We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse, super clean, good location”
Review of Mr Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mr Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hsipaw B&B and Inns
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse, super clean, good location”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had room 303 at the back of the guesthouse. It is rather small, but absolutely okay for 2 nights. Bathroom okay too with hot shower (but not all day - hours are posted). Staff looks to be cleaning all day. Location is just off the main road where you can find restaurants and a supermarket. Only negative is the complete absence of a green and quiet space. There are always people and cars/bikes arriving and leaving in the forecourt. Breakfast (eggs, marmelade and toast or soup) is served inside or on the terrace. We did a half day hiking (through the fields and the shan villages, visiting a nunnery and a school) and a 1 day, including a boat trip up the river, walk through bush and fields and visiting shan villages and a monastery. It's a nice walk and you meet local people.

Room Tip: 303 is at the back, no terrace, early in the morning and until 9pm you can hear the children repeati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman-Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    143
    88
    26
    19
See reviews for
13
152
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

If youve stayed at normal guesthouses in Burma, youll know this is a cut above the rest. Best budget place in town, very sociable at breakfast and evenings. You can borrow an excellent map of the town. There are lockers for valuables diwnstairs. WiFi a bit hit and miss, as it is everywhere in Burma.
The Shan noodles are the best of the three breakfast options. Even the continental was better than the posh hotel we stayed at in Mandalay.

The trekking service is excellent. We did the three day hike and it was knackering but so rewarding. Well worth the investment of time and money.

Warning for go it alone trekkers: It's a tough walk to get to Pankam village and back in one day. The villagers get into big trouble with the authorities every time some stupid foreigner turns up without permission to stay. You MUST book ahead via Mr Charles. And if you book a bed or eat the villagers food - - pay them for the service. I was ashamed to hear tales of refusals. If you can't afford to part with $5 for your host, don't go. Get some perspective: the villagers are poor. They only got clean running water a few years ago, thanks to a well installed by Unicef.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I liked this place. The breakfast was a free-for-all and very poor indeed, but verything else about this rambling and ever-growing hotel had much to recommend it. Absoultely charming and delightful staff who could not have been more helpfui if they tried. Baby-boomer travellers like us mixed happily with back-packers. Wonderful guides based out of here on organised treks. Our room had views across the road to a school full of chanting girls. The beds were OK, the heating worked but like so many places in Myanmar, the chairs were bone hard. Next trip to Myanmar I will definately bring a cushion.

The dusty town of Hsipaw is a laid-back chill-out place on the main road to China. It is fascinating because of its location. I had some really good kebabs in a little Chinese restaurant 15-minutes walk from the hotel.

The beer at Mr Charles is cheap; there is a nice tearrace with recliners to wile away the afternoons after a hectic hike. Altogether, i cannot think of a better or nicer place stay in this amazing part of Myanmar.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a few dollars extra for a good shower, air-con and a larger room or junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegahoilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

staff in the (cheaper) right hand hotel are cold and unhelpful..staff in the (more expensive) left side hotel are helpful,friendly and cheery...breakfast is good, hot showers are very nice but the hotel needs updating...posters in bedrooms indicate all noise must stop at 10pm. at 10pm each night music starts up, locals loudly singing with a guitar..

Room Tip: Try the newly built Yee Shin hotel nearby instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hsipaw hotels

St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the new section.
The room was sterile. Nothing attractive about it.
The breakfst was barely edible. Good internet.
For $110/night, not a good value.

Regretably this seems to be the best accomodation in town but I hear more are being built.
Hope so becuase he needs some competition.
As soon as there is an option--go for it and skip this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

In a small rural town in Myanmar it provides clean, good sized rooms, friendly staff and basic wifi. As Hsipaw is simply a base for trekking or catching the train to cross the Goktiek Viaduct you can't expect the Hilton!

The breakfast is simple but adequate, and although it does not provide other meals there are several excellent local restaurants.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pantysgawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in Hsipaw at Mr. Charles. Very friendly staff greeted us upon arrival. I'd been sick so skipped dinner the first night. My friends raved about the Potato Curry which is saying a lot because they weren't so keen on Myanmar food in general. I joined their enthusiastic praises the next night. Breakfast was basically sufficient. Personally I do love a hot pot in the room which was missing at Mr. Charles. Note to self: pack an immersion heater next trip. Hot water seemed to be our only real issue. There was enough for a shower at night which I enjoyed. Unfortunately my friends prefer morning showers and there was no hot water then for them. We weren't in Hsipaw for trekking. It seems most people staying at Mr. Charles were. They all looked pleased to be there. We were too, but for different reasons.

Room Tip: There's no elevator so you might want a room on a lower floor if climbing stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hsipaw hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Dragon Hotel
Red Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hsipaw
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tai House Resort
Tai House Resort
#1 of 12 in Hsipaw
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lily The Home
Hotel Lily The Home
#2 of 12 in Hsipaw
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yee Shin Guest House
Yee Shin Guest House
#8 of 12 in Hsipaw
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Guest Hotel
Golden Guest Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hsipaw
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr. Charles River View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Charles Hotel

Property: Mr Charles Hotel
Address: Auba Street, Hsipaw 11990022, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Hsipaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hsipaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mr Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mr Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing