We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel in ideal location”
Review of Tsarevets Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tsarevets Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2006

We've heard a lot about Bulgaria so some friends and I thought we would head out there and see what it's all about. We stayed at the Tsarevets Hotel where we were looked after very well by the staff ...always willing to go out of their way to help and spoke very good english. The hotel is close to Tsarevst castle and very close to all the shops and bars but because it's on a side street there isn't much noise. If you go to Veliko Turnovo i would suggest staying at this hotel and don't forget to watch the light show!....Bye

Nick and James

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank James123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Tsarevets Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2006

Just returned from Bulgaria looking at Investment opp. in the region of Veliko turnavo.
I booked Tsarevets hotel via thier Web site and had a very pleasent stay.
The staff were very helpfull and spoke fluent English. The room was very clean and modern.
I was amazed to see the no. of British investors all stayinh here!
The Manageress- Mimmi and the receptionist -Sofia-were very helpfull with all aspects of staying in another country. From ordering cabs to giving directions to visit agents- nothing was to much for them.
It is a very friendly run family hotel. I was also informed tht hey will be expanding next year and will have a Indian resturant. Can not wait to eat here and plan to be back as the property boom described in the UK papers were correct.
See you all soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 21,168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

Superb staff, excellent service, a good location and a comfortable well maintained hotel with good quality furnishings.

The excellent service started while I was still in England. Staff had previously advised that the Tsarevets was fully booked but a few days before my departure the manager phoned England to advise that a room had become available. Arriving very early I dropped off my luggage and went for a walk. Within half an hour the manager called me on my English mobile phone to say the room was ready. On mentioning a small problem with my hire car, hotel staff contacted the local Opel dealer, and then called the hire company in Sofia.
All part of the service.

Other aspects are just as good. The location is ideal, close to the fortress and not far from the town centre. Rooms are comfortable, well maintained with good quality furnishings. Room rates of approx Eur 50 for bed and breakfast are good value. Security appears sound – rooms have their own safe and car parking bays opposite the hotel are overseen by CCTV - not that for one minute Veliko Turnovo, a beautiful town, appears to give any concerns for security.

Free internet is available on the first floor, whilst downstairs is a bar and breakfast room. There is no restaurant, but staff will advise on restaurants, book and pay for taxis. The sound and light show at the fortress is a one-minute walk. Starting times seem a bit unpredictable, and hotel staff will call when the show is about to start.

It is almost churlish to mention two small things. Firstly the bathroom shower does not have an enclosed base, with the result that water spreads over the bathroom floor. This seems quite common in Bulgaria, and unlike some other Bulgarian hotels the water drains away efficiently from the bathroom floor. Secondly some guests might find bathroom shelf space to be a bit limited. Very minor matters – it’s a great hotel in a great town.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
12
Reviewed March 4, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for a week at it was by far the best hotel i have stayed whilst visiting this country on business.
I have stayed at other hotel in this area but all were very poor in the hygine dept.
I found Tsarevets hotel excellent and good value for money. This hotel lived up to its reputation.
The manager and his wife were polite and friendly.they plan this year to expand the hotel and have a indian resturant built- Which will have a indian chef and not microwave food being served.!
Can not wait to go back in the next six months.
A Very pleasent trip and stay at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
16
Reviewed June 23, 2005

Visited this beautiful city- Veliko Turnovo this year and booked into Tsarevets hotel as i found them on the web--------
As described on the site, the hoptel and the staff lived up to my expectation.
The rooms were very modern and clean .
I throughly enjoyed myseld and had a good time- Especially at the nearby Tsarevets Fortress.The light & Sound display in the evening were a magnificent sight.
i will most definatley return as the whole journey was value for money

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
112
Reviewed June 3, 2005

Visited the Town of veliko Tunrnavo last year looking to invest in the booming property market.
I stayed at this excellent hotel- Tsarevets Hotel- where the staff and management were very friendly,helpful and more importantly as they spoke good English- i felt very comfortable for the week i stayed there.
The room and building was very clean and the you were never intrupted yet found your room made when you returned in the evening.
Tsarevets Hotel is situated not too far from the historical Tsarevets Fortress which has this unique ligt & Sound display in the evening.It was BRILLIANT.
Not only this but the managent at Tsarevets hotel provided me with a complimentary VIP pass to the local night club and the Local spa club.
Believe you me, there is nothing better then a spa club after a heavy night on the town!!
I had so much fun that i plan to visit this wonderful location with my friends and i most definatley be staying at Tsarevets Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2005

I recently came back with my family from Bulgaria, were i stayed at the Tsarevets Hotel in Veliko Turnovo. We were picked up from the airport by one of the hotel staff who was very pleasent and spoke fluent English. Once at the hotel we were made very welcome by the staff and was given all the information we required about the town and surrounding areas.
The hotel was as cozy as decribed and we were more than happy with our stay there.
Most evenings we would enjoy a fresh coffee or a glass of brand alcohol whilst relaxing in the lobby bar by the warmth of the firplace.
The location of the hotel was perfect as it was walking distance from the Tsarevets castle which provides a sound and light audio-visual show which can be seen from the hotel.
We have already made plans to visit the town again later this year and will most definately be staying at the Tsarevets hotel, I would recommend this town and hotel to anyone who is looking to book a holiday in Bulgaria.

HAVE A PLEASENT TRIP!

13  Thank candrgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gurko
Hotel Gurko
#1 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alegro Hotel
Alegro Hotel
#7 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anhea
Anhea
#5 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asenevtsi Park Hotel
Asenevtsi Park Hotel
#4 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#9 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsarevets Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsarevets Hotel

Address: Chitalishtna Str. 23, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsarevets Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tsarevets Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsarevets Hotel Veliko Turnovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing