We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Battambang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khemara Battambang Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Good value hotel which offers good service, comfortable rooms and a nice environment.

Unfortunately the hotel is very far away from the central markets area, needing a car or Tuktuk to get around.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable, spacious rooms, in the VIP section, including dressing room. Beds very comfortable.
This hotel is suitable for travellers wishing to eat out as there is no restaurant, there are a number of styles of dining on offer, including take-away, within walking distance.
The sister hotel Khemara Battambang 1 on Rd 515 allows free use of swimming pool, (5min tuk tuk ride).
Note, the hotel is on a busy route through Battambang.

Room Tip: Ask for VIP room, only $20/$25
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

First of all, be careful to distinguish between this hotel and their sister hotel -- the Khemara Battambang 1 Hotel. The latter is larger, has a pool, a restaurant, will arrange tours, is on the outskirts of town, and is set up for Westerners. This hotel is a little more basic (and substantially less expensive). We were the only Westerners staying there, which was fine. The hotel appeared to be frequented primarily by Asian businessmen in big cars, who were just passing through. We rarely saw any women, other than staff. The staff was friendly but their English was fairly limited. The hotel rooms were clean and spacious and fairly quiet, despite the fact that the hotel is on the busy main highway coming into town. (It helps that Cambodians generally go to bed fairly early and arise at sunrise.) The windows had great blackout curtains. During the first few days of our stay, there were no tuk tuk drivers outside our hotel (although moto rides were offered), and we had to walk a few blocks to find a tuk tuk. We took this as further sign that not a lot of tourists stay at the hotel. By the end of our stay, the drivers had caught on and we had our choice of drivers waiting outside. No pool, no restaurant, nothing fancy. Sort of like a nice, clean, Motel 6. We walked into the main part of town a couple of days, but generally it's a tuk tuk ride. A good choice if you don't need to be around other Westerners and don't need to be right in the heart of things, are fairly self-directed, and want to save some money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Khemara Battambang is a tidy, well-run and very reasonably priced hotel close to the middle of Battambang town. We were pleasantly surprised by the large size and cleanliness of the rooms, and the staff were very friendly and helpful (they earned bonus points for being able to identify and give good directions to a restaurant for which we only had a partial address!) The hotel is also in a great central location, just a block or so back from the river and an easy walk into the middle of town.

One word of caution - it is easy to confuse the Khemara Battambang Hotel with its larger namesake, the Khemara Battambang I Hotel (I can only assume that the two are connected, but as this is Cambodia you can never be certain). The Khemara Battambang I is larger and has a pool, but is a bit further out of town. Having checked out both, my preference would be for the Khemara Battambang given its more central location and smaller size, but both seemed fine).

Room Tip: The big room upstairs in the main building is probably the pick of the bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rovermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very clean, nice pool, good food and wonderful staff.

Our time in battambang was made extra special by our Tuk tuk driver called Thoeun, he took us on a guided tour of the local area to lots of different tourist sights in his super comfy tuk tuk. He only charged $15 and was full of info and interesting facts about the local area, particularly the massacre at the hands of the khemer rouge that he experienced first hand.
If you are in the area I highly recommend giving him a call, his number is 092694590. He was the best tuk tuk driver and all round character that we met on our trip through asia, I will be sending all of my family and friends to him

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This review is about the more central Khemara Battambang Hotel (there's also another one more outside the centre which has a swimming pool).
Anyway, this hotel looks just beautiful from the outside as well as from the inside. The staff is very friendly and the funny guard always used to salute us. Hilarious. The beds are just the best we've slept in for weeks. The rooms are very clean, have internet access (LAN cable but in some rooms you can get a wifi connection from a netword nearby), a TV, and a fridge. It was certainly worth the $ 15,- per night. There are several cafés and restaurants nearby where you can have breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Here the GPS coordinates of the hotel: N 13°05.526' E 103°12.289'

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THAOSOKMUNY, Owner at Khemara Battambang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear Groningen,

First of all I would like to thank for your review. Your review help other guest to understand and trust on my hotel. Hope you come back and stay at Khemara again. Thanks for staying at the Khemara Battambang.

Have a great New Year 2011!

Mr. THAO
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Chloé R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Khemara Battambang I Hotel
0.5 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khemara Battambang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khemara Battambang Hotel

Address: No 5 No 224, Old National Road | Roumcheck 4 Village, Sangkat Rathanak, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing