We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room for one or two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 49 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good room for one or two nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in february 13 around 12rooms side by side no verandahs no gardens or pool.non the less the room was fine, comfy bed hot shower and good air con very clean,and a few english chanels on the tv we payed around sixty five dollars for the night which was fair.run by a charming couple tun tun and his wife me me.breakfast ok but not a great choice.tun tun cooked us a dellicious shan meal four or five courses i think? Absolutely first class for twenty dollars dont miss it.they even gave us a lift in their car the next morning to our next hotel no charge.the owners are avery hardworking couple and deserve to get on.to some up a very comfy stay.thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristtony2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    35
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
62
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came upon this place wandering the streets of Nyaungshwe and were very happy with our choice.

The rooms were spacious and clean, and we had one with a mini-fridge and air conditioning.

Showers were nice and hot.

The hosts were very very friendly and helpful, and breakfast was great.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The family that run this lovely B&B are so welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the water hot. We were very comfortable here.
It is also right in the heart of town so just a short walk to places to eat and the canal where the boats depart for Inle Lake.
They cook the most delicious food for dinner. Sure it's a bit more expensive than some other places and it is a bit slow but on the 3 nights we stayed we had a four course meal which was amazing. They would ask if we had any special requests for dinner when we went out in the morning and they would prepare a feast. They also had wine available from a local vineyard which was not too bad.
It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Staff was very helpful & freindly and we had a decent & spacious bungalow - at $40 (non-AC), which is a pretty good deal nowadays for Nyaung Shwe. The bungalows are only spaced a bit too close together for perfect comfort.
Good breakfast - ask for Myanmar style.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank someoneelse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The excellent English spoken by the owners was a big plus. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean which was very important for me. The aircon and electricity supply in general was a bit ho-hum and we never did get the TV to work, but we weren't really there to watch the telly. Although we had a room close to the road, there was no traffic noise whatsoever, so good to be away from town centre ( 5 minute walk away) However the local roosters woke us up on the hour throughout the night and the dogs next door were a bit yappy. We didn't notice them as much on our second night. We enjoyed one well cooked evening meal and the breakfasts were excellent. No choice except for the way you prefer your eggs, but fresh fruit, yogurt and toast. Hired bikes from next door and cycled to winery which was about half an hour away. Think it maybe the only place in town with wi-fi. We had a flight change on the day we were to leave and the owners very kindly let us use our room to shower, etc before leaving early afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Prior to my stay here I had noticed this place had started getting a few bad reviews. Having now stayed there though I can reassure anyone not to take any notice of them.

The accommodation itself was actually quite big. Aircon and hot water shower were also included. Yes there were slight gaps above the door but I didn't see a single bug in my whole stay. The place was spotless.

Location wise was also excellent, just a couple minutes stroll into "downtown".

As for the owners, they were some of the friendliest people I met in myanmar. Nothing was too much trouble and were a good laugh with it.

It was great having your own little bungalow, and being able to relax outside in a chair etc.

I have to say that of all the places I stayed in Myanmar this was by far the best in every aspect.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I returned to PYI in Feb while I was leading a Lions Clubs International Mission to the area and found it better than last time. They had added two more bungalows since my last visit and the owners were as friendly as ever. Even got a chance to meet their children this time around. The food was also great and I had a chance to have another omlet which was as good or better than last time around. Not sure why this was, perhaps it was because it was the closest thing to western food that I had had in over two weeks. Highly recommend staying at this guest house for the price which had gone up since my last visit just a little over a year ago.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.2 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#12 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Empress Hotel
Golden Empress Hotel
#8 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Remember Inn
Hotel Remember Inn
#14 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yar Pyae Hotel
Yar Pyae Hotel
#2 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#12 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant

Property: PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant
Address: 35, Faun Taw Pyan Road | Mingalar Quarter, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PYI Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PYI Guesthouse And Restaurant Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing