We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great price”
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seng Hout Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel, January 19-21, 2014. It is located in town and is very reasonable. We paid $17 per night for a double/twin room. The rate does not include breakfast. The hotel has a small pool and a small cafe/restaurant. The staff were friendly and there were a few that spoke passable English which was helpful as we didn't know much Khmer. There is an open rooftop area that offers some nice views and there is a seating area there also.
Our room was basic/no frills but clean, the beds were comfortable, Bathroom was basic but plenty of warm/not hot water.
For $17 per night no complaints here. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 209 which was fine. A/C worked great but was quiet. Didn't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris45ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 359 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Welcoming. Comfortable. Nice Amenities. The room was ready for us when we arrived and so was the staff. English usage by the owners is very good and some of the staff can get by with minimal English. From overhearing a conversation the owner is also able to use French! but since I'm not a french speaker I cannot comment on his fluency, but it sounded okay. The staff was more than willing to be helpful and not at all rude.

The beds are definitely okay - not the coconut mattresses or box spring "mattress", and they are not plush. Room size is more than adequate. Complimentary water is provided. The bathroom is asian in style, meaning, no shower stall or bathtub. There is a local water heater that is serviceable - you won't burn yourself with the hot water, but much preferable to a cold water shower. The bathroom has minimal ventilation, but is acceptable. The air conditioning was good. Most of the window views are not the postcard type, but certainly allows one to see some local lifestyle.

They have a nice swimming pool, more of a lap pool. While it is outside on the 3rd floor there is not much of a place for sunning. There are also a few exercise equipments available to use.
The restaurant was good. The food was good and presentation was nice. Service time was not long. Personally, I would prefer to eat at other restaurants in the city, with so many choices available. Their laundry service was prompt and I was quite pleased with the results - AND nothing was missing - good price!

If your time in Battambang is primarily spent away from the hotel, then this is a nice place to stay. The prices are quite good and it is quiet through the night. This place is comfortable but it's not a resort.

It is located very close to the river so from here one is within walking distance of many restaurants and exercising with the locals along the river early in the morning.

I spent 5 nights here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentpelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Pros:
Good location, walking distance to centre of town and restaurant/ markets

Cons:
-the double room that we booked had small size of bed , not the proper size
-unclean bathroom with dirty floors and moldy walls
-shower water smelled like urine although management assured us that the water has been treated and is clean.
-noisy room as ours was by the entrance and the pool, meaning that noise from other guests were heard all night

Unfortunately our experiences at Seng Hourt hotel was not the best we had to change hotels after just 1 night due to poor cleanliness, room quality and noise levels. However, I must say the staff at hotel was helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the room closed to swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Loved this hotel, read previous reviews and wasn't so sure after we had booked it but couldn't fault anything (we got a room with a window but kept the curtains shut). The room was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and attentive. We put some clothes to launder and they came back the next day, very cheap too. We had breakfast at the hotel, the food wasn't special but it was tasty and served quickly. The pool was great to cool down in. We really enjoyed the rooftop, it was peaceful with fantastic views of the city, shame it didn't have a bar, they could make a fortune from it. Central to the city, the market just at the bottom of the road.
We didn't use the tuk tuks outside, instead we found our own who was friendly and cheaper.
Would recommend highly a stay here, great value for money, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOOtsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed two nights in the Senghout hotel with a group of 14 peoples travelling onward to Siem Reap
A four years old hotel that looks new, where personnel is trying very hard to make you a happy customer. Everyone seems to work as a family. A small pool will cool you off from the heat of the day. Battambang is like a "big village" where you can walk the streets without worries. The hotel is close to the market not far from the river bank.........a quiet place to enjoy this nice city or as a stop if you want to do the memorable boat trip to Siem Reap

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jean yves d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This Hotel was fine for the price would stay there again although I didn't like Battambang didn't think it had much to offer If you plain things right you could be in and out in one day but I might just have missed it charms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I think there is better hotel options in Battambang , 1but for $15 a night no one should really complain, single rooms very small.counter staff helpful with ongoing travel bookings, markets only 100 meters away

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.2 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Address: #1008b, Road 02 | North of Psar Nat Market 50m, Battambang, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range: $15 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seng Hout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel... Seng Hout hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Our hotel was built in 2008, and rebuilt the hold building in 2016. At our hotel, there are beautiful appointed rooms with cable televisions, air conditioners, refrigerators , and hot and cold water. Seng Hout hotel is in a safe, quiet area closed to Psar Nat Market and cafe area. You can easily access to internet with free wifi. Additionally, rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. You can relax ,and see the spectacular sunset as you enjoy a drink on the rooftop of the hotel with the views over the city of the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing