We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent little inn... cute garden, with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nawng Kham - The Little Inn
Ranked #9 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent little inn... cute garden, with friendly staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Little Inn is a decent little spot across from Aquarius. It's nothing special, but the staff are friendly and helpful. Nice budget accommodation; the cheapest in town. We enjoyed our stay there and would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
71
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Little Inn is a nice place opposite to Aquarius (exactly as LP states) in walking distance to anything in town. Paya literally next door (at the time of our stay there was non-stop praying coming out of its loudspeakers which was kind of annoying in the middle of the night or early morning...).

The rooms are ok, hot water, fan and clean. Breakfast usual (eggs, toast, fruit), but set in a beautiful garden.

We arranged boat trip in the guesthouse for a good price (the boatman didn´t speak much English though which we regretted), we hired the bikes (1000 K per day) to get us to the lake - but we basically had to ask for everything. The staff (or owner´s family) are really nice but maybe too non-pushy. They do not offer you ANYTHING themselves, you always have to ask. That´s why we booked our forward bus tickets somewhere else. On the other hand, we had a really above average welcome because when we arrived early in the morning after a night on the bus from Yangon, they let us into one of the early cheched-out rooms before ours was cleaned. We didn´t have an advance booking but were lucky.

Overall a nice experience but Aquarius opposite and some other places around town looked better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for four nights last fall with my partner and several friends. Enjoyable stay. Staff/family that runs the place was quite nice. Nawng Kham is small, with just 6 or 8 rooms overall, arranged in a single story block separated from the main/registration building by a nice garden/sitting area with plenty of tables, chairs, and shade (a necessity!). Rooms were basic but workable, breakfast standard Myanmar guesthouse fare (fruit, egg, bread) but with good, real coffee and plenty of it. Only drawback was that the walls separating the rooms are paper thin... fine when friends we on either side but not so fun when 'can't speak above a shout, rude to staff, constantly drunk, techno blasting, football team jersey wearing' Australian guy and his girl moved in next door.

That said, we quite liked the place overall and have fond memories of our stay in Nyuangshwe at The Little Inn (and for $7 or so a night was great value). The Paya next door was a wonderful added bonus as well!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We chose Little Inn from our guidebook a bit randomly (it was the second place we phoned and the first to have a room available) but it was a very good choice.
Our room was quite nice and comfortable, with one large bed and enough space to put the backpack, clothes, etc. The bathroom was also OK (with hot water) and everything was quite clean. The garden was also very nice and had some tables and chairs where the breakfast was served every morning. The breakfast was excellent, with fruit (papaya, watermelon and avocado!), eggs, toasts, butter, marmalade and tea/coffee.
The location is good - actually this is not such an important point because Nyaungshwe is small so you can walk everywhere.
I think we paid around 18 EUR per night, for the two of us. We didn't really look around but met some people who did and told us that other hostels were even more expensive.
However, I would not recommend to buy any bus tickets at the hotel because we did and we ended up in an extremely old bus where we did not even have space for the backpacks (they stayed in the corridor and had to be moved at every stop for people to get off the bus). We saw other buses doing the same trip (to Yangon) that looked much better, so better buy tickets in another place - several companies do that trip so each hostel/travel agency will sell tickets to different companies. However, it was very handy to have the hotel call the pick-up to Shwenyaung and have them pick-us up there.

Room Tip: The room in the reception area is very nice because it is all covered in wood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduarda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.2 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Empress Hotel
Golden Empress Hotel
#4 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#12 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nawng Kham - The Little Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nawng Kham - The Little Inn

Property: Nawng Kham - The Little Inn
Address: Phaung Daw Pyan Road, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nawng Kham - The Little Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nawng Kham - The Little Inn Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing