We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience U Bein Bridge
from $39.52
More Info
from $71.91
More Info
Reviews (1,499)
Filter reviews
1,499 results
Traveler rating
687
511
231
48
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
687
511
231
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teak wood water level small boat boat ride beautiful sunset dry season sun setting watch the sunset rainy season taking pictures local life both sides early morning mandalay hill longest boats boatman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,499 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2020

This is a must visit when in Mandalay. Went as part of a tour group and we all agreed to do the boat. A wise decision as the bridge is just jam packaged full of tourists waiting for sunset.
Such a breathtaking sunset and experience, apart from our boat man bailing the water out the boat. Disappointed we didn't stay longer to see the last of the sun set and the sky turning a different colour, but have some amazing photographs.
Don't stand on the bridge, hire a boat

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

The place is popular, but there are practically no tourists in the early morning, so you can safely enjoy the views. In addition to walking along the bridge itself, we hired a boat and enjoyed a boat trip as well.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank WhiteMouseBurrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

U Bein Bridge is always the photo on the cover of a lot of travelbook to Myanmar . The teak wood bridge is very remarkable, and a bit ill maintained.We have taken a lot of photos and stay there from afternoon to after evening.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank J9414DAsimona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

I know the U Bein Bridge is a must see in Mandalay, but I found it a really unpleasant experience. The bridge is old and beautiful, but the masses of tourist jostling for prime position to watch the sun setting was just awful, and at times I felt as though someone would end up being pushed off the bridge into the water by some of the appalling behaved tourists. I decided to take myself off the bridge and look from the comfort of a close by restaurant drinking a beer, far more civilised. I think that the number of people allowed on the bridge at anyone time needs to be restricted not just for the personal experience but also because how long can the bridge sustain such a huge volume of visitors before it has a detrimental effect.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The U Bein Bridge is a must-see in Myanmar. People gather there to watch sunset. This was the first time I visited the place so went to the bridge itself to take photos. From the bridge one could see numerous small boats on the left side, apparently they stayed there to take photos of the sunset, with the bridge and its reflection in the river. One could choose one way: either go onto the bridge to view the sunset or stay on a boat to view the bridge with its reflection. Even viewing sunset from the bridge was a great experience; it was a fine day, fortunately. On walking on the bridge, one has to be careful as there are numerous tourists, almost shoulder-to-shoulder, and the bridge has no side-rails. One girl in front of me dropped her things, wallet, mobile phone, etc. Luckily nothing dropped through the gaps on the wooden bridge.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank yipjcs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews