We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go here”

Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Cambodian, French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Relax, wine and dine in this informal yet quietly elegant little restaurant & Bar. Located in a converted French colonial shop-house, the ambience exudes vibes of the colonial era, with overtones of lost Khmer Empire mystique. We pride ourselves on exceptional and personalised service and an extensive menu, with authentic Khmer dishes, creations from other Asian cuisines and, if you're looking for reminder of "home", a wide selection of Western cuisine. We boast the coldest draft beer in town and an extensive list of wines from all over the world. Enjoy a snack, a cool drink, a cocktail or a full meal at Khmer Delight - and all in the emerging dining precinct, in the beating heart of Battambang City.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not go here”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Took almost 2 hrs to be served- went for the fish and chips But one of the 4 wanted curry and rice and then they ran out of rice!! Also service poor as had to ask for a bottle of wine twice before served. Too crowded hot and not sufficient staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toggletail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Toggletail of San Antonio, Texas:

Thank you for your critique of Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, Battambang, Cambodia. We do recall your visit to our establishment and all the points you made are correct. On behalf of the KD Team and I, may I proffer our apologies once again for your unfortunate dining experience with us. We take all comments, good and bad, extremely seriously and rest assured that we have taken steps to improve the service and to address the issues raised in your feedback. We hope that, should you have the chance to visit Battambang again, that you be our guests with a complimentary dinner for two and a bottle of wine of your choice, and allow us to demonstrate to you that we have made significant improvements in all the areas you mention. Once again, thank you for taking the time and making the effort to write about your experiences at Khmer Delight and, again, please accept our sincere apologies.

Graham H Bamford & The Team at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    14
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Definitely one of the best eateries in Battambang if not best. Try it first and not last....”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Pleasant, welcoming ambiance, friendly service, if a bit slow at times, a common problem in Battambang, good western food, especially the desserts which are very good, and an owner who goes out of his way to make sure that his guests are enjoying their meal. Very reasonably priced cold draft beer. Always a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgcambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
The Team and I at Khmer Delight wish to thank you most sincerely for taking the time and making the effort to write a critique regarding our little restaurant, which you dined at during your recent visit to Battambang. We take all comments most seriously, as the positive comments encourage our team to strive to maintain high standards, while constructive criticism (such as the pace of food and beverage service) are valuable in helping us focus on areas requiring improvement. Once again, we thank you and look forward to being of service to you the next time, should you visit Battambang.
Graham and The KD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, professional staff and so good music finally!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We end up at that restaurant without knowing exactly where to eat. We were nicely impressed by the attitude of the staff who works very professionally which is not always the case in other places. The music was really nice (world music) that evening. the owner came to ask us if everything was ok. We came back the day after again. Really, if you need a place with nice and different music than all the dance-techno music you hear everywhere come to the Khmer Delight. You will be welcomed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qawwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review relating to your recent visit to Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar in Battambang, Cambodia. My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We particularly appreciate feedback via reviews about our restaurant on TripAdvisor, as they assist us to focus on areas of improvement. We undertsand that it takes a certain amount of time out of people's busy schedules to write such comments and reviews, and for this we are grateful. We look forward to being of service to you again, should you honour Khmer Delight with your patronage.
Graham and The Team at KD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
1 review
“Best place in town”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found this to be he best place to eat and drink in the city after trying all the alternatives. I wish we had found it earlier. I agree with the few reviews I read. Great food. Great atmosphere. Nice staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pietr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
On behalf of our team at Khmer Delight, we would like to thank you for your great words of encouragement. We appreciate all critiques of our little establishment, as they help us continually strive to improve in all areas of food and beverage service, the quality of the food we offer and the relaxed ambiance we wish our valued customers to enjoy. Once agai, we thank you.
Graham & all the Team at KD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best apple pie”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service and atmosphere at Khmer Delight were really enjoyable.
The mains were okay but could have been more tasty. however the desserts were yum particularly the appleie and passionfruit icecream! What a winner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nora001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Nora 771,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to comment on your dining experience at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar in Battambang, Cambodia. Your kind word regarding our apple pie were greatly appreciated, as well as your appreciation for the restaurant's general ambiance. Your constructive criticism of the main course has been noted and dealt with. It is only by receiving feedback from our customers that our team can improve our food, service, value and ambiance at KD.
Take care and we hope to serve you again if ever you should retrun to Battambang.

Graham & KD The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing