We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly & Spacious”
Review of Mingalar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mingalar Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly & Spacious”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We read about this on Trip Advisor & wanted to pre-book but couldn't find any contact details (other than the physical address). I will include them in this review as we loved this place and highly recommend it.
We travelled as a family of four with 2 young children & were accompanied by another family of five. We were thrilled to both get huge rooms and the staff wasted no time in obtaining extra beds. The rooms had a holiday bach type feel to them and were clean (without feeling too sterile).
Mingalar has a real warmth to it and we always felt very looked after...the famous glass of fresh lime juice was produced on our arrival as well as daily thereafter and is a lovely touch.
For eating our best experience was at the Green Chilli restaurant (about 3 minutes walk away). It had some great cuisine and excellent service. There are heaps of other eating places nearby and the lake is a 10min stroll away. You can't go to Inle without spending some time exploring the lake...it's a must!! I also recommend hiring a bike for the day.
Their email address is mingalarinn@gmail.com / ph +95-081.209198

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    164
    43
    13
    10
See reviews for
55
163
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Whilst the rooms are a little (not a lot) basic by western standards the welcome is amongst the warmest that you will get and the breakfast the best. We had the room with aircon and that was large and comfortable. Boat and canoe trips were organised for us and the guys who took us were great. We started our holiday at the Mandarin Oriental in Kuala Lumpur and finished it here and I would be as happy staying in either again. As ever its the people who make this place so good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Well, someone did say not to alert the LP to this superb find (to prevent an invasion of hordes of tourists, I suppose). However, it's too good not to share..!

The minute we arrived we were warmly greeted by Mr Ko Naing and his lovely wife and then served a large glass of cold homemade lemon drink by a very helpful assistant (who seemed to be assigned to look after us). That seemed to set the tone for the rest of our stay.

Our double room (air-conditioned, attached bath) was huge and every bit as delightful as the pictures I saw in this forum. It was artistically decorated to great effect with simple everyday items commonly found in Myanmar. Naturally we loved it!

Then there was the breakfast. It definitely got our vote for being the best breakfast we had in Myanmar. We asked for Shan noodles the first morning and Mohinga the next (we had to place the orders the evening before). Both were equally delicious. We were also given a choice of plain, banana or onion and tomato pancakes. To top them off there was a basket of bananas and another seasonal fruit as well as tea/coffee and that refreshing cold lemonade. The 2 mornings that we were there we left the table thoroughly satiated.

Location-wise it was perfect and a pleasant short walk to the market which seemed to be the happening place. Naungshwe is a small place and easily explored within a few hours.The main attraction is the lake itself. Mr Ko Naing also offered tour services like canoe rides, Inle Lake boat rides/tours and airport transfers at reasonable prices.

We really felt like honoured guests and have no hesitation in recommending this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Everything was perfect. Mingalar Inn was by far the best place we stayed in Myanmar. Not only is Inle Lake a great place and the best place in Myanmar that we visited, but Mingalar Inn is the best budget option we stayed at in Myanmar also. When we asked our taxi driver about arriving at 5:00 a.m. without a reservation, he said that it was no problem because "the owner is kind to tourists." This was certainly true. Despite not having made a reservation beforehand, the owners received us with open arms, saving us from our horrible bus ride from Mandalay. The owners were like this for our entire stay. They made everything just perfect. They even gathered everyone, including the boat driver to come see us off the morning we left -- all waiving goodbye.

The room was also perfect. They actually made an effort to design the room to make it nice, not always seen in budget establishments. Breakfast was perfect and plentiful. It went beyond the eggs and toast usually received in Myanmar and tasted great. Finally, the boat tour they arranged was fantastic. We ended up visiting a market at the far end of the lake and it was just great, not many tourists.

I don't give too many 5 star ratings, but everything was just great about our stay at Mingalar Inn. In this case, they deserve it and if you stay there I am pretty sure that you will give one too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed three days in Mingalar i april this year (2011°. I think this is the best best to stay near Inle lake. The place is very welcoming, nice, quiet, with a small charming balcony to take your wonderful breakfast or having a quiet time in the afternoon. It's central, close to everything by feet. The family is so charming so nice so kind so smily. I realy enjoyed to stay with them and hope to see them again soon. They can give you a lot of information about boat trip or anything you want. Don't look for an other place. Stay there.

Room Tip: I was downstaires and everything was nice. Big room, clean, with bathroom inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

good people.
good food.
good room.


how are you.mr .ko naing and ma wint.
always heart... thank you~!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapoephyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korea busan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

everyone very kind and friendly or like family.

nobody will be disappointed at this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeromeKoreaBusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#4 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
0.3 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
320 reviews
6.2 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#5 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
Pristine Lotus Spa Resort
#8 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingalar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingalar Inn

Property: Mingalar Inn
Address: Phaung Daw Pyan Road | Mingalar Qr., Nyaung Shwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mingalar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min Ga Lar Inn (family Hotel) Mingalar Inn is a family owned hotel and location is excellent. Rooms are beautifully decorated and with garden. Especially the bamboo decoration designs.Free Wi-Fi and Free breakfast. The Breakfast we offer is the best in town. Traditional breakfast or complementary breakfast are available. Now Mingalar Inn have two different building . The original building is for the budget traveler and The new building is Junior suite room type with swimming pool. We arrange all kind of ticketing service for your convenience and tour around the lake, Boat trip, Pindaya cave ,Kakku and Vineyards &Winery (for sunset). Best price offer for airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mingalar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingalar Hotel Nyaungshwe
Mingalar Inn Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing