We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Ang chose me”

Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #17 of 138 Restaurants in Battambang
Price range: $3 - $6
Description: Bar Ang is a cozy streetside restaurant & bar with comfortable setee seating softly lit by tiny oil lamps where one is surrounded by tropical plants and good vibes. We serve classic Khmei dishes along with many organic vegetarian options. Our curry, amok and burgers are especially good. We play great jazz and encourage solo travelers to mix and mingle. We are open late and enjoy taking cocktail requests. We pride ourselve on first class service and attention to detail. We try to use locally sourced organic vegetables and rice. Come by and say hi to John and Anut and enjoy some Canadian hospitality and some of the best curry and burgers in Battambang. "Mom Cook" is amazing. Make sure to inquire about our fleet of 12 new motos for rent including our beautiful Honda PXC 150 and Yamaha TTX Extreme 125. We pride ourselves on having the best quality no hassle rentals coupled with great ideas on how to best enjoy your time on one of our fleet. Two great Honda FTR 223 big bikes available too.
Restaurant details
Description: Bar Ang is a cozy streetside restaurant & bar with comfortable setee seating softly lit by tiny oil lamps where one is surrounded by tropical plants and good vibes. We serve classic Khmei dishes along with many organic vegetarian options. Our curry, amok and burgers are especially good. We play great jazz and encourage solo travelers to mix and mingle. We are open late and enjoy taking cocktail requests. We pride ourselve on first class service and attention to detail. We try to use locally sourced organic vegetables and rice. Come by and say hi to John and Anut and enjoy some Canadian hospitality and some of the best curry and burgers in Battambang. "Mom Cook" is amazing. Make sure to inquire about our fleet of 12 new motos for rent including our beautiful Honda PXC 150 and Yamaha TTX Extreme 125. We pride ourselves on having the best quality no hassle rentals coupled with great ideas on how to best enjoy your time on one of our fleet. Two great Honda FTR 223 big bikes available too.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Top quality food and hospitality. Went above and beyond for their customers! Cannot rate highly enough, if you are in battambang this is the place to go!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemegrin, Owner at Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018

Thanks Ryan. The pleasure was all ours. Have fun with your reunion with gf in SR and good luck in 5th year. Well done.

Regards

Anut, John and Mom Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 88 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

If you’re looking for a mix of delicious Khmer and Western food, great hospitality and a group of amazing people, then Bar Ang is the place! These guys know exactly what’s happening in Battambang and have the best recommendations for anything you want to do!
My friends and I owe John, Anut and team a big thank you for looking after us over the last two weeks! If we ever come back to Battambang we know where our first port of call will be!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemegrin, Owner at Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Oh big George it was a real pleasure to host you and your fellow dental students for the past 2 weeks. Your gang really made a difference down here too. We hope you will take away many happy memories from your brief tenure here in Battambang. Have a great enjoyable stay with Laura during your time off here and kill it for 5th year back in Newcastle.

Best Regards
Anut, John and Mom Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

The best welcome ever!!Great people and very delicious food!! We really enjoyed it. The man is a natural entertainer!!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nadia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemegrin, General Manager at Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Nadia,

Thanks honey for the lovely review of our establishment. We love our job here and really enjoyed hosting you. Have a great trip throughout SE Asia.

John, JJ and Mom Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

In desperate need of some western food after a long day of getting drenched in the rain, we came across Bar Ang. The owner is the nicest guy and he made us feel very welcome! If you are tired of restaurants that serve you stingy portions, this place is for you. We ordered a burger and the Khmer mac&cheese. We both struggled to finish but obviously managed as it was too delicious to waste! The chef at the restaurant also does amazing local food too (and fresh fruit shakes.)
Don’t miss this place if you are in need of a friendly face, a hearty, delicious
and filling meal and a great drinks selection. Go there now!

(Ps: thanks so much for the pepper )

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Guido R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemegrin, Owner at Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Hey dude beautiful kind words. Hope your pepper beer turns out cool. Very groovy idea. Love your ladies tumeric tea recipe for illness too. Have a great rest of your trip down here. You guys looked great. Diffiinatly some of the best dressed customers here at BAR ANG. I really looked your Indonesian batik dress shirt. So Peter Graham.

Love John, Anut and Mom Cook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Went here Most nights while in Battambang. Situated across the road from the Lux Hotel. Good cold beer, nice food, great atmosphere, friendly staff and clientele. Very enjoyable place.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank glenn1gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makemegrin, Owner at Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hey Glenn,
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. It was a pleasure to serve you. You Kiwis and us Canucks from British Columbia are joined at the hip I'm told.

Have a great holiday. Go Allblacks.

John and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Bar Ang Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing