We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gypsy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gypsy Inn
Ranked #24 of 49 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
merosg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Budget Option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Offered welcome tea upon arrival, good location across the road from the river. Friendly staff, clean rooms, tour bookings available. CHeaper rooms are available without the private bathroom. The best internet connection was at the nearby Pancake Kingdom. Overall, a good budget option.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
38
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a double room for 15,000. It's definitely worth paying the extra 3,000 for your own bathroom as the shared ones (12,000) are pretty grubby.

The location is OK. Right next to the boat pier, so it can get pretty noisy in the mornings.

Service is good, but only if you get one of the English speaking staff (that never seem to be around!)

The breakfast is OK, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holliesherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Twin room with bathroom for 20,000 kyat (or $25 - we calculated it was cheaper to pay in kyat). Room was fine, not amazing but fine. Room was out the back so didn't hear any noise and got wifi in the room. Beds were way too soft though. Only took the room really as we hoped to get one of their 15,000 kyat rooms the following day but no-one checked out. Good location for the early morning boat trip (we took one from an agent in town - worth starting at 6am). Owners weren't particularly helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrswonderstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gypsy Inn, as with all places to stay in Myanmar, is overpriced. $25 for a room with an ensuite and breakfast. But hell, it's Myanmar. Nothing to be done. This place has quite friendly staff, and it was the 4th place we had checked for a room and the only one with an availability. It could definitely use a cleaning however, it was loud, and there was nothing to it to make it anything above average. And we booked our river tour from here and the driver drank the entire trip and would frequently make us wait while he finished his card game. Other then that, if you're in a pinch, this place will do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaredws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at 5am and we found this place reasonable.
The owner charged us half the price from 5am-12pm.
We paid USD$ 20 for a room with twin beds and ensuite bathoom, perfect sharing for 2. We stayed there in early March 2013, during high season. There are 4 of us, we took two rooms, maybe why we got a good price compared to everyone else.
There is a portable fan on request, no air cond. No hot water in the bathroom but the water isn't cold even at 7/8am. There are a lot of mosquitos when the fan wasn't on. The room is quite spacious with a clothes rail and a little arm chair in the corner. And a large glass window facing the backyard. You can hand wash your clothes and hang them at the backyward.
There is good wifi in the main room, it works sometimes in the room.
There is a large breakfast room, the staff are quite friendly but incompetent. There is also a large chill out area in the courtyard, facing the river/road.
Only the owner speaks ok English. The travel info he told us wasn't accurate especially about the boat trips. He has very short attention span, before you finished asking a question he has already talking to someone else. They do bikes rental, but the bikes aren't good for the bumpy dirt roads.
The location is great, it's facing the river where you take the boat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinaLiu2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 3am and were told the only available room was $45. Absolute rubbish. Same rooms 6 months before were tops $15 dollars... Talked to a couple when we left who were staying in the exact same type of room AT THE SAME TIME for $30. Completely unfair and management just taking advantage, really cheap looking nothing special room- one star type of accommodation, absolute rip off !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintin1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nyaung Shwe hotels

london
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and pre booked a double room here as we needed to send our bags ahead of us as we trekked from kalaw ... When we arrived we were informed that the $25 rooms all had single beds and of we wanted a double we would need to pay $38! We would usually he just gone and found somewhere else but when we booked they had spoken to our trek guide and made it very clear that they would be held personally responsible if we did not show and take the booking and the last thing we wanted was to get her into any trouble or grief! So we stayed one night and went to another hotel that was much better value and had double beds.

The staff were mixed - some were very friendly and nice - others (like the one who threatened our guide) were quite rude and surly... Rooms were ok (although you would expect much more for the price tag - even by Myanmar standards) and they provide free wifi for guests which is very very welcome! Decent breakfast too.

Also - be warned the river is very very noisy so expect to be woken up at 5am if you are at the front of the building ...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#12 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Fish Motel
Golden Fish Motel
#29 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Inn
Queen Inn
#28 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nawng Kham - The Little Inn
Nawng Kham - The Little Inn
#9 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Three Seasons Inn & Spa
Three Seasons Inn & Spa
#11 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gypsy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gypsy Inn

Property: Gypsy Inn
Address: 82 Canal Rd | Win Quarter Inle Lake, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gypsy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gypsy Inn Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing