We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The opposite of Paradise” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The opposite of Paradise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We checked in for one night luckily as the room we were given was in a block and not a bungalow. It was 65 bucks. It was dark dingy. You needed lights on during the day. We had multiple power cuts. One when we checked in, in the afternoon. The owners had back up but they did not put it on probably to save money. They did however switch it on at 5 in the morning. The room was virtually next to the generator. Many hotels in Myanmar are taking advantage of the lack of rooms and are charging very high prices for poor quality rooms. The breakfast was disgusting. The sheets were very old and used as were the towels. The manager did give me a reduced rate after numerous complaints. We found a better place the next day and checked out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    106
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
89
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

One point of clarification - all of the pictures except for #8, 41 and 46 are of Paradise Inle Resort (which is on the lake), NOT Paradise Hotel which is in the town of Nyaungshwe. I have posted 2 pictures which give you a better feel for the place (should be #88/89). Paradise Hotel is a very quaint hotel consisting of bungalows which have a sitting area and nice porches - the rooms feel and look like something from the 50's, very kitschy which I like. Very clean, bit of an ant issue in the bathroom, has air conditioning and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect, close to the center of town and the boat dock on the canal where all of the tourist boats leave for the lake (10 minute walk). There are a number of good restaurants close by. The only negative is no WiFi - they have computers in the lobby which you can rent but I was never able to access the travel sites I needed (there is still censorship online and some sites are blocked for no apparent reason. I would definitely stay here again, especially if they installed WiFi which they said they were working on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandrewsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meherabad, Ahmednagar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first night was spent in a truly horrible "standard" bungalow. It had almost no view at all and there is a huge construction project going on behind it as well as staff housing so there was noise day and night. The experience was pretty hellish because we'd really been counting on something really beautiful here.

But the next day we got a much bigger, better, cleaner room on the non-construction side and we had a beautiful view and the whole experience was wonderful. The staf was very friendly and good and the restaurant, which is really your one and only option for dinner, is fine altho the menu is not extensive. Once we got into the nicer room, we had a splendid time.

It will be impossible for me to select ratings for different categories because the two experiences we had here were so different.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the quiet side. All the rooms on that side are large and some are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We were traveling around Myanmar and stayed at this hotel by chance as most places were full. The accommodation is made up of small bungalows and the hotel is set in the town of Nyaungshwe which suited us well. This is a very pretty village, near the river which leads into Inle Lake and the hotel is situated near the buzzing centre but in a quiet area. The room was clean and spacious, if a little old fashioned, the bathroom was large and adequate, we had a small lounge and also a terrace. The breakfast was uninspiring but more than adequate. Good value for money.
There is a great beauty parlor just down the road called "Water Lillies" - great massage, manicure and pedicures, friendly staff whom speak English. Try it out!
There are also some good restaurants in the village, internet cafes and treks into the surrounding countryside.
Boat trips to the lake are plentiful and reasonably priced - we had our own little boat for 3 of us! If going on the boat - take warm clothes for the early morning - later it gets hot!
We found some of the staff very friendly and others not so friendly! A reasonable tip initially always helps the friendliness to improve!!!!! We found that in most places!
Would we stay there again - yes!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinders172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Joaozinho describes this place well; the layout, design and materials are indeed from another era, but it has a certain charm and the balconies are spacious and well-equipped with comfortable chairs. Rooms were on the well-worn end of the spectrum, but seemed generally clean. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Breakfast lacked any inspiration, but the hotel's location away from the lake was a plus since I think we saw more of the town than we would have if we were on or near the lakefront. Lots of restaurants in the area and the market is just around the corner. We travel with kids and like to expose them to diverse types of accommodation- no complaints from that side!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSinKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

like many hotels in the area this is built above the lake. It's located on a narrow part of the lake so there's a bit of traffic going past, though this is part of the charm of the hotel. Get one of the lake view rooms - the balcony opens out on the lake, and it's great for watching boats go by. You can get a boat and guide for touring the lake at the hotel, which I did. I also used a boat/guide from the mainland the day before, who took me to the hotel with my bags, and we carried on with the tour once I'd checked in. The hotel boat/guide is more expensive but much better quality - he knew the best places to go and didn't take me to any shops/weaving places, which the other guy did (and no doubt got a commission from). The mainland guy was cheap, but it was difficult to communicate (I don't speak Burmese and he didn;t speak English), and we went where he wanted to take me.

The other ting about this hotel is that it is quite isolated. If you're travelling solo (as I was), it's not a great place for meeting people - when I stayed there were 2 or 3 other couples - so you better like your own company.

Room Tip: choose a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddhaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

The room is big and the bathroom too.clean and neat.The bed is cover wtih mosquito net.
Prepare for a touch night when travel to Myanmar.The light was sudden on and off few times but within one minute it resume back.
The buffet breakfast is very nice and many varity,Have to try the traditional noddles and the mix fruit juice.Vey nice.
We had our breakfast twice while waiting for the tour guide to come.
Only things is the resort is isolated and nothing much can do after night.
There has a small pub in the resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.6 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#10 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Manor Hotel Inle
The Manor Hotel Inle
#20 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.6 mi away
Royal Inlay Hotel
Royal Inlay Hotel
#16 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Property: Paradise Hotel
Address: 40, Museum Road | Tharzi Quarter, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing