We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but noisy”
Review of Banan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Bunbury WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel but noisy”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is staffed by pleasant, English-speaking (mostly) staff and is very clean and spacious. The timber furniture in the rooms is very nice - if you like timber - and the beds large and comfortable. Central location is great for accessing buses, markets and most cafes/restaurants. However, its location on the main road from Phnom Penh to Poipet, means there is a lot of road traffic noise and if you are lucky enough to get a wedding or funeral nearby, then you can expect several days of loud music, starting around 4.30am and finishing close to mid-night. Ear plugs did not drown the noise out unfortunately. At $15 a night it was very well priced - maybe double glazing on the windows would help?

Room Tip: Rooms on the north size are noisy. Not sure about any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodview103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
45
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Battambang.

The location was good - a short walk from everything. This is definitely the side of the river you want to stay on.

Rooms were a little strange - lots of heavy wooden furniture, and became very stuffy when left without the air con on.

Staff did not speak much English, but seemed helpful for those who spoke Khmer. Not so helpful for us though.

The price was very good - we paid $18 / night. I would suggest that this hotel should be listed in the "Hotels" section. It was definitely way to big for a B&B.

Overall it was OK, especially for the price, but I would probably be willing to spend a bit more for a nicer hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwoo9859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I loved this little hotel. I booked in advance over the phone, and the reservation process was easy - they spoke good English.

The room was possibly the best I've had in SE Asia - big, comfy double bed, large room with carved wooden furniture, tv, mini-fridge and fan. The bathroom was also spacious and spotless.

Staff downstairs were a little quiet (shy), but they were helpful whenever I needed anything.

If I'm ever back in Battambang, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjsw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is average, but offers excellent value for money (we paid 12 euro for a double room).
Staff didn't speak English very well, which caused some confusion from time to time. Eg., we'd been travelling for about two months and most hotels we stayed at only offered an omelette for breakfast. Banan hotel did as well. I was getting tired of omelettes, but since eggs was all they had, I asked if I could have mine sunny side up. I spent about 10 minutes trying to explain what I meant, but to no avail.
Having breakfast was a bit strange as well, because they only had one round table, that fit 8 people. If the table was full, you had to wait. During breakfast, we had a bit of a strange encounter with one of the other guests at the table, who kept badmouthing us in French. Strange situation, which could have been avoided had there been separate tables.
Those are minor things of course, and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again, should I ever return to Battambang.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voornaam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Banan Hotel for two nights for a weekend break from staying in the provinces. The hotel represents good value and we had a comfortable stay. The rooms were clean and large as we're the bathrooms. Unfortunately the pool that was listed in our guidebook hadn't been constructed yet. The noise from the main road was also very loud, especially the truck horns (which you get used to in Cambodia).

While trying to be helpful, the staff sometime struggled with basic requests and seemed flustered. But they tried their best and this was appreciated.

Overall this is a standard hotel for one or two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

When we arrived at Battambang we spent a while trying to find a good hotel. We thought the Banan Hotel was the best in the area. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very large and clean although in my opinion slightly creepy with all the dark wood furniture and dark wallpaper.

Overall though a very happy stay. The free internet computers downstairs were very useful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for one night but really enjoyed it. The room was beautiful with hand carved wooden furniture. Very helpful hotel staff. We had a decent breakfast the next morning too.

Only a 1 minute walk from the bus station is a real plus. Definitely worth going to Battambang for the bamboo railway - an experience you won't forget!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banan Hotel

Property: Banan Hotel
Address: 5 National Highway, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Banan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing