We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good, but we missed Leng!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BamBoo Train Cafe and Bar

BamBoo Train Cafe and Bar
Ranked #40 of 105 Restaurants in Battambang
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
east bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always good, but we missed Leng!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

A great restaurant with excellent breakfast. Leng, the owner, is a very special restauranteur who was out while we were there. We enjoyed our meals there in any case.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simpleman316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“shakes are good but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

thats it!
they used real coconut and real fruit in the mixed fruit shake and they werent overly sweet
but the food was poor for what $ paid.
we had veg spring rolls which were mushy and bland, amok with fish which came in a sponglike consistency and was also bland, and vermicelli chicken soup with little ants and blue specks. overall quite disappointed given the ratings, but then again maybe the hopes were too high for a restaurant full of foreigners ordering hamburgers

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alldayieat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
287 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great name but disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

In the evening we came (on recommendation) the restaurant was fully booked but.... there was a 4 persons table available. The owner is a very friendly man and explained why only 4 different dishes where available. We accepted and ordered. The food was a little disappointing.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great atmosphere, and great portion sizes. Very unique restaurant to Battambang and has a great atmosphere. Very popular among the Western NGO workers. Good food and prices and excellent service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place, excellent food, charming service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The restaurant is located outside of the center, but it is really worth the trip (and don't pay the tuktuk driver more than $ 1,50!).
All the food is fresh made with the best local ingredients. Some of the best Khmer specialities and also some western dishes. The wife of the Owner is a great cook and the service is perfect. You'll enjoy your meal here!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BamBoo Train Cafe and Bar also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to BamBoo Train Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing