We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little place on a nice street”
Review of Fresh Eats Cafe - CLOSED

Fresh Eats Cafe
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: American, Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Fresh Eats Café was founded in 2007 by Homeland NGO to help Cambodian children from disadvantaged backgrounds gain an education and learn skills for future employment. Outside of school hours the children come to the café to learn hospitality skills and English. During the course of the day we train up to six children during breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our goal is to provide the children with skills that will offer the opportunity for future employment in the hospitality business. In addition to the hospitality skills learnt at the café, the children are also taught weaving, sewing and traditional dance. The products displayed at Fresh Eats Café are made by the children in care at the weaving centre run by Homeland NGO. All the funds raised go directly to the children's education and sustainability of the activity.
Perth, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy little place on a nice street”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I ate here a while back and was pretty non plussed with the experience, but recently the organisation that runs the place have been getting volunteers in to train the staff and what a difference it's made!

They now have 50 cent beers between 4 and 9 pm and have supercharged their menu with things like fresh pasta and bruscetta which are both delicious. Their prices are very reasonable, so suited to those on a budget, but the taste is something you'd expect to find in a place with much higher prices.

Street 2.5 where the restaurant is located is also going through a bit of a renaissance at the moment with art galleries, bars and pizzerias opening up, it's well worth spending an evening wandering up and down and checking out all the new places there...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baktun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    5
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromma, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty, cheap & relax”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Me & my friend came here as being recommended in Lonely Planet to support the workers whose family are effected by HIV/AIDS. Why not for a good deed, yeah? Turned out, well, not bad at all. We came for breakfast and had our custom-made baguette which is very tasty and cheap. And my iced lemon tea was really zzzing! up to my head. Really refreshing. But yeah, the service pretty slow but not problem at all as we were not in rush to do anything. The place kindda dull, not enough lighting and too quiet. Should have some cafe-del-mar music to lift up the ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsianEDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little bread place with good eggs”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Now if we wrote this review when we first came from Thailand we would have given them a 5 but after many months of baguette we
Fresh Eats had very yummy baguettes and friendly service for a good cause! Very cheap and yummy. The eggs were great too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdibleWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Another great noshery”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

How I wish I could cook the wonderful sorts of things they make here and the prices were ridiculously low.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'Value' doesn't come close”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We saw the sign saying that Fresh Eats was a project that helps youngsters get off the streets and into a job...and what a treat we had! Yes service is slow, bit when you are in a country that prides itself on a slow way of life, and when there is a sign in the menu explaining the reasons why it's slow (fresh cooked to order etc.) then who cares? The food though was faultless, and we are definitely going back for dinner tomorrow

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Eats Cafe also viewed

 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing