in size and furnishings so if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at the Lux for one night in Feb 2012. A friendly chap picked us up at the boat station (a very welcome face after the 9 hour boat ride from Siem Reap!!).

The hotel itself is situated in the middle of the town, close to the Market, two streets from the river, one street from some good restaurants (e.g White Rose, Smoking' Pot).

The service was definitely a highlight - family run - they go out of their way to welcome you (fresh fruit, free Khmer scarf).

The room is clean and simple - brand new mattresses (Feb 2012). Just what you want really for a one or two night stay.

Can't say enough good things about the friendly staff. This is a good base for doing things in and around Battambang. $25 for two of us was great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very friendly hotel with beautifully furnished room. The owners were very generous with us - a plate of freshly prepared fruit was given to us when we returned from sightseeing every day; we received a gift of a traditional scarf (krama) and we were driven to the boat station for our onward travel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrackensCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Lux is hotel quality & we felt truly blessed to have found it. Caring & considerate owners & staff made it a pleasure & our tuk tuk driver was a delight. Clean rooms & excellent value for any traveler on a budget. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Battambang

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkpodthealien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This really is a wonderful place to stay. The staff are so very thoughtful. A gift of a scarf on arrival. Fresh Fruit each time we came back to the guest house. Really kind. Rooms very clean and good value. We had our two girls with us age 10 and 14 and the staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeRandLindaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Clean and pretty guesthouse with hotel standards, big rooms and comfy beds. Staff is eager to please (keep offering you fruit when you pass, funny), very friendly and hooked us up with the perfect tuktuk driver for a daytrip (Nicky, the best!). Price is outstanding!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#15 of 26 in Battambang
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Guest house

Address: # 79 Street 102, Phum 20uksaphea, Sangkat Svay Pao, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: $10 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lux Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Guesthouse is a modern luxury guest house which has high quality standard service with the unique Khmer hospitality you expect and deserve. Our fully modernized property which just opened on April 2009 comes with all the usual amenities as well as unlimited water, free bikes, free internet, free pickup. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Central Market and by bike, it is less than 2 minutes. Of course, tuk tuks are always an option as well. Run by Khmer family, it is a friendly place with a warm, cozy atmosphere and it will provide you with a memorable experience of Khmer hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lux Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Guest House Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing