We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a sad city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Coffee House

Sunrise Coffee House
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice place in a sad city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a very nice, clean, little restaurant/cafeteria. One of the best places to rest in town, good internet connection. Plus, it is run by women who try and empower themselves and other poor girls of the area: they give advice on topics such as small business management, hygene, cooking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    45
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sublime...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Came here for our first breakfast of the year: what a way to start the year!!! We had freshly made banana bread, a mocha frappe and omelette. All were utterly delicious! We returned later on for cinnamon scrolls too, as we had heard of their fame, as they didn't disappoint either. The only downside: so much choice, so many delicious looking pasties and other sweet delights, that we had a hard time not taking 'one of everything' and weren't in town long enough to do so...

Really friendly service too, from memory. Frappes to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breads, muffins and pastries with substance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sunrise's menu is western oriented, but don't expect anything mediterranean. If you just want that blander Aussie/British/Yankee style meal, they do it reasonably well. Their forte is their bakery... about as good as it gets in Cambodia. The ladies who run the cafe work long hard hours baking fresh every day. If you like wholemeal bread, this is the loaf to get in Battambang.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anakowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Miserable unfriendly service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Lonely planet bills this place as Battambang's answer to Starbucks and their choice of coffee is certainly extensive but the main woman in there has to be the most miserable unfriendly person I've come across in Cambodia- spend your money elsewhere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Tried this place for breakfast ONCE. The service put me off as I didn't find the staff friendly at all. The menu stated coffee or another option was coffee with refills which they charged more for. I pointed out I wanted the coffee with refills option, and during my stay I had 3 coffees. I was given the bill before I left, being charged for 2 coffees. I checked the menu, which still stated ' refills ' so all clear there, before I took my bill to the counter to tell them of their mistake. They told me you only get one refill, even though I pointed at the menu for them, showing it stated ' with refills ' . No ifs, no buts, you pay for 2 coffees.

Both the coffee and the encounter left a bad taste in my mouth.

Wouldn't return again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eIeven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Coffee House also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Sunrise Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing