We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phka Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phka Villa
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

It's is well worth the 5 stars that most reviewers give it.

This is family run and it shows, all the staff are full of smiles and are as helpful as they can be without being intrusive. The rooms are charming, everything very clean and welcoming and in good working order.

I noticed a previous reviewer mentioned that there was no hot water, this was not the case but it did take 2-3 minutes to arrive, patience wins out. The charm of this place far out weighs the slight inconvenience of the wait.

Teda, the assistant manager was brilliant anticipating all needs and making sure that guests were matched with appropriate TukTuk drivers, mine SuPhon wen tout of his way to take great care that I enjoyed my stay.

Battambang is well worth a visit, I stayed 3 nights and could easily have done a couple more. The town is an attractive colonial throwback and the countryside and the ruins, temples, other attractions are not inundated with other tourists.

So if you are looking for a relaxing stopover after the frenetic activity of Siem Riep or Phnom Penh then this is the place for you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Droll_Pineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    136
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
72
188
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to take a break from the guesthouses we'd been in previously. The pool was a big draw. The rooms are all in separate bungalows and situated around the pool. The room was clean and we were greeted with hibiscus flowers on our bed and in our bathroom. The a/c worked great and our mosquito net kept us safe from bugs. The hotel was working on building a bigger bar and we were given two free dinners for the "inconvenience", which was just a little banging on the first day.

The entire staff is very friendly and quick to make sure your stay is perfect. They were able to arrange transportation, bus tickets, and tickets to the circus for us at no additional fee.

They also sent us on our way with free packed lunch boxes for our bus ride, which we were pleasantly surprised by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdlizsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

this place is very relaxing and they will take good care of you. i was picked up from the bus station by a nice young tuk tuk driver and from the moment i entered phka villas i just had to relax. everybody is really nice and will help you with everything you need. the rooms are clean and lovely, with 2 terrasses. make sure you have moskito repellent with you as on some evenings the amount of moskitos is really massive. the only thin i missed in my room was a small fridge, this would have made it perfect. all their tuk tuk drivers are nice but i want to recommend mr. bora especially. i did the battambang tour (bamboo trainwat banan, killing cave, countryside etc - amazing) that was explained by the lovely assistant managaer, mrs. thida. if you have the time split the tour on 2 days instead of 1 because it is really exhausting. wat banan has 358 steps to climb....you can arrange the tour as per your interests also. but don`t skip the countryside part, it was one of the best things on my whole cambodia trip. my driver bora was the nicest and most helpfull guy i could imagine. he even took me to a wedding of a friend which i really enjoyed.
if you spend time at the pool you get also real good service and all the staff will look after you. so enjoy your drink, coffee, food and have a good time.
phka villa is a little bit out of town but you can walk easily. bring a torch for the way back, there is not much street light outside the center. or us ethe tuk tuk service of phka villas.
will be back next winter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Phka means garden in Khmer, and that's exactly what Phka villa is, a garden oasis in the middle of the controlled chaos that is Battambang. My friend and I stayed at Phka Villa Hotel for 3 nights, and we loved the experience. The rooms were very nice, the breakfast was made to order and very good, and the pool was a fantastic way to sooth our bumps and bruises after a day of motorbiking around Battambang. However, the best part of the hotel is Ratanak and the other workers at the hotel who showed us true hospitality. They are some of the nicest and most welcoming people I have ever met. We felt truly at home during our stay. When departing we had a 6 hour bus ride to Phnom Penh, and the hotel staff sent us off with a care package of sandwiches and bottles of water for the road, free of charge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was easily the best accommodation we had in Cambodia. We extended our stay in Battambang because of the Phka Villa. They were helpful and accommodating and I can't wait to go back there. The tuk tuk driver was very helpful and takes you off the beaten track. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanmythepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The staff are just amazing, The service was perfect even sometime to much because they just care si much about us. The food was one of the best in Battambang. We did not sleep there but after visiting the room I will définitively go there on my next trip in the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0685546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omeo. Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Phka Villa was a wonderful experience. From our greeting and service from Miss Thida to all the young and old staff who did everything they possibly could to make our stay special. We loved Battambang and will return, mainly because of the lovely people. Special mention of Sophorn- our fantastic Tuk Tuk driver is a wonderful, generous and sensitive man. We got on so well and he gave us so much on our stay. The pool at the villas was wonderful, the breakfasts and service immaculate. Just a great place to see this wonderful area.

Room Tip: All the villas are great surrounding the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shepsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
1.1 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 27 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#10 of 27 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#17 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 27 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phka Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phka Villa

Property: Phka Villa
Address: Street 203, Romcheak 5 | Sangkat Ratanak, Battambang, Cambodia (Formerly The Rottanak Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phka Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Battambang, Phka Villa Hotel offers an outdoor pool and a barber/beauty salon. Rooms feature a private balcony with views of the grounds and free Wi-Fi. The resort is a one hour drive from Sisophon and a 4-hour drive from Phnom Penh, where temples and cultural sites reside. Rooms at Phka Villa feature traditional Khmer furnishing. Equipped with air conditioning and a fan, rooms also come with a minibar and tea/coffee maker. A satellite TV and an attached bathroom are included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Phka Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing