We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this medium-sized hotel which is close to several shops and restaurants and only about 20 mins walk (or a 5 min rickshaw ride) from the jetty to boats for Inle Lake. We stayed in a very pleasant bungalow room next to Reception, which made it a bit noisy when the early morning departures were underway. Comfortable bed, lovely verandah to sit on and the bathroom was certainly a lot more modern than many we encountered in Myanmar. The breakfast was excellent and although there was little choice, it was swiftly and pleasantly served. All in all, a good place to stay and we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken early, try to avoid being near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
88
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Paradise Hotel is well situated in Nyaungshwe (a little town close to the lake), close to the town restaurants and little shops. The hotel itself is basic, don't expect great luxuries, but the hotel staff is amazing: they arranged for us our boat trips (for a good price), cars and made reservations wherever we wanted to go to eat... When we were there (august 2012) they were renewing some of the bungalows of the hotel and they looked well, much better than the old ones that we had (Lotus compound), that as I mentioned were basic. Nevertheless everything was clean and the employees took care of everything. We had a small glass that was broken and they fixed the problem just in a while. AC was working well (although noisy...) and we had no power cuts while being there. Summarizing, basic and clean but with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are some new bungalows, ask for them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellersamanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly nsw
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were part of a group and we each had a "bungalow" with a verandah and fresh flowers. The room was clean and the beds comfortable.The bathroom was modernised. The towels were thin. The breakfast was very basic but we had fresh fruit, crepes, choice of eggs and coffee.
The internet is in the Lobby and pay by the hour (an internet cafe is within walking distance)
The Lake is about 20 minutes walk from the Hotel and you pass through the village shopping outlets. There are quite a lot of restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Opt for a room near the front. I dont know what the back of the hotel is like
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyManlynsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We checked in for one night luckily as the room we were given was in a block and not a bungalow. It was 65 bucks. It was dark dingy. You needed lights on during the day. We had multiple power cuts. One when we checked in, in the afternoon. The owners had back up but they did not put it on probably to save money. They did however switch it on at 5 in the morning. The room was virtually next to the generator. Many hotels in Myanmar are taking advantage of the lack of rooms and are charging very high prices for poor quality rooms. The breakfast was disgusting. The sheets were very old and used as were the towels. The manager did give me a reduced rate after numerous complaints. We found a better place the next day and checked out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

One point of clarification - all of the pictures except for #8, 41 and 46 are of Paradise Inle Resort (which is on the lake), NOT Paradise Hotel which is in the town of Nyaungshwe. I have posted 2 pictures which give you a better feel for the place (should be #88/89). Paradise Hotel is a very quaint hotel consisting of bungalows which have a sitting area and nice porches - the rooms feel and look like something from the 50's, very kitschy which I like. Very clean, bit of an ant issue in the bathroom, has air conditioning and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, close to the center of town and the boat dock on the canal where all of the tourist boats leave for the lake (10 minute walk). There are a number of good restaurants close by. The only negative is no WiFi - they have computers in the lobby which you can rent but I was never able to access the travel sites I needed (there is still censorship online and some sites are blocked for no apparent reason. I would definitely stay here again, especially if they installed WiFi which they said they were working on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandrewsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meherabad, Ahmednagar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first night was spent in a truly horrible "standard" bungalow. It had almost no view at all and there is a huge construction project going on behind it as well as staff housing so there was noise day and night. The experience was pretty hellish because we'd really been counting on something really beautiful here.

But the next day we got a much bigger, better, cleaner room on the non-construction side and we had a beautiful view and the whole experience was wonderful. The staf was very friendly and good and the restaurant, which is really your one and only option for dinner, is fine altho the menu is not extensive. Once we got into the nicer room, we had a splendid time.

It will be impossible for me to select ratings for different categories because the two experiences we had here were so different.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the quiet side. All the rooms on that side are large and some are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were traveling around Myanmar and stayed at this hotel by chance as most places were full. The accommodation is made up of small bungalows and the hotel is set in the town of Nyaungshwe which suited us well. This is a very pretty village, near the river which leads into Inle Lake and the hotel is situated near the buzzing centre but in a quiet area. The room was clean and spacious, if a little old fashioned, the bathroom was large and adequate, we had a small lounge and also a terrace. The breakfast was uninspiring but more than adequate. Good value for money.
There is a great beauty parlor just down the road called "Water Lillies" - great massage, manicure and pedicures, friendly staff whom speak English. Try it out!
There are also some good restaurants in the village, internet cafes and treks into the surrounding countryside.
Boat trips to the lake are plentiful and reasonably priced - we had our own little boat for 3 of us! If going on the boat - take warm clothes for the early morning - later it gets hot!
We found some of the staff very friendly and others not so friendly! A reasonable tip initially always helps the friendliness to improve!!!!! We found that in most places!
Would we stay there again - yes!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.6 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#10 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel Inle
The Manor Hotel Inle
#21 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.6 mi away
Royal Inlay Hotel
Royal Inlay Hotel
#16 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Property: Paradise Hotel
Address: 40, Museum Road | Tharzi Quarter, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing