We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!”
Review of Hotel Gurko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gurko
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

i love this little hotel. the lobby/hotel is like a lodge. it was cold enough in the evenings that we had the fire going. the restaurant is full of dark wood and stone. the tables are covered with red and white checked tablecloths. lovely! we ate breakfast here and dinner. the food was great. the service was top notch. when we arrived, the guy took our very heavy suitcases and bounded up the stairs with them. the rooms are nicely appointed. we had a perfect view of the obelisk in the middle of the river valley. some rooms have little balconies. the beds were comfortable. the rooms and common spaces were clean. our bathtub/shower was so large that the whole family can bathe at once!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbbuttercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 304 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had two nights recently and enjoyed our visit. The hotel location is superb, overlooking the valley as it does, and the town does not disappoint either. We had mixed feelings about the hotel; the staff were helpful and accommodating (although it wasn't made clear we needed to book a table for dinner) and the food was fine. The breakfast was plated rather than a buffet but it was OK. The main problem was the bed - it was the worst I slept in during our three week tour. We had a twin room on the front, with balcony, and it was nicely old-fashioned and spotlessly clean. My bed (nearest the window) had a really lumpy mattress that creaked and groaned every time I turned over (as did I after two nights there!) with a bottom sheet that was so narrow I don't know why they bothered, and lumpy pillows too. I don't really like to criticise hotels, it is someone's livelihood after all, but I do think they should improve those beds - better pillows and sheets that fit would be a start. I also assume that not all the beds are as bad as these, so perhaps you need to make sure you get a better room. But othere aspects of the hotel were good, so - as they say - you pays your money and takes your choice. We also had problems with their website.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Definitely not the place to stay if you have mobility issues, what with the cobblestones, narrow street, and stairs up to the main street. But of course that's the attraction of the Hotel Gurko (and Veliko Turnovo).

Even in VT there are large, modern hotels that can accommodate a whole tour bus, but we wouldn't sacrifice the Gurko's views, the wine on the balcony, the large room with a leather couch in a seating area, the great restaurant, etc. for a more modern place at twice the price.

Unlike other reviewers, we found the place fairly easily (although had to walk the last 50 meters due to a parked car blocking the one-lane street), got the room that we selected from their website, found that wifi was fairly good, and didn't mind the cats in the breakfast room.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viaducttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are looking for The Ritz Carlton, don't stay here. If you are looking for a slice of old world Bulgarian charm, this is your place, Our twin room was good sized with a view of the river and monument. The breakfast was absurd in that it was way more food than we could eat. We were provided a plate with: tomatoes, cucumbers, cheese, hard boiled egg, two sausages. Toast, bonitsa, yogurt, and beverages were also provided. This is a very homey family style place. We enjoyed the restaurant. Hotel is centrally located, but keep in mind that you are in the historic part of an historic town (read narrow streets). It was unseasonably cold and rainy, and we returned to a welcoming fire in the fireplace. Try the banana split. it's a crepe with ice cream, banana, chocolate sauce, and whip cream. Yum! You will work it off on the town's many hills. Our room had a huge bathtub.

Room Tip: We were happy with our twin room with a river view. Room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our hopes regarding this hotel were quite high considering the fact that it was ranked as no.1 on Trip Advisor as far as the hotels in Veliko Tarnovo are concerned. Wew asked for a specific room (a suite actually) and, although it seemed to be available on their site, we received an email after a few days in which we were asked to chose another room and we were given 3 options. We chose the room that had our minimum requirements regarding one large bed and a balcony with a view (room no.6), although we felt that we had to settle for less. Unfortunately we were right.
Finding the hotel itself was a bit of a challenge as about half of Gurko Street is a one way street and we entered (by car) and could not go in the direction of the hotel. However, after parking the car, we found the hotel and, after following the directions of the staff, could easily park the car in the hotel's garage.
The exterior of the hotel as well as the restaurant is that of an old Bulgarian inn, with interesting details and quite charming flowers in front. However, the disappointment started when we were introduced to our room (no.6). It was very small, the furniture was old and scratched, all the door nobs of the furniture were broken, the bathroom door and wardrobe door were noisy.
We found small holes in the bed linen, the bed was covered with 2 small bed sheets instead of a large one.
The nights were quite cold and there was no heating. We had to cover ourselves with two blankets and it was still cold. Also, one night (out of three that we spent at Gurko hotel) there was no hot water.
The breakfast was continental, but rather poor and exactly the same ever morning.
The overall feeling was that of a 2 star hotel, at most.
The only things that we liked were the bathroom that was large and the view on our small, rustic balcony.
Considering all of the above, we cannot recommend this hotel. I do hope that a lovely town such as Veliko Tarnovo also has better hotels that Gurko.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the river and balcony. However rooms 4,5 and 6 (that we had access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Can't say anything negative about this hotel. Spacious room, plumbing works, hot water, AC works, TV works, very decent hotel employees. Blooming flower pots everywhere, Clean, spotless, no raggedy towels. No stinky pillow cases. Great view of the river, monuments, and fortress. Not one fault found. Enjoy, this is what a hotel is supposed to be.

Room Tip: Two rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beetcanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Gurko is a beautiful hotel situated on the street of the same name over looking the river Yantra. We have stayed here a few times now, only for the odd one or two nights on route from sofia to the coast and back again and have stayed in a few different rooms. The rooms are clean an traditionally furnished and the staff are all friendly and offer a warm welcome. The breakfast is substantial, egg,meat, sausage and cheese as well as fresh fruit, toast, pastries and yogurt. You could easily fill up for the day and if you stayed for any length of time and indulged in all that was offered each morning you would definitely be a few pounds heavier at the end of the holiday. All in all we always enjoy our nights at the Gurko, it is the only reason we fly to Sofia and not direct to the coast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones with balconies looking out over General Gurko street are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.2 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#9 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anhea
Anhea
#7 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alegro Hotel
Alegro Hotel
#5 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#8 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
#6 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurko

Address: Gurko Str. 33, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range: $55 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gurko 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gurko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurko Hotel Veliko Turnovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing