We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run basic B&B style hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Sisters Inn

Four Sisters Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #46 of 49 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family run basic B&B style hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is family run and the manager is very friendly and helpful, if always trying to upsell services..... that said she seemed to be offering reasonable value on everything. She speaks self-taught English but some of the rest of the staff speak little English.

The hotel is a small and basic budget hotel. Hot water is only available sometimes. We found first thing in the morning was the best for hot water. The breakfast was good, fast and plentiful.

It is located on the edge of town near the river. The river is a working river so activity (i.e. noise) around the hotel seemed to start very early. It is easy enough to walk into the centre of Nyaung Shwe.

The warmth of the welcome went a long way to counter-balance the lack of hot water etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
1
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Hot showers only during the day when it is hot anyway, good breakfast with pancake, egg and toast. Tidy rooms though a bit dim, when my light didn't work they reluctantly moved me to another room when I asked for a discount, as they couldn't fix it that night. Not too far to walk, maybe ten minutes max to the market, but it is the furthest guesthouse, I think. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The inn has mostly cold water showers and the lightbulbs make it so dim it's impossible to read in the rooms. The fans are situated above the beds, facing away from them so only the door gets any relief from the stifling heat. The restaurant has great food so spend your money on their meals and skip the lodging until the issues concerning comfort are resolved.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nyaung Shwe hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed there in March and we had a great stay.

rooms : pretty basic but clean and confortable, we were supposed to have hot shower but it was not working well (only in the day time - after 5pm, do not count on it). mosquito nets provided, a fan (but this is chilly at night - you don't need it). well maintained

location : a little bit outside of town i think but the town is small, everything is reachable. very quiet place

staff : run by a family, so nice people and very friendly. most of them speak basic english but one sister spoke fluently when we were there and she helped us so much organizing our next destination, bargaining a transportation for us, organizing the bicycle, trips...lending us lonji (?) to go to swim...

Best part, an AMAZING and huge breakfast

I highly recommend this place with a warmy family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayana1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I hesitated to write this review because the ladies who run this place are very kind and they have cocked such a nice meal for our group (Intrepid). However I need to tell the truth and to warn other travelers of what they will find at the 4 sisters Guest house.

No service was provided during my stay (3nights). Rubbish bin (Which contained also used toilet paper) never changed: smelly ;-(

Rooms are small and not very clean. They have two small bed, no A/C and no tv. Hopefully I was alone and could use a very dirty fan to alleviate the unbearable heat that accumulates during the day (30 to 35 °C in the room in the evening).

Bathroom is dark and really dirty: I could find hair of the previous guests. When you take shower you are also cleaning (showering) the WC so use your sandals to avoid feet problems.

The guesthouse is located far from the city centre, in the middle of very noisy warehouses. Guests are annoyed with all sort of terrible noises (Trucks loading/unloading goods, generators, people yelling, etc...) from 6.30 am.

1 of 2 power plugs did not work so if you need to recharge your camera you can't use the fan and .... that's too bad.

Room Tip: Bring chargers with a US type plug, the european one will not work there as the power points are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We really really loved the Four Sisters Inn. The rooms were simple and clean, and the ladies running the hotel were helpful with arranging a boat tour and changing money. A tour guide we met staying here said that the sisters who run the inn were just like sisters to him, and you can understand why. The breakfast omlette, by the way, was super tasty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent 5 days here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This was the only guest house we found with rooms available when we arrived . There is a severe shortage of rooms available at Inle ,the advice is book ahead if you can. The number one sister is lovely and extremely helpful . We let her organised everything for us -boat trips ,bike hire ,flight conformations. All this she did effortlessly for all guests and at a better price than bargaining on the streets. The rooms are not as good as some of the other guest houses,the walls are paper thin but they are adequate and we paid 14000 chat per night .Prices are going up as it is a supply and demand market.Highlights here were the lake boat trip which was magical and cycling in the country side.And a must do is eat at the restaurant at the end of the walkway at Maing Thauk.It is a tiny restaurant set on stilts in the lake only accessible by boat . The young lady owner will paddle you across and it is a great way to kill a couple of hours just watching life among the floating gardens and stilted houses. The food is good too. There are several bars selling draught beer in Nyaungshwe which is a perfect way to end a hard days cycling.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.0 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manaw Thu Kha Hotel
Manaw Thu Kha Hotel
#23 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#5 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zawgi Inn
Zawgi Inn
#1 of 49 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctum Inle Resort
Sanctum Inle Resort
#1 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#10 of 35 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sisters Inn

Property: Four Sisters Inn
Address: Nan Pan Qtr, Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia so you can book your Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sisters Inn Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing