We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful food and terrific classes”
Review of Nary Kitchen

Nary Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
castlemaine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful food and terrific classes”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we very much enjoyed our market tour and cooking class (very comprehensive and professional and great value). A highlight of our visit to battambang.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    117
    32
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty meal cooked by yourself!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The cook is really patient and knows a lot about khmer cooking. It is a fun activity to do plus after you can impress your friends by cooking khmer food at home again since they give you some receipes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sammariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great way to learn Cambodian flavours”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After reading reviews on TA, we went to Nary Kitchen for lunch and enjoyed the amok fish curry and fresh spring rolls (about $3 each). Straight away I asked to join the cooking class for the next day. It started at the local market to pick up extra-fresh ingredients and all 6 of us from around the world enjoyed the offensive smells of exotic veg, meats and fish (some still swimming around!). After 3 hours in the home kitchen we enjoyed our spoils - amok fish curry, crispy spring rolls and beef lok lak - over cold drinks. As mentioned by someone, it's not a class of techniques but a class of learning and cooking Cambodian flavours. Nary and her husband were lovely and there were no problems with English. In addition we were given a book of ten recipes and they encouraged us to keep in touch on our other cooking endeavours by email. $10 well spent

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jess d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good kitchen class”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

good kitchen class, 10 dollars for 2/3 hours of class
The best moment is when you go to the market, it is such an experience!!!
then you cook, or you help to cook, you don't realy learn that much but you see how to do, it is not a real class where you learn techniques but it is more a class where you see what to do and you help the cooker (that point could be enhanced: it could be more didactic)
an other good point you eat what you cook: it is delicious, and it is a big meal
3 dishes realy tasty (i couldnt finish :), but it was so great)

last good point you have a cooing book, usefull if you want to cook at home

thank you nary's family

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyvic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We followed the tripadviser advice to go to Nary Kitchen and we were very happy. The local Cambodian food was good and the service was nice and kind. They also called us a Tuk Tuk taxi to go back to hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaltyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nary Kitchen also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Nary Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing