We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magic place to discover Inle Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taunggyi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice place matching both comfort of luxury hotels and charm because of its delighting and quiet lake view. Luxuriant garden, well-decorated rooms and smiling watchful staff make this hotel the perfect place to stay at Inle Lake.
You will be able to enjoy sightseeing on the lake anytime you want and then have a relaxing break at the spa before going to the restaurant where you will savour either asian or western cuisine depending on your mood!
The french manager is as present and professional as kind and welcoming so DO NOT HESITATE and book this hotel if you want to discover Inle Lake in the perfect conditions!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roumi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 473 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at this property over the New Year's Eve holiday this last year with a group of people, we were 5 people in total. We were booked into the property on the recommendation of a travel agency in Myanmar and were surprised to learn when we booked that they had a compulsory (mandatory) $150 per person fee for a New Year's Eve celebration dinner. Since we knew options were limited and most resorts had the fee we went ahead with this property decision.

The good points at this property: the views are nice. The grounds are lush and the rooms are well-appointed. It's not a huge property (I believe they said 22 rooms and 22 suites), so it never feels like you're under siege from huge groups. It's also located on its own jetty to the lake which is convenient. The town walking distance nearby is sort of cute and a nice diversion from the lake if you are there for a few nights. They also have free wi-fi in the lobby, although it is slow (expect that everywhere you go in Myanmar and be grateful for having it in the first place!).

It's not all good here, though. We were severely disappointed by the service and the food. We felt the staff were fairly unhappy and some of them a bit grouchy. The owners, French guys, were a bit pretentious and certain elements about the property feel a bit too precious. For example, the menu in the restaurant features mostly Euro-Asian fare with little actual Burmese style dishes. The breakfast starts with a fruit plate consisting of 4 small bites of fruit (literally), and then you can order eggs from the kitchen. We tried eggs several ways while we were there and they were never good; scrambled were gritty and over-easy still had raw egg whites. The bread basket is the sole good thing at breakfast.

The bathrooms have some curious things missing like towel hooks and lotion. The standard rooms do not have a hot pot for tea/coffee/water purification (the junior suites, apparently, do have them). Our room had a minibar, but the mini-bottles of booze were so old they had evaporated and were about half empty.

There are also no decent public sitting areas in the property for viewing the lake. If you just with to relax with a soda, the bar is sort of dark and is not within viewing distance of the lake.

The most egregious thing to us was the mandatory New Year's Eve dinner. It started out nicely, with a happy hour, appetizer buffet and some dancing/music entertainment. Then when we were seated for dinner we were handed a drink menu (none were included in the $150 price, including water). The multi-course menu was elaborate but exceedingly poor quality. Each course took 30 minutes to arrive. We were so frustrated with being forced to sit through a painfully long dinner that we skipped half of it and went back to our rooms at 10pm. The owners clearly had their own ideas for their party and we were all held hostage to their concept. The courses were all so tiny that we had to dig into our stash of trail mix so we did not go to bed hungry. The foie gras terrine, lobster bisque, scallop starter and strawberry sorbet "palate cleanser" all tasted sort of off to us.

Needless to stay, we were grateful to be checking out the next morning and heading on our way. This property may work for some folks and indeed they appear to be very busy. I would advise carefully reading reviews to ensure you know what the high and low points are, and book accordingly to avoid disappointment. We have no plans to recommend this property to any of our friends and would advise them to seek out other options in Inle Lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room; the first floor rooms are not well insulated and you will hear noise ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SFO-World-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Not really an ideal place for kids (three ten and under in our case). But a lovely hotel in a lovely part of Myanmar (our favourite). It's not set up as a kids hotel so fair enough. The people were nice enough and the hotel standard is high. It clearly makes it business from more older (refined) tour groups ! The food is great for adults. We were only there for three nights so did two half days on the lake which was about right for our lot. My one main gripe is the extras. I spent more here in three nights (after th room costs) than I think I did in the rest of the ten day trip to Myanmar. Airport transfers of $79 a bit steep ! And extra bed in room of $60 per night. We had one early morning wake up of loudness from the village but it was relatively short.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is run to western standards, no easy feat in Myanmar. The architecture is fine, with liberal use of local teak crafted to perfection by resident carpenters. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Food is very good by Myanmar hotel standards, about average to good if you are in Europe. Service was exemplary, except that the kitchen was a little slow. Details included a complete absence of mosquitoes in the rooms, even having a mosquito coil "guarding" the entrance door. The floral decorations were beautiful. Gripes are: problems with the internet, (however it is likely more a problem of the regional infrastructure than the hotel) and the junior suite rooms nearer the village can be noisy owing to broadcasted prayers (we stayed during a festival). The cost is also on the high side, especially for food - it is possible to manage this by dining at a perfectly adequate restaurant in the village for much, much less. However overall I believe this is a top choice on the lake. I stayed for a week with my two young children aged 7 and 5 and the whole family had a wonderful time. I returned a month later and stayed on the lake itself, but would return to Inle Lake View Resort in preference any time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMSCPSYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here in December 2012 with the family.

The positives first, of which the are many: the property is absolutely gorgeous...set back just a little way from the lake...but still right there.

The lawns are well landscaped, and the room units are quite spacious and well decorated. I would recommend the 1st floor rooms since they provide a great view of the lake. The one facility missing is a pool, which would have made for a good afternoon break.

The bed in our room was comfortable and large. The private deck attached to our room provided brilliant views. You can even soak in a bath and look out at the same view, as the bathroom looks out the same way. Water pressure in the shower was great, which is nice after a long day of sitting and climbing in and out of a longboat.

The food was great...what was on the menu at least. The hotel staff did have a complete inability to make anything different/special...which is challenging when you have 3 young children traveling with you and they refuse to eat the food on the menu. But overall it's decent on the restaurant and bar front as well.

The GM and the F&B manager (co GM?) were very involved with taking care of the guests. The staff could be trained a bit better but this is Burma, so can't expect a lot.

Overall, I would say that this was the best "property" we stayed at during our 9 day trip.

So why the negative 2 star rating? Due to the incessant noise from the neighboring village. The villagers blared their collective (4 discernible soundtracks) loudspeakers for the entire 2 days we were in the hotel. The noise started at 4.45am and ran till 9.30pm at least. This included some chanting (not in any way peaceful/meditative) and lots of loud music. The hotel assured us that this was a very special occasion (got different stories from different staff members), and that it would only last a few days. But it did manage to screw up our peace of mind pretty good. One of the more intrepid members in our group went to the village and was informed that this was an ongoing issue and not an isolated incident. Our guide also politely alluded to the same. I don't know if this is a shakedown by the villagers for money or a true cultural event, but truthfully, I can do without 16 hours of loudspeaker blaring during my vacation...I could truly care less about local sensitivities. Getting out on the lake is actually a great escape from this mess...unfortunately I couldn't avail of this, as one of the kids in our group was sick the day we got there and I volunteered to babysit. All I can say is that I was thankful I brought my earplugs...others weren't so lucky.

So in summary, great spot but absolutely incessant noise...if you can deal with it, you would love the place. I can't recommend staying here. I will not be going back EVER.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room...good views to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Thie resort sits a bit back from the lake which enhances the views without compromising the sense that one is at the lakeside. Our room was on the upper level of a two storey 'terrace' and was well appointed and comfortable. The staff, generally, were attentive and pleasant. It has a nice bar set aside and 'up the hill' from the main building. The food and service in the restaurant aren't up to much either at dinner or breakfast which lets the place down a bit. Generally in Myanmar hotels of this type standards are not brilliant but this resort comfortably undershoots. One doesn't go to Myanmar for the food, of course, but, bit of a generalisation, when one acclimatises one can eat more enjoyably (but less comfortably) in local restaurants. This was the case here.

Room Tip: Go for the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisterF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stunning setting, set back from the Lake a bit, but our view was breathtaking of the lake and the highlands. We had a suite on the first floor, beautiful, open, large balcony, stunning setting. A short walk along boardwalk to the canal from where we could board a longboat to explore the Inle Lake. 

The restaurant was also great, good menu and wine list. As the location is a little isolated, there's not a lot of choice of where to eat so the Hotel is a great option. Remember the insect repellant, the mozzies are bad. 

Staff were very friendly, and Fabian the Manager most obliging.

I'd certainly stay here rather than right on the lake as the noise of the hundreds of longboats with tourists could break the peace.

Room Tip: I'd always choose the first floor room with balcony. I also thought the rooms constructed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunggyi
3.5 mi away
Inle Resort & Spa
Inle Resort & Spa
#3 of 12 in Taunggyi
781 reviews
3.5 mi away
Myanmar Treasure Inle Lake
4.7 mi away
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
Novotel Inle Lake Myat Min
#7 of 40 in Nyaungshwe
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
4.8 mi away
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
0.9 mi away
Pristine Lotus Resort
Pristine Lotus Resort
#8 of 40 in Nyaungshwe
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inle Lake View Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Lake View Resort & Spa

Address: Inle Kaung Daing Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range: $185 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Lake View Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inle Lake View Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Lake View Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Lake View Resort & Spa Myanmar/Taunggyi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing