We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish Pond”
Review of Au Cabaret Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Au Cabaret Vert
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Beautiful hotel but too far out of town with tuk tuks few and far between. The oversized pond should not be called a swimming pool - it looks most uninviting with green slime and tadpoles and fish. They should think about cleaning this up or just not advertising the fact that it is a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chansothy D, Propriétaire at Au Cabaret Vert, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Sue,
Our concept of eco lodge is based on several factors, including our natural pool. The tadpoles are in the filtration basin but in the swimming pool there are only three fish involved in cleaning the pool. Also the concept of natural swimming pool is described on our website and our marketing tools. More than 900,000 pool in the world are now natural pool.

Our 10 Commitments about Sustainable Development :
The Cabaret Vert offers the first natural and environment-friendly pool in Cambodia. The water of the 55m² pool is entirely filtered by a separate basin consisted of plants, so no added chemicals. Thus the water is soft and does not damage your skin.

The garden is watered by rain water recovered during the monsoon

- The furniture was made ​​from legal wood and by carpenters of Battambang

- New lamps are energy saving ampoules

- The room’s isolation has been made ​​to keep costs and to limit the use of air conditioning

- Most of the food served at the restaurant comes from local market

- A vegetable garden is being developed for the cultivation of bio fruits and vegetables.

- We sort waste for recycling, and entrust them to a specialized company (Cintri), which develops a policy of responsible handling (sorting, composting, recycling plant project)

- We offer tours of Battambang and his surroundings with the highlighting local artisans and humanitarian associations whom we trust

- At the Bar, we are promoting the local products: coffee, tea, fruit juice, sparkling water

Furthermore our hotel is 1.5km from the city center, I hope that our tuck tuck has been helpful.

See you soon, and sweet trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 314 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

We arrived after an 8 hour boat transfer from Siem Reap & were welcomed with friendly smiles, a cold towel & a glass of champagne. The hospitality offered by Mathieu, his wife and staff far surpasses what we had expected from this little hotel.

The accommodation comprises of 6 bungalows set in a beautiful garden with a natural swimming pool. The bungalows are spacious & offer everything you could possibly want for your stay.

We ate in the restaurant twice and on both occasions the food was superb, infact they were the best meals that we have had on our holiday to date.

We took the bikes out from the hotel & explored the local countryside, which was interesting, safe & cheap. The next day we took a tuk tuk to the bamboo train, which was a 5 dollar hoot!

We needed to get from Battambang to Koh Kong by 2pm the next day and Mathieu arranged a taxi for us. He also got up early to wave us off at 5am, after he had checked that the taxi was road worthy.

Whilst this hotel is slightly out of town, they offer a free pick up service upon arrival. The hotel runs it's own tuk tuk service and it costs only 2 dollars for a trip into town.

It is this attention to detail and customer focus, that makes this hotel stand out from numerous others that we have stayed at.

We would thoroughly recommend and it represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrammieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I'm curious how this lovely little, odd off the beaten path establishment is rated # 1. The restaurant is very good, great foiegras, real French coffee, helpful, friendly French owners. But.....It's at least a 1/2 hr walk to the riverside, restaurant area of town, no way anyone not drunk would walk it at night and considering the lack of tuktuks past 9:00 PM, no street lamps its quite an inconvenient spot. There was a strong mildew smell in the bungalow that turned out to be a very funky damp bathmat left on the floor. The swimming pool is quite the environmental "gem". Tadpoles, fish, a green algae tinge and frogs that croaked crazy loud enough to have to close our windows and turn on the AC. We applaud the owners for not using any pesticides (unlike most Thai and Cambodian establishments) but a separate fish pond would be most welcome. Its a fine little inn but the location is not convenient and the pond/pool needs to be rethought. I don't want to paint a bad picture at all, just frank observations that will hopefully assist the owners.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chansothy D, Propriétaire at Au Cabaret Vert, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Dear Mark thanks a lot for your advice.

24 hours on 24 our hotel offers a service tuck tuck to go in the city or go home from the city. Do not hesitate to ask us...
There are three fish in the pool, "riri, coco and genius" are part of the biological balance of the pool. They eat plants and cleans the pool. They are proof of the purity of water.

Hope see you soon and enjoy trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is a slice of heaven! Lovely bungalows with tastefully decorated interior. Each bungalow has a little seating area where one can enjoy their breakfast, watch the sunrise, and take in the beauty of Cambodia. Surrounded by a lush garden and pool, this location is quiet, serene and relaxing. One could easily spend half the day resting and taking in some sun by the pool.

Lim, the tuktuk driver, is the kindest person! He showed us around town, explained to us the history of Battambang, and was overall a very warm, friendly guy. Our favorite tuktuk driver in all of Cambodia!

While staying at Au Cabaret, we went to the Bamboo Rail (go at sunset, I think the last ride was 4pm. It's an amazing experience and watching the sun go down is surreal while on the rail). took a cooking class at Nary's kitchen (absolutely amazing- run by husband and wife in their restaurant kitchen....a must!), rented a moto from Gecko Cafe, visited the surrounding temples.

Au Cabaret was the perfect place to stay while we were in Battambang. Would happily stay again! :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We booked some time ago and paid a deposit by paypal.
This was a new experience for me to use paypal in this way.
Unfortunately my son got sick and we had to cancel.
Within a few hours of my notifying them they have reimbursed my deposit.
I think this is good service and am sorry we can't get there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Clarice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here (2 adults / 2 teens) and stayed in 2 villas. When you first arrive here after a very long, bumpy ride from PP, you are greeted warmly with cold drinks and cold, refreshing towels. The meals here were scrumptious and even the presentation was fantastic! We had to pics of our meals we were so impressed. Villas were spotless and very comfortable, lovely grounds and open friendly restaurant. The only disappointment was that we had not booked long enough here. Do not make the same mistake we did, there are plenty of things to do in Battambang and the next time we return to Cambodia we will plan to stay at least five days exploring the area. You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakedtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a lovely welcome after a long drive from Phnom Penh and I was immediately impressed by the way that our driver was given a welcome cocktail alongside us. The 6 bungalows are very comfortable. We were not bothered by mosquitoes at all inside or out in the lovely flowery garden.
We ate here each evening of our 3 night stay and the food was reliably very good indeed. The eco pool is fun and there are tiny fishes swimming in it - a sign that the water quality is good.
As another reviewer mentioned your skin does feel silky smooth when you come out of the pool.
Breakfast was ample and i did like the fruit salad served.
The owners are very good at organising sightseeing for their guests and helped us plan our days. We then set off each morning with an au cabaret vert tuk tuk driver who looked after us really well and spoke good english.
Do try to go to the circus school performance if you are there on a Monday or a Thursday evening. It is wonderful and for a very good cause. Again the hotel organised tickets and a tuktuk for us.
There is a lovely relaxing atmosphere at the hotel and I think this is down to the good relations between the owners and their lovely staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.8 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
374 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Cabaret Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Cabaret Vert

Address: Rue 154 | Toul Ta Ek / Okatom 2, Battambang 60000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: $57 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Cabaret Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Cabaret Vert is known as the Romantic OASIS in Battambang !!! Dedicated to French Poet RIMBAUD, Au Cabaret Vert is a Eco resort hotel with first natural pool in the heart of Battambang. In a charming tropical garden, our villas (each villa is named with a poem of RIMBAUD) with private terrace offer a moment of serenity before discovering the charm of Battambang: authentic handicrafts, gorgeous landscape and exotic countryside.Our team will recommend you the best tours of Battambang.After your day trip, let's order a cocktail at the poolside to watch the sunset, and then enjoy our French and Cambodian fine cuisine.Free Wifi -Private Terrace - Room Service. Come to Enjoy the French Style : UNIQUE in Battambang ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Au Cabaret Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing