We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Close to Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good location as right on the edge of town. The rooms were clean and had hot water bootles brought in each night to take the chill off. Good wi fi and excellent restaurant. Staff were helpful and used local travel shop 3 doors down the street towards markets to arrange a trip to lake and a guide for 2 days would recommend. I would recommend getting a guide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    134
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
51
141
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

we were so pleased we stayed here and not on the lake.this hotel was picked for us by myanmar shalom and we were really pleased with their choice.
we had an upstairs room with small balcony.in the evening they come around with hot water bottles for your bed which you will be pleased of as it does get cold in the evening you will need a fleece
the breakfast was served on an outside terrace which was really nice, you need to choose your breakfast the day before from a selection of set of about 6 you can have asian etc or we chose the american which was egg bacon and warm rolls cakes with fruit and fresh fruit juice really good
the hotel is in a great position for the small town we loved it here.you can hire bikes across the road and can cycle out to the villages around
we had our trip to the lake already booked through our agent and was fab but you can book any lake trips from the town or at the jetty where there are no end of people offering to take you to the lake
there is a pizza place nearby if you really need a change from rice and noodles it was great
Glad we went this year as can see this place will change go now
rooms were great staff were really good and remembered your room number giving you your key before you even asked for the room number
would stay here again and would recomend staying in town and not on the lake as just watching life here added to our experience of myanmar

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having considered staying on the lake, we opted for this place and were very happy we did. The hotel is good value for money for Burma with comfortable rooms, good service and a good location. Breakfast was one of the best we had in the country. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony after a long day as the outside area is quite pleasant. I was a bit worried we would be disturbed by noise as the room face straight out to the exterior but it wasn't a problem as everything is quiet by 9pm. Nyaung Shwe was much nicer than expected and we were glad to have the option of eating in different places and not being stuck in one place on the lake. Would recommend Thu Thu travel agent for boat trips - just down the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

On the edge of town in the pagoda/monastery area. Restaurants/bars all around if you don't use theirs which has an outdoor setting over a canal. Attentative staff, small problem rectified in gracious & more than expected way. 15 mins walk to jetty for lake trips. Free WiFi but slow-- like most Myanmar places. Use nearby travel agents for taxis to Heho airport 45 mins away since significantly less due to they often are meeting incoming clients anyway for the return journey.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little smaller, have balcony seats facing inward, but a nice lounge corridor if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had booked their sister hotel in Bagan (Amazing Bagan) and for ease of payment (payment had to be made upfront in US$ when we arrived in Yangon to their rep) thought we would book the Nyaungshwe hotel as well, which proved to be an excellent choice. The hotel is in a lovely location over a little river, right in the centre of Nyaungshwe (nothing is more than 10 minutes walk away).

The rooms are large with a huge bed and lovely decor. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms which all have little balconies overlooking the river and Nyaungshwe street life.

Breakfast is of a good quality and has to be pre-ordered the day before from a choice of 5 or 6 set menus. I did ask for mine without sausage (am vegetarian), however they decided to substitute the sausage with bacon! However as soon as I explained ‘no meat, vegetarian’ they made me a non-meat version.

Although it didn’t feel particularly cold to us in the evenings/early mornings, every evening housekeeping come round with hot water bottles which we thought was a lovely touch! Similarly, we got a little New Years gift of local sweets when we left.

An excellent choice for anyone wanting to stay in the lovely bustling village of Nyaungshwe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel Amazing has a good location on a main road in Nyaung Shwe. It is just a 2 minute walk to the bustling central market and a further couple of minutes to the jetties where boats leave for Inle Lake. We had two downstairs rooms which were very well appointed, being both clean and large. Staff were very welcoming, providing cold towels after our somewhat tortuous taxi-ride from Hsipaw via Mandalay. Breakfast was ample. We did not eat at the restaurant. This is not a cheap hotel, but we thought that is was really good value.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be quieter, but noise was not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_pastiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Comparing Hotel Amazing to Viewpoint and to a number of guest houses in Nyaung Shwe, I think that it offers excellent value and good quality. If you are a backpacker looking to get by with something uber-cheap, then this isn't the cheapest. If you are willing to spend a little more though, you get charm, wonderful, warm, professional service, and a good breakfast. It doesn't offer the same luxury as the Viewpoint, but it is a very good option. The location is very convenient right in the center of town. Across the street you can rent a bike. They offer car service from the airport at a reasonable price and the restaurant serves up inexpensive, quality dishes from the region. The bed in my room was massive and the room was very clean with free tea and coffee for your use in the room.

Room Tip: The only room that I think is smaller is the "single" room on the ground floor towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#10 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.7 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#11 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Property: Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
Address: Yone Gyi Street | Inle, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nyaung Shwe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nyaung Shwe
#7 Spa Hotel in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nyaung Shwe Town, the Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe is a landmark, combining the best of traditional Myanmar architectural style with all modern conveniences. The Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe surpasses any other hotels in the area and defines true luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing