We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Au Cabaret Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Cabaret Vert
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed five nights and all the family loved the hotel, the staff were very friendly and kind,the garden is colourful, and well designed, The pool is really nice very refreshing with plants and fish nearby, The restaurant food is delicious, and the breakfasts perfect. Great place to unwind relax after a busy day and its a good location for exploring Battambang. We will return! Ruth and family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Battambang itself is a fantastic city to start a travelers experience in Cambodia and 'Au Cabaret Vert' makes it a very pleasant stay.
The garden is very beautiful and the staff was really making us feeling home.
They were always doing everything to make us to have a happy stay.
The food in the restaurant was very nice: breakfast delicious but also dinner was very tasteful.
The rooms are comfortable and there is enough space although we missed a wardrobe for storage since we were staying for 4 nights (we planned 3 but since we liked the atmosphere of Battambang so much...).
Also the TukTuk driver which was recommended by the staff was making our stay even more pleasant with his comments on the tours he made with us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KoSer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are well travelled and stay in a wide range of accomodation options. While this hotel was positioned in a quiet part of town (which we liked) it was walkable to town or a short tuk tuk ride. The cabins were in a lovely setting surrounding a natural pool- lovely to look at. The Cambodian restaurant and reception staff were lovely and quite helpful. One in particular who made us cocktails and delivered a meal to our room was great.
The not so good now - we were immediately put off when the tuk tuk driver who dropped us off was delivered a rude lecture by one of the management members who barely acknowledged us in the quest to admonish this chap. Not sure why but it may have been because we requested his phone number for future trips.
The natural pool is appealing only as a pond to attract natural life and held no appeal to us as a swimming pool. It was green with algae growing on the sides and floor. Natural and very much alive with flourishing algae. We elected not to swim in it. The frogs etc that it attracted we enjoyed but a swimmable pool would have been appreciated.
The room itself was nice enough though small detail things fell short of the mark. There was no hot water in the shower and though we mentioned this after the first night remained unchanged. The light in the bathroom was a fluorescent tube which flickered annoyingly. There was no soap. There was no bottled water supplied though there was expensive French champagne in the bar fridge. When the light and hot water were mentioned the response was a quirked eyebrow and a response that suggested we were going out of our way to be a bother.
We ordered room service for one of the nights we were there and felt like we had to justify why we wanted to order from the room service menu and to keep the order to a minimum as the reaction to the request suggested it was a great inconvenience!
Breakfast was nice and more than adequate.
Overall I think the issue for us was in the customer service (or lack of) and that attempts to ensure guests had an enjoyable stay really missed the mark. The managers were present but they detracted from the Cambodian staffs attempts to provide quality service rather than enhanced it. For the most part they sat at the bar on a laptop and did not seem to be part of a cohesive team and came across as cold and aloof.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

When I stayed at La Villa, it was fully booked for my last night. The owners proposed me to move to The Cabaret Vert for a final night. A tuk tuk driver was sent to pick us up at no charge. The bungalows are basic, nothing special. The pool is a natural thing... But after all it just looks dirty. Location is not so good. Breakfast was ok. As the price was the same as at La Villa, I don't think this place will be my first choice when I return to Battambang.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This place has everything to make your stay very good with beautiful natural pool. All 6 bungalows have direct access to the pool but it was impossible to sleep as the natural pool not only host some fish but also big toads which have been loudly cawing all night. We heard a lot of good things about the owner and get very disappointed with the "cold" welcome of the interim management couple in place. Bad dinner service with the two managers sitting at the bar looking very busy on their laptops, same at breakfast where they totally ignored their guests, except when it was time to check out and cash money. Place is nice but managing team is crap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Au Cabaret Vert is named for a poem by Rimbaud, whose picture is all over the place. This is a "green hotel" with natural air conditioning (which works) but also the regular kind. Each of the rooms, which are spartan, is named for a poem by Rimbaud. The pool is a "natural" pool which looks just like a normal tiled pool, except that the water is cleaned by aquatic plants in another adjoining pool. There are three fish in the pool, which is off putting to some people, and the bottom is green with algae. Not for everybody. The staff is great, they have audio tours which you take in a rickshaw which are extremely interesting and well done. They also organize local tours in a Tuktuk. French/Cambodian owned, at the time I was there the French owner had had a serious motorcycle accident, and was temporarily being replaced by a very nice young Frenchman with no hotel experience, he did his best. The restaurant is French, and superior, really excellent meals. It's more of a very nice new age guest house than a hotel, and is overpriced at hotel prices. I really enjoyed it, you might too.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the bar and restaurant if you want to get an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essbeepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A friend recommended Cabaret Vert when visiting Battambang city. So I called to book. The person who picked up the phone wasn't professional at ALL! (He sounded french... must be the owner...) He first answered with a rude HELLO (without saying the name of the hotel until I asked 3 times...). I then asked about room availability and rates...He once again was rude and didn't seem to care about the customer service. I wanted to book and he made me wait on the phone, while he yelled at some of his coworkers (I guess, hopefully not to guests..). After having so much trouble with bookings and customer service, I gave up and decided to book somewhere else...

I really wanted to book Cabaret Vert but it was an extremely BAD impression the guy gave....

anyway, I don't know why people can stand people like this...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.8 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
373 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Cabaret Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Cabaret Vert

Address: Rue 154 | Toul Ta Ek / Okatom 2, Battambang 60000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: $57 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Cabaret Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Cabaret Vert is known as the Romantic OASIS in Battambang !!! Dedicated to French Poet RIMBAUD, Au Cabaret Vert is a Eco resort hotel with first natural pool in the heart of Battambang. In a charming tropical garden, our villas (each villa is named with a poem of RIMBAUD) with private terrace offer a moment of serenity before discovering the charm of Battambang: authentic handicrafts, gorgeous landscape and exotic countryside.Our team will recommend you the best tours of Battambang.After your day trip, let's order a cocktail at the poolside to watch the sunset, and then enjoy our French and Cambodian fine cuisine.Free Wifi -Private Terrace - Room Service. Come to Enjoy the French Style : UNIQUE in Battambang ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Au Cabaret Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing