We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Mr Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mr Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hsipaw B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

In a small rural town in Myanmar it provides clean, good sized rooms, friendly staff and basic wifi. As Hsipaw is simply a base for trekking or catching the train to cross the Goktiek Viaduct you can't expect the Hilton!

The breakfast is simple but adequate, and although it does not provide other meals there are several excellent local restaurants.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pantysgawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    142
    88
    26
    19
See reviews for
13
152
85
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed two nights in Hsipaw at Mr. Charles. Very friendly staff greeted us upon arrival. I'd been sick so skipped dinner the first night. My friends raved about the Potato Curry which is saying a lot because they weren't so keen on Myanmar food in general. I joined their enthusiastic praises the next night. Breakfast was basically sufficient. Personally I do love a hot pot in the room which was missing at Mr. Charles. Note to self: pack an immersion heater next trip. Hot water seemed to be our only real issue. There was enough for a shower at night which I enjoyed. Unfortunately my friends prefer morning showers and there was no hot water then for them. We weren't in Hsipaw for trekking. It seems most people staying at Mr. Charles were. They all looked pleased to be there. We were too, but for different reasons.

Room Tip: There's no elevator so you might want a room on a lower floor if climbing stairs is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, basic, friendly guesthouse! We were there to go trekking, wonderful experience accompanied by a good guide! The breakfeast was basic but good, The shower was hot, there was Wi Fi,
What else would you need?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamitanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The best about Mr Charles Guesthouse is it's staff. Before we arrived we were actually "warned" that they were only after selling as many trips / excursions / trekkings as they can. We even were told that the rooms were not near to descent. After our arrival we were supprised to find that staff is very friendly and work in a professional manner, all requests we had were treated seriously (and adhered to where possible) and even though it is a relatively large guesthouse we felt very welcome and received a very personal approach. The rooms are great and the kitchen is good. Wifi works propperly and the guesthouse is situated in a quiet part of town.

The trekkings are great, Asai was our guide and we were happy with his attendance for two days. If you decide to visit Hsipaw there is no way you can decide not to go trekkig for at least two days (with overnight stay at one of the Palaung villages). When we come back we'll take some more time to enjoy Hsipaw and it's surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the new building which was perfect (in comparasion to some places we had stayed in Myanmar). The room was warm and clean, the shower in the outside block was incredible! It was clean and powerful and so hot - I didn't want to get out! The staff were so helpful and helped arrange accommodation for us in our next destination. The trek we went on was brilliant. We did the long 2 day one night and it was the highlight of our Myanmar trip. We felt that we were experiencing 'real Myanmar' on that trek and absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I took their twin room with fan but no bathroom. Honestly, their bathrooms are much nicer than the rooms itself. However, only one toilet works - when i was there and the other shower stall had no door - there were only two toilets and two showers. The room - very dingy with one miserable fan. Electricity doesnt always work but thats fine with me. Walls are paper thin - you can hear someone flip a book next door! You wont sleep past 6 in the morning - there is a tuition school next door and they chant for about 3 hours and also in the evenings. Service was good - the staffs were pretty helpful. I think pretty much everyone who comes to Hsipaw stays here. Breakfast was pretty good too.

Room Tip: Do not choose their cheap rooms with no bathroom. You will suffer from no sleep very early in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hsipaw (pronounced by the Burmese as Thibaw), is perhaps one of the northernmost outposts for tourists in Myanmar (Kachin state is out of bounds, given the civil unrest).
Hsipaw also represents the influence from neighboring China: Shan villagers have rented their fields to the Chinese, who send Chinese people to grow watermelons on these lands, using fertilizers and pesticides that are otherwise uncommon in Myanmar
Mr Charles has been responding to increased tourism and is evolving from a backpackers haven to a more full service hotel. We had the largest room in the new wing- Room 309, which is classified as a junior suite. As one enters the room, one is wowed by the large room size and the dark wooden furniture. But then, one gets the feeling that the contractors had just left the room five minutes before you arrived!
The bathroom fittings are loose: the faucet is not fixed to the underlying washbasin sink, the door knob came off in my hand, and the water definitely takes a while to get hot
That said, the staff will bend over backwards to accommodate your needs and are really wonderful people
Breakfast is, shall we say, a little unique: you may choose between a Shan soup, or a fried egg on a plate of rice and beans, or an egg with toast, butter and jam. The fried egg on rice and beans is actually not that bad, once one has overcome the internal question of "is this breakfast or lunch?". Dinner at this hotel is very basic, fried rice or fried noodles, but there are other options on the main street. WiFi is painfully slow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabianannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hsipaw hotels
0.0 mi away
Red Dragon Hotel
Red Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hsipaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tai House Resort
Tai House Resort
#1 of 12 in Hsipaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lily The Home
Hotel Lily The Home
#2 of 12 in Hsipaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yee Shin Guest House
Yee Shin Guest House
#7 of 12 in Hsipaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northern Land Hotel
The Northern Land Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hsipaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr. Charles River View Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mr Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mr Charles Hotel

Property: Mr Charles Hotel
Address: Auba Street, Hsipaw 11990022, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Hsipaw
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hsipaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mr Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mr Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing