We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint tropical hideaway”
Review of La Villa

La Villa
Ranked #38 of 111 Restaurants in Battambang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Hulhumale Maldives
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quaint tropical hideaway”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had beef bourgeon which melted in your mouth. The outdoor seating was perfect, soft lighting and lovely dinner music. Recommended by our hotel for good French food and it truly was.
Service was good. It was in a boutique hotel so unless someone tells you about it you would not know it was there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarlingK767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is like home”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just love the staff, especially Naana. It is always pleasant and great food. I go back twice a year and take lots of visitors. Linda

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelpro123
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Excellent, with some inconsistencies”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The young Khmer crew does an excellent job in re-creating French style cooking, and almost gets it right. The NZ filet, French fires, Pommes Gratin, are all very good, the Onion Soup has a little bit to much onion and too little taste, and also needs to be gratinated more, the mixed salads are great, the Cesar Salad is not what one would expect but still good. I was a little disappointed by the Khmer dishes (Fish Amok? I had definitely better!). Why sometimes the attention is lacking and dishes come out of the kitchen cold remains a mystery of the chefs. Remember that the restaurant closes at 9 p.m. (If you are a guest at the hotel you will appreciate that!) Very recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favourite little French spot”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

After reading about this b&b before arriving I was determined to eat here, and I was really enchanted by the place when I walked in. Lovingly restored this French style villa was impressive and a delightful change from some of the ramshackle places around Battambang. The food was good, a solid delightful meal with a stunning backdrop to dine. Prices decent for what you get, and my meal was cooked perfectly, not dry and overcooked as I've become used to in Cambodia. Try the fish with lemon sauce. There are afew French options here, this is the clearly the best.

Helpful?
Thank shelleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Great Food”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Ate here two nights of my four night stay. Nice outdoor sitting area and a big indoor seating area. Old French colonial mansion with guest rooms and beautiful swimming pool in the back next to the outside sitting area. Had the fresh fish with lemon sauce, excellent. Cesar salad of their own creation but very good. Nice wine selection. Very popular. Service was excellent, prices reasonable, food very good French style. At least once on your trip to Battambang.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing