We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”

Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #20 of 125 Restaurants in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Cambodian, French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Relax, wine and dine in this informal yet quietly elegant little restaurant & Bar. Located in a converted French colonial shop-house, the ambience exudes vibes of the colonial era, with overtones of lost Khmer Empire mystique. We pride ourselves on exceptional and personalised service and an extensive menu, with authentic Khmer dishes, creations from other Asian cuisines and, if you're looking for reminder of "home", a wide selection of Western cuisine. We boast the coldest draft beer in town and an extensive list of wines from all over the world. Enjoy a snack, a cool drink, a cocktail or a full meal at Khmer Delight - and all in the emerging dining precinct, in the beating heart of Battambang City.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found this to be he best place to eat and drink in the city after trying all the alternatives. I wish we had found it earlier. I agree with the few reviews I read. Great food. Great atmosphere. Nice staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pietr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

On behalf of our team at Khmer Delight, we would like to thank you for your great words of encouragement. We appreciate all critiques of our little establishment, as they help us continually strive to improve in all areas of food and beverage service, the quality of the food we offer and the relaxed ambiance we wish our valued customers to enjoy. Once agai, we thank you.
Graham & all the Team at KD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service and atmosphere at Khmer Delight were really enjoyable.
The mains were okay but could have been more tasty. however the desserts were yum particularly the appleie and passionfruit icecream! What a winner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nora001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Nora 771,
Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to comment on your dining experience at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar in Battambang, Cambodia. Your kind word regarding our apple pie were greatly appreciated, as well as your appreciation for the restaurant's general ambiance. Your constructive criticism of the main course has been noted and dealt with. It is only by receiving feedback from our customers that our team can improve our food, service, value and ambiance at KD.
Take care and we hope to serve you again if ever you should retrun to Battambang.

Graham & KD The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went here after passing it a few times on the street, the restaurant is nicely decorated and has a relaxed atmosphere. I had a sangria (came initially without any lemonade and it was awful, and I mean absolutely awful! after telling the staff I couldn't drink it they provided sprite which made it soooo much better!) and we had a couple of the western dishes, the food is simple but very nice, the fruit shake that my partner had was also very good, I am told. The food is reasonably priced but drinks slightly dear, but I have just come from Siem Reap where the cocktails are $2 each! Overall, very good but the sangria needs sprite from the start!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJB161982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear SJB161982,
Many thanks for your comments regarding our restaurant. Khmer Delight, in Battambang, Cambodia, and my apologies for taking this long to getting around to responding to you!
We are happy that you enjoyed some aspects of KD, and the team would like to thank you for your constructive remarks about areas in which there is still plenty of room for improvement. We are sorry that the Sangria you ordered was disappointing, but please rest assured that this has now been addressed and if ever we have the pleasure of your company again in Battambang, the Sangria will hopefully be up to your expectations. Also, regarding the cost of cocktails, we are reviewing our prices for all cocktails and we hope to revise our menu within the next couple of months, at which time we will consider the possibility of reducing the cost of cocktails to compete with Siem Reap bars and restaurants! Once again, from all our team at KD, thank you for making the effort and taking the time to comment on your overall dining experience at KD.
Graham H Bamford
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Is a local favorite of many long term expats. Large range of meals and they will even cook up some specials. For those who need gluten free they are one of few who know what to do.

Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

On behalf of the team at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, many thanks Fabulousphil of Wellington for taking the time and making the effort to review your dining experience at KD. We take all comments from our guests very seriously; constructive criticism is welcome, because it assists us in focussing on those areas which require attention, while praise for our little establishment buoys the spirits of our KD family team and encourages them to ever greater efforts. We have made significant improvements at KD over the past few months since the current owners took over full responsibility for the restaurant, but we still have even bigger and better plans for the future! Thank you again from all of our family team at KD. Graham Bamford (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Came very highly recommended and was always full but the turnover was pretty rapid so we only had to wait for about five minutes for a table. The food however took much longer but it wasn't too bad when it arrived.

Thank holidaytime26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
255069GeeBee, Owner at Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear holidaytime26,

Thank you for visiting Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar in Battambang, Cambodia. On behalf of our team, I am sorry that you had to wait a long time for your meal. Our chef and her staff do try to fill guest's orders as promptly as possible, but unfortunately, when the restaurant is full, they become a little overwhelmed due to our policy of preparing each and every meal from scratch using only the freshest ingredients available. we do value the time and efort you have taken to send a review of our restaurant into TripAdvisor and we take all our guest's comments very seriously. We are now examining ways to streamline the efficiency of filling orders and hopefully we shall be able to show an improvement in this area very soon. The qulaity of the food is another area that we are constantly striving to improve upon. Once again, thank you for your constructive remarks. Graham Bamford (Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Khmer Delight Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing