We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay at inle lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princess Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Nyaung Shwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best place to stay at inle lake”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We couldnt make up our mind whether to stay at Mingalar Inn or Princess Garden, so decided to have four nights in each and give Mandalay a miss instead. Best decision we made on our trip! Mingalar Inn's breakfast was a little better, but having the bungalows overlooking the fields and the swimming pool gives Princess Garden the deserved number 1 spot. Having a week at Inle gave us plenty of time to try lots of restaurants, some of them not yet on trip advisor, Felt like a local after being there for a week. Felt like a traveller not a tourist, unlike Bagan!

A good day trip is to cycle to the village past the hot springs, haggle for a boat to ferry you across the lake and cycle back passing the Red Mountain winery which is well worth a visit.

As Princess Garden doesnt have a restaurant, they wont mind me using this review to mention Aurora (opposite the Golden Kite where the tourist buses stop to eat), inther food (cuisine of the people from inke lake did a great fried fish with vegetables for 3000K a tomato salad to die for 1500K and really nice french fries for the home sick for 1500K, Everest, a nepalese restaurant. The proprietor said that her grandparents had come from Nepal, and the food was really modestly priced. I mean really modestly priced!!

The exchange rate is better for small notes here than at the bank we used in Yangon, and I also got a free cup of tea whilst changing money. The rates for 50 and 100 bills is the same as in Yangon at KZB bank.

Unlike Bagan, where you are hassled by vendors wherever you go, Nyaungshwe is just a nice place to hang out, The boatties can be a bit of a nuisance, but they are NOTHING compared to the ubiquitous horse carts, painting and lacquerware hawkers of Bagan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    126
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
30
262
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in July. Loved it! Koh Aung and his wife (the owners) where very friendly and helpful. I felt very welcome and at home. They gave great advice about how to negotiate with boat drivers for a fair deal and other information about the surrounding area. Their in-room information booklet was especially useful and everyday upon returning from an excursion, they brought a glass of fresh cold juice (different kind each day).

The bungalows are at standard level, so no tv, no aircon, and no Internet. BUT the porch on my bungalow readily made up for it! It was so nice to sit there in the evenings with a cup of tea or a beer and take in a slice of Burmese life as it went by. The rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfasts were good (not up to the standard of breakfasts in other countries but certainly much better than elsewhere in Myanmar). I was worried about not having aircon since I'm sensitive to the heat and Myanmar is scorching but the nights were nice and cool, even in monsoon season.

Would I stay here again? Yup, most definitely.
***Internet is not easy to find in any hotel in Myanmar unless you chose large international hotels like Traders or The Strand in Yangon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fourroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

After much deliberation on whether to stay in a resort on the lake or in Nyaungshwe we chose the latter. It was a good choice. For $35 we got a clean and large swimming pool, a big breakfast, clean and quite bungalow overlooking the local rice paddies, free bicycles and of course the warmth and hospitality of owner couple Ko Aung and Mee Mee. They helped us organize a great all day trip on the lake as well as gave us tips on what was going on in town. That way we were able to see the the annual monks examinations festival which we would have otherwise missed. All in all, can thoroughly recommend if anyone is looking for a budget alternative for their Inle stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Starotokuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

What a lovely hotel and charming hosts. At $30 for a single ensuite 'Hut" it was more than reasonable. Great breakfast, free bike rental, and a swimming pool - what more could you ask for? The only slight problem was there was some religious ceremony and apparently a monk was reciting endless text, the monologue lasted until 11pm, That said, I loved the place and would put up with that again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful experience! The staff were so friendly and helpful and their English was very good! The rooms were clean and very comfortable with a hot shower. The pool was kept very clean. Every afternoon we were brought juice or a smoothy very tasty! The breakfast size was very generous and the best I had.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

After looking at 8 different hotels we decided here, and it was a great descosion. The rooms are clean, staff is great and the couple that ownes the place are as nice as could be.
After buying an entire jackfruit the hotel cleaned it for us. One of the mornings the wife/owner offered to give us a Myanmar noodle breakfast instead of the normal delicious pancake, the noodles were also great.
The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a nice pool!
When I go back I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dance-eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Very reasonable prices. Owner/manager speaks excellent English and very knowledgeable. Staff lovely. Booked boat and taxi using hotel and both were impressive (car to the airport was the most comfortable we used in 14 days in Myanmar).

Rooms are comfortable bungalows in a perfectly manicured garden. Afternoon drinks delivered to the veranda. All very relaxing after a day on the Lake.

The hotel is a little bit out of town (we're talking 300m but remember it does get dark early and you'll need your torch).

Room Tip: we chose one away from the swimming pool. Not because of the swimmers but there was building work go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank big_r0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nyaung Shwe hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.0 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#6 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inle Princess Resort
Inle Princess Resort
#2 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inle Apex Hotel
Inle Apex Hotel
#11 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thanakha Inle Hotel
Thanakha Inle Hotel
#3 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Inn
Aquarius Inn
#6 of 51 in Nyaung Shwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden Hotel

Property: Princess Garden Hotel
Address: Mine Li Street, Nyaung Shwe 081, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaung Shwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaung Shwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Princess Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Garden Hotel Myanmar/Nyaung Shwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing