We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Staff”
Review of Gecko Cafe - CLOSED

Gecko Cafe
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I dined at this cafe 3 times during my stay. The staff were cheerful and friendly and the food was great.
The cafe also helps train and support the locals so as well as great food it is helping build and strenghten the community.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MajesticM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    123
    65
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An excellent place in Battambang”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It seems as though Gecko is THE place to go in Battambang. Nearly everyone we spoke to recommended we come here. And it didn't disappoint!

The menu is extensive - from various western options to Khmer and Thai favourites. There should be something to suit all tastes. We tried some beautifully fresh spring rolls, a tasy chicken panini and a lovely sweet&sour fish. The Pad Thai (which I didn't try) looked sensational and was highly recommended by others in our group. I can also particularly recommend the fruit smoothies.

As indicated in some other reviews the service can be haphazard (not an uncommon occurrence in Cambodia) but as long as you're prepared to go with the flow this should not be a negative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy food and drinks in a quite a nice spot”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had dinner up on the balcony which was nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere as the tables weren't overcrowded together. The food was very good and the service prompt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chillpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great idea, good food, bad service”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really wanted to love this place, but was put off by the extremely poor service. Although it is awkward to be critical of this well-meaning operation, my experience is offered in the spirit of contructive criticism. The server seemed very distracted and forgot to bring basics like salt and pepper, plates and cutlery. Got my simple drink order wrong and took 15 minutes to do it. To be fair, the burger was good but it arrived 15 minutes earlier than my wife's order showed up. C'mon guys, this isn't thailand. Compared with the excellent serving skills of the equally disadvantaged servers at haven in siem reap, all i can say is that there was plenty of scope for improvement on the evening i was at gecko.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drifter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,060 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Great food that does Good”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Had heard of this cafe but heard popular with other foriegners so had been put off. But having visited and seen the story of how this establishment is helping Cambodian youth, I was really impressed. Food great and handicraft store downstairs added value.
Only wish I has more time
A gem in BBang

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Cafe also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing