We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset is stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of U Bein Bridge

U Bein Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$276.00*
and up
Private Tour:Explore the Wonders of Mandalay Including Lunch on Boat
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Amarapura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset is stunning”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The long wooden bridge is across a lake in a shelf-shape. With the reflection of the lake, the last sunset of 2012 at U Bein Bridge was stunning! Walking on the bridge, you can see monks sitting on the chairs enjoying the evening breeze. Don't miss it if you go to Mandalay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seraph_Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    345
    142
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice for a walk”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not only tourists make a walk over this old wooden bridge but also locals. You can make a nice talk with them. If you want you can return with a little boat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Novak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Right time, right place”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were walking on this bridge watching the duck farmers etc. below when our guide heard music coming from the village on the other side of the bridge and decided we should investigate. On arrival we found the whole village decorated up for an initiation ceremony for the local children to join the monastery. The children were all dressed as princes and princesses in beautiful bright green silk costumes and the whole village were dressed in their best. The family who were hosting the ceremony spotted us and before we knew it we were invited to join in. We were soon seating on the floor with the locals, plied with green tea, peanuts and other delicious nibbles and made to feel so welcome. A band was playing and the family insisted we were videoed as part of their celebrations........quite bizarre, but wonderful. We declined the invitation to stay for lunch and bade them goodbye. We felt privileged to have taken part in such an important day in that villages life and were so glad to be in the right place at the right time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Ok, it's a bridge...", you say?”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

At first you think to yourself, "Am I really going out of my way to see a bridge? That's a sight to see?" Then you see it and say to yourself, "yea ok, I see why".
U Bein is a unique spot that continues to highlight some wonderful things about Myanmar - the beauty of the people, the romantic scenery, and their simple way of life.
A friend and I rented a motorbike from Mandalay (approx. 8K kyats for the day), and drove to Amarapura - loved the drive. To be sure, we stopped along the way to confirm directions, and locals were more than happy to help. When we arrived, a boatman offered to take us to the other side of the lake which we did for 4K kyats. The ride and the boatman were lovely! At the other side we walked further into town, stopped at a temple, chatted at length with some locals, and had our palms read for a bit of fun. Then we walked on the bridge to see sunset, which was one of the loveliest, romantic sunsets I've seen on my trip. A trip with no expectations, exceeded them all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PLauNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow,Russia
Level Contributor
626 reviews
387 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Magical place with stunning views”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Leave dusty Mandalay and go there to enjoy stunnig views any time of the day. Keep your camera turn on to catch very interesting moments of local life. Motorbike trip from Mandalay is only 4000Kyat return. Buy some local beer and snacks seat at one of the cafes beside the bridge and wait for a great picture. Speak with local people they are very interested in you. It does not matter what time you come, will get a real pleasure. Wish you un unforgattable experience as i did. Hope to come back there again someday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSK-RUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Bein Bridge also viewed

 

Been to U Bein Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing