We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Tsarevets Fortress
from $93.30
More Info
from $74.90
More Info
Reviews (1,131)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveler rating
356
225
60
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
225
60
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sound and light show nice place to visit surrounding area great view worth the climb nice walk middle ages bulgarian capital long walk yantra river entrance fee historical place comfortable shoes on site old town tower hill
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Tsarevets Hill fort is huge with a great amount of uneven paths and stairs. The area offered a wide view of the city. Ever so often there were annoying announcements through loudspeakers announcing light shows at night. The previous evening we had seen part of the light show from the bridge below. It was spectacular. The fortress has a deep history. While in the city it is well worth a trip to the fortress.

Thank reise-tanta-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Tsarevets Fortress after exploring Samovodska Charshiya. The entrance ticket costs Лв6 per adult. The place is pretty big, and we spent half a day exploring the place. There is a church right at the top with some pretty interesting paintings. There are ruins scattered about the place as well as a nice view of the surrounding. Definitely worth a visit when in Veliko Tarnovo.

Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very interesting and historical place. View is perfect as it is settled at the top of hill. Well protected, therefore aged gracefully. We visited it with my husband,i will visit again with my little daughter.

Thank Hava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This fortress is Veliko Tarnovo’s badge. It is located on a hill and from there you can see all town. It is mandatory landmark. Closes at 6 p.m. Around the fortress is Yantra river. On national holidays you can see “Sound and light” spectacle, which is amazing!

Thank sibila_marinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Αξιζη να το επισκεφτείτε ειναι πολυ μεγαλο και πολυ καλοσυντηριμενο.

Please visit it is very big and very well-suited.

Thank George and Mari... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A big fortress with important history and nice views over the city. The church inside is amazing, different from any Orthodox Church I ever seen. Seems more like a modern art museum, really interesting.

Thank doruc645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You get just about everything when you walk around this fortress including views of the city (Veliko Tarnovo) and the long history of this fortress. This is an absolute must if you're in Veliko Tarnovo or even Bulgaria. You will not be disappointed.

Thank navaphoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We watched the sound and light show from our hotel room. It’s spectacular. An amazing fort to visit. Well preserved

Thank AnnetteR292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did a day trip from Bucureşti to see this area and enjoyed the walk up to the fortress. The views are amazing. The inside of the church is contemporary style and not as good as the more traditional paintings...

Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great place to visit, to see the history of the place as it was and it is recreated with rebuilding it.
Don't go on sunny days as you will have a problem with the heat or rainy days (as we did!) as you have to be careful not to slip anywhere.

Thank HDTsele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews