We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gurko
Nearby Hotels
Yantra Grand Hotel(Veliko Tarnovo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alegro Hotel(Veliko Tarnovo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anhea(Veliko Tarnovo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski(Veliko Tarnovo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsarevets Hotel(Veliko Tarnovo)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asenevtsi Park Hotel(Veliko Tarnovo)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Family Hotel Yatrus(Veliko Tarnovo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Veliko Tarnovo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
193
103
18
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
103
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergurko streetold towngreat viewcharming hoteltraditional bulgarian cuisinerustic charmhistoric streetplace to stayloved this hotelpretty hotelworth tryingfamily runtwo nightswould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotellovely room
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 319 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, it's a nice small hotel, located next to city center and Samovodska Charshia but also on a very quiet street. Lots of blankets in the room, I guess it is cold in winter.
I just wonder, why all the bathtubs and shower cabins are leaking in Bulgaria? I have a whole puddle on the floor by the end of taking shower.
And I would add at least some cornflakes to the breakfast, because my kids could not eat suausage and salad in the morning. Breakfast is a fixed menu, rich but somewhat adult-oriented.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank AntonMoscow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is a real treat to stay in.....once you have found it. The lonely planet (eastern Europe) was truly useless here. The bus from sofia dropped us off at Yug station and we thought we could take a road from the main street down to gurko. Big mistake. The steep steps that went down were designed to kill anyone dragging a samsonite, plus I think we had some strange looks from a resident. The best route from Yug station is to walk up and turn off where the map is marked Hadji Dimitar (if you are driving also) on the lonely planet. Look for the two casino type places and the road you need is in between them which should slope down straight away. Once you see it starting to turn into the old street at the bottom, that's where gurko street starts.

Back to the review. Once we found the place, The hotelier smiled and asked me by my name (lucky guess!) which was very sweet. The room we reserved (no 15) was on the 2nd floor with a balcony overlooking the river and monument. The shower was a wet room with a separate room for the toilet-perfect for us. The bedroom was big, clean and tidy. The only minor downside is the wooden board at the end of the bed- not designed for tall people. My husband had to sleep at an angle so his feet wouldn't rest on the board.

We have had the delights of both breakfast and dinner and can vouch for both. We loved being based on this little street and had took some fabulous photos at dawn when it was misty. Watched the lightning and thunderstorms on two nights from the balcony. Lots of fun.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugglywuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

10 out of 10, for everything about this hotel.
Friendly,helpful staff,real good Dinner and breakfast, large clean room,great view from room.
Excellent location to the old part of town.
Wish we could have stayed longer, our favourite hotel in Romania and Bulgaria

Room Tip: Cannot fault this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan49brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very narrow street overlooking a valley with a lovely view apart from the hideous and huge Communist era hotel on the right. We had a huge room with a separate seating area and balcony and large double bed. The shower in the bathroom was rather difficult to use without flooding the whole room as it was situated over the bath but without a curtain or guard of any sort. No shelf for toiletries. The dinner provided for our group was good and at breakfast we were introduced to the local speciality of banitska..hard to explain but very delicious. It is a family run hotel and like almost everyone we met in Bulgaria, the owners were welcoming, friendly and wishing to please. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view (apart from the ugly hotel to the right). Street is quiet at night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Highgateglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for one night and found this hotel to be very well managed. Friendly, helpful staff. On a quiet historical street with a beautiful view. It was very warm out and the air conditioning worked better than most hotels on our trip. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Very clean, well kept with lots of charm! Highly recommend it, a truly authentic and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Not easy to find driving our car, but had parking for our car. Book early to get best rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews