We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes this hotel a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rooms are tired but the kindness of the staff compensates for the rooms. There was always enough hot water and English channels on the tv. Breakfast is skimpy with a tiny amount of fruit, toast and eggs. I did learn that they have noodle soup for breakfast but you can't have it unless you request it the day before. But no one tells you that.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank upgraded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pretty basic , old and not ver clean (the carpet needs changing). Butt he best in town.
Nice and attentive staff - they managed to send a fax to Thailandin no time, which the staff at the Kandawgy in Yangon was unable to do. Very simple breakfast, No internet! No sound insulation, expect to be woken up early in the morning either by crowing cocks or by guests leaving early.
Good location, a few minutes to the market, close to a internet shop, a few steps to the Banyan Tree Restaurant with good food, beer and wine

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the lowest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Moved here from The Private Hotel... see review. Government owned, old, faded but clean. Very simple breakfast, lucky we had food from Tesco in Thailand, take your own uht milk!!

Room Tip: Take your own uht milk for tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LenSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is not a flashy or sophisticated hotel, but we’ve enjoyed staying here for three days and slept really well. The rooms are very clean, and have everything you could need – even if the standard is slightly basic. Ours was a ‘Superior’ and had two single beds, TV, mini-bar, and en-suite bathroom.

The hotel is well organized, and able to organize car and trekking guides, checkpoint passes, etc. – something in which they specialize. We found the staff efficient and eager to help. A minor problem in the bathroom was fixed immediately. We sent shirts and blouses off for cleaning, and they came back the same day beautifully done.

The location is good; the market is just a few minutes away, and there are restaurants within an easy walk. There is no Internet access for guests in the hotel, but an Internet café around the corner.

All in all, Princess Hotel is a good choice and great base for enjoying Kyaing Tong – straightforward, welcoming, and professionally run.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Formerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here and enjoyed the experience. Not the most luxurious of establishments, but they say it's one of the better options in town. Nice hotel room with simple wood furniture and a basic but decent bathroom. Breakfast was fairly grim, in a windowless cellar. The staff were really attentive and were able to arrange trekking guides, transport, flight reconfirmation etc with ease. Nearby, the Banyan tree restaurant is a bit of an evening hub and provides good food, beer and wine - much better than the LP would have you believe.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kohlrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

What do you want more if you go trekking in the mountains around Kyaing Tung? Lovely personnal, always ready to help you. In the center of the city (nothing to do after dark!!!).
It was my second time at this hotel and they remembered me after 2 years.
Please avoid the governemental hotel.

Room Tip: Try not avoid the first floor, very noisy when they clean the hall at 5 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights and all in all were very satisfied with our stay. This is not an upmarket hotel - in fact it's really pretty basic, and avoid the rooms on the bottom floor. But we would stay here again for sure - best location in town (alternatives are near the noisy market or out of town near the airport), satisfactory rooms, good tv reception, ok a/c (though it cut off from time to time as the city has a poor electricity supply), and best of all, the most wonderful people. My daughter was ill in bed here for 3 days, and they did their absolute best for her - bought us medicine and didn't charge us! Also, removed the old TV and put in a flatscreen TV, since she was in bed and had nothing else to do. They also let us bring in food from outside and cooked it for her!
Kyaing Tong / Kengtung is far off the beaten track in Myanmar so don't expect the kind of services that you'll get in Bagan for example, but what really counted for us was how the owners cared for us. They did whatever it took to make our stay as comfortable as possible in quite difficult circumstances!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kengtung
0.0 mi away
Amazing Kyaing Tong Resort
0.0 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#10 of 38 in Nyaungshwe
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Maison Birmane
La Maison Birmane
#7 of 38 in Nyaungshwe
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inle Resort & Spa
Inle Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Taunggyi
745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden World Hotel
Golden World Hotel
#1 of 3 in Keng Tung
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Address: No.21, Zaydankalay Rd, Kengtung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kengtung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kengtung
Price Range: $42 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the downtown and some restaurants, bus stations, mini-mart & banks are nearby. Kengtung Central Market is just 5 minutes walk distance. We arrange to the traveller who want to get visit to the tourist scenic spot. The hotel offers wifi free internet , continental breakfast or local breakfast by request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kengtung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing