We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming family runned boutique hotel”
Review of Phka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phka Villa
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming family runned boutique hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a superior bungalow. The room furniture is basic but very clean and all you need is there. The room is always decorated with fresh flowers from the garden and these little gestures are the most characteristic of this nice boutique hotel. There are towels and straw hats on the sunbeds around the pool, the stuff is of an extraordinary friendliness and nothing is too much for them, you really feel welcomed. The meals and drinks served on the terrace at the pool are delicious.There is always a tuk-tuk for the short trip to the city. They arrange seeing-hands massage in the hotel - this is a very good experience and nobody should miss it. They also arrange your transport to your next place. At the departure you even get a lunch box.The whole atmosphere is warm and attentive. This is a very charming family runned small hotel and a nice place to stay in Battambang. I really can recommend it!
One day we made a very nice day trip to the surroundings by tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhkaVilla, Owner at Phka Villa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, Carla

Greeting from Phka Villa!

We should write back to say thank you earlier.

We are the family would like to say thank you for choose to stay with us, and even posted the excellent feedback of your experienced at Phka Villa.

We, and the family are looking forwards to host you again, if you plan to come back in the future.

Best regards,
Ratanak Mr./and the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    139
    53
    17
    7
See reviews for
73
190
32
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I was there with my wife for our delayed honeymoon. Upon arrival, we felt very much welcomed by all their helpful staff. The decoration looks great. Little gestures like free welcome drinks and boxed lunch did touch me. I loved its serenity and well-equipped room. They solved the problem we met: Internet connection!
But we got a little trouble with the bathroom and swimming pool.
Overall, our stay in Phka Villa was an enjoyable experience, although some items need fixing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSithen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhkaVilla, Owner at Phka Villa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear, Mr. Sithen

Thank you so much for taking time to write us a review. The team at Phka Villa very glade to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us on your extension honeymoon. it is good to have you here. We'd love to host you again in the future, when you plan to visit battambang again.

We are sorry that you found a little problem with the bathroom, and the swimming pool. We have fixed the shower head after you left. it was the wast of staff attentions, have not checking the bathroom . Next time we will pay more attentions to everything in the room, and make sure everything in order working before bring guest in.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and the enjoyable stay in feedback

Best regards,
Ratanak Mr./and the family and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Mr. Ratanak and his team couldn't be more helpful. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The villas offer excellent value for money. I agree with some of the comments around location but not noticed as free tuk tuk to town means its never a concern. It's also quite a nice and safe 15 - 20 min walk.

The rooms are relatively basic but have everything that you need and are clean. The bathroom has an outdoor/indoor feel which is great.

Some maintenance is needed around the pool area with loose wooden slating but the pool is actually warm unlike anywhere else we've stayed in Cambodia.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, Battambang isn't exactly happening so its just a place to chill out and potter around. Location is not so vital here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolRadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my second stay at Pkah Villa and it will continue to be my hotel of choice in Battambang. What I love the most is the service and friendliness of the staff. Thida (the manager) is wonderful and so helpful. They organised our tickets for the circus (a must do), tuk tuk to bamboo train, massages and a lunch and water for our drive back to Siem Reap. Definitely ask Thida to organise masseurs to come to the hotel and give you a poolside massage - we had 2 from the Seeing Hands place (they are blind and have been trained extremely well). The food is good and they make some great cocktails. The pool is lovely and refreshing and you are provided with a pool towel (I have never had to use my towel from my room) and a straw hat! We were still by the pool as the sun went down and the staff brought out citronella burners and candles! The rooms are clean and always decorated with flowers from the garden. I loved my stay at Pkah Villa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

we spent here 2 night in January 2013 and enjoyed it very much!

the bungalows are nice, big and clean. It is great to have a pool in which you can jump after a long journey.
They are builinding a new bar area now which shall be finished till end of January 2013. we think that will look nice too. The restaurant and bar is open till midnight, which is longer than we know it from other hotels.

Hotel is a little outside of the center, it is a 15 minutes walk away. But they can organise a tuk tuk for you. But we did go out just once and ate the other evening in the hotel. The food there is good.

The staff is very friendly. They speak English well and they organise everything for you. When we arrived, they offered us a welcome drink and explained around 30 minutes what can be done in Battambang. That is very helpful. And when we left, they prepared 2 sandwiches and 2 bottles of water. They really take care of you.

When you plan to do a tuk tuk tour in Battambang, we recommend Mr. Sarath (092218246, 087762618). You can ask the reception for him, they know him. he is very kind, speaks good English and is very motivated. He made a bigger tour than we had planned, made a lot of photo stops for us and explained us all sights well. an he did not charge anything extra for the bigger tour. We had a great day with him.

We can recommend that hotel to everybody.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Team_FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights unexpectedly - very impressed. Battambang is a little less touristy than Siem Riep or Phnom Penh, but this place would be great in either location - cottages built around a lovely pool, good value for money, service is excellent. A great place to enjoy a beer in the sun around the pool after a day of sightseeing, great value for money - definitely to be recommended above the more kitsch looking hotels in the town in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Overview - Stayed 3 nights (was enough in Battambang). Chose to stay here based on TA reviews. 11 rooms, set around a large shallow pool and decked area with gardens. All rooms are on ground level. Unfortunately the bar and restaurant was being renovated and extended, so some noise occurred during the day, however this is due to be completed by early 2013.

Booking - via Agoda online. Confirmed & voucher received later via email. Price $55 USD per night (including b/fast), paid with credit card online.

Travel – ex Siem Reap, 2.5 hrs, air con car/taxi $40 USD.

Rooms - Small room,firm mattress,lumpy pillows, nice linen,lightweight doona,fridge, safe, TV (only Cambodian stations),western loo, basin and hot shower. Air con, strong ceiling fan!!!! Outdoor table and 2 chairs on small verandah, weird 'bunker' type area with 2 chairs.

Food - Skipped breakfast each day due to early morning cycling rides till 9/10 am (we ate in town). We sampled menu for lunch, ordered spring rolls, club sandwich with fries, and was good. Menu is quite limited (basic western and basic khmer) but adequate. Beer was served just cold enough, however on our last day they only had warm beer and we were offered ice cubes to put in it!

Location - down KO Street, in the 'quiet' side of Battambang??? Near the riverside and KO roads are some 'ladies of the night' bars/restaurants (nothing like Mabini Street in Philippines or Patpong though)....and the music - boom, boom, boom! The villa is located 'just' far enough away from this scene.

Facilities – Complimentary tuk tuk to town. They can organize visits to bamboo train, tickets for circus and other day trips. Tuk tuks are usually waiting outside, or they can call one. The pool is large (shallow) with limited sun lounges and shaded areas.

Hints - Go and hire a bicycle - this IS the town for cycling (Siem Reap & PP slightly more dangerous!). Options are Tomato Guesthouse ($2 day), BTB opposite Pomme de Amour Cafe. Gecko Cafe only do moto's. We rode during cool of day, and even at night (take a torch so others can see you). You can stop anywhere and visit temples/pagodas or stop for coffee etc... Must see - Phare Ponleu Selpak Circus School (Mon & Thurs 7pm, $10 USD)!!!!

Pros - Villa away from main town, staff and manager were around to assist guests. Complimentary tuk tuk to town. Complimentary dinner was offered to compensate for renovations (we initially said yes, menu was decent, but didn't take this up on return from the circus as no seats available to eat, so we returned to town for a meal). Complimentary breakfast pack (egg sandwich & water) for bus/car trip.

Cons - The rooms are tiny, and a bit shabby and basic in substance. They are outdoor rooms, not villas. We had a kettle but no coffee cups or tea/coffee etc - so what's the point? The TV had only Cambodian stations - so what's the point when mostly western tourists stay here? Shower hose had to held between your legs or placed on ground for showering, no soap holder or shelf in shower. No powerpoint in bathroom, no hanging space, no luggage racks. Towels for the sun lounges doubled as the towels for your bathroom, so were wet the majority of the time. The door to the bunker had a massive gap, so mosquito’s enjoyed a 3 night stay and bathroom door would only close after banging it heavily (sorry to other guests). Our room was not made up on the first day, but offered to be done at 4.00pm (had been by the pool since 11.00am!). The pool had a slight 'oil sleek' appearance on surface, and after swimming the pool tiles on the bottom felt a little bit grimy. Staff stand nearby (counted 3 at one stage) while watching you eat or drink - which is awkward.

Conclusion - Whilst the staff and manager were nice, helpful and pleasant - it just wasn't what was needed, something is missing. It felt disjointed in service & delivery, too many indians, and not enough chiefs. We just didn't get how this place could receive 5 out of 5 on TA. We discussed the villas with 2 other couples (British & French) who were also staying here and they concurred similarly with our thoughts. Our stay was by no means terrible.

Onward travel - Air con car to Phnom Penh 4.5 hrs, $65 USD or $6 by bus (6/7hrs).

Other restaurants - Flavors of India (albeit with a Nepalese twist), share a thali (size is massive), cold wine and beer, also fans! Gecko Cafe for good breakfast, nice balcony, open for dinner (despite LP guide error). Nary's for good Khmer curry with a kick, chicken chilli and basil (ask for more chilli!), cold beer (no wine), restaurant is small (only 10/12 seats) and dark location, Smokin Pot for ok Khmer (albeit slow, slow, slow). Cafe Eden,decent. Avoid Madison Corner and Fresh Eats Cafe.

Other hotels - Bambu Hotel (same street) looked good, La Villa has construction going on next door....many typical air con Asian high, high rise hotels around! Lots of hotels in town, many not in LP guide book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DacPsaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhkaVilla, Owner at Phka Villa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear, Clients
Thanks Very much for your time to write a bout your stay with our family. Always helpful to hear from our clients feedback. Positives or Negatives are always very helpful to us. Your negative points is underlined into our management to improve quality of our services for our future potential clients.

First of all, We are very regret to hear that you are not fully enjoyed your stay with us. We will make your stay better if we have another opportunity to see you again.

Secondly, with regards to clarify your negative points :

Restaurant/Bar and Bungalow Room : As property's owner always spend time concerning about construction in aiming to maintain the whole property area is in working order, not only during your stay , but for our future potential guests as well. We knew that it will be inconvenience to our clients during the day in the extension 3 weeks period. We knew that it could not make 100% satisfy to all our clients, and we knew that it will happen in hospitality Basis.

Rooms : Before build we have put lots of attentions to the details of Khmer traditional old style taste. Designed base on Cambodia climate ( hot and wet). Separated bungalow suitable for 2 pax ( Room size Quick cool up when air-con turn on), big bathroom, 2 terraces, one under shade. therefore we would suggest to ask all your questions before make a booking. We are keen to answer to all your doubts to avoid any misunderstanding. or you need to ask for a bigger room.

We are sorry that your room missing tea/coffee, but TV(CNN/BBC/Discovery/Animal planet/plus 70 more channels). However all negatives points you have underlined we will put in our list to avoid our future clients have same problem. We suggest you should come to us and ask , we are keen to look it up for you or anything further more you will need during your stay we do all, except to get the star in the sky for you . somethings happen sometime and it beyond our controls.

About TA reviews Phka Villa have received 5 stars out of 5 stars from our value clients. people might like different, and they have been satisfied of what they get from the small care from our family. You mentioned, you had a discussion with two other couples ( British/French) that they had the same thought with you about the place, in the same day the British couple informed us about your idea mentioned on us, anyway just to let you know a bout people thought.

Conclusion: We are the family willing to do anything to make your stay enjoyable, and we have put everything into small care of our customers to receive an unforgettable stay, and the best experiences.

Thank you so much for your feedback. We wish you all the bests and if you plan to come back in the future we will be delighted to hosting you again.

Ratanak Meng Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.7 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#9 of 26 in Battambang
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phka Villa

Property: Phka Villa
Address: Street 203, Romcheak 5 | Sangkat Ratanak, Battambang, Cambodia (Formerly The Rottanak Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phka Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Battambang, Phka Villa Hotel offers an outdoor pool and a barber/beauty salon. Rooms feature a private balcony with views of the grounds and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a one hour drive from Sisophon and a 4-hour drive from Phnom Penh, where temples and cultural sites reside. Rooms at Phka Villa feature traditional Khmer furnishing. Equipped with air conditioning and a fan, rooms also come with a minibar and tea/coffee maker. A satellite TV and an attached bathroom are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing