We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabuluos place”
Review of Tsarevets Fortress

Tsarevets Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.25*
and up
Veliko Tarnovo Walking Tour
More Info
$102.06*
and up
Day Trip to Bulgaria from Bucharest
More Info
$134.91*
and up
Private Day Trip to Veliko Tarnovo and Arbanassi from Ruse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating to the 12th century, this strategic fortress is one of two highly fortified hills (Trapezitza being the other) that protected Bulgarian rulers living on the site in the tsar’s palace.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabuluos place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fabulous place with a lot of history! Everyone must see it! Especially during the night when there is an audiovisual show named "The Sound and Light".

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bambina_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    323
    76
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“a great view”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've been there a few times already, but every time I go I like it. It's much more impressive looking at it from the distance. It's great to visit the place in spring because it's cooler and trees are blossoming. From the top there's a fantastic view to the town and Trapezitsa hill - the hill where nobility and Christian clerics lived and which will be opened for tourist visits quite soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsvetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to pass half a day”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It is a very impressive fortress and a great place to pass half a day. The most impressive part of it is the entrance. As the area is rough you need to wear proper shoes. Flip flops are out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNNKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quite a fortress”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a very hot day so I did not walk into the complex. There is a nominal entrance fee but VT is a hill town and the heat took its toll on walking. The outside views were magnificent and you would not want to miss. I stopped at a restaurant near the entrance and enjoyed a cold Bulgarian beer. I'm sure the light show would be impressive. If you go be sure to wear your walking shoes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFarmer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A shame for tourism”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am sorry I've been so close by it, the image of the fortress is beautiful just from far away, not to say how sorry I am for the money I paid at the entrance... Everything is rebuilt during the communist period, without any architectural, historical rules or even aesthetics; there is no indication which are remnants of the original and which are the reconstructed once. There are very few informations at all, written only in Bulgarian, Russian and German. The church is painted specifically communist period. It is a great kitsch.
It was difficult to find the elevator for climb the tower, people doesn't speak English. But it was not available, I still don't know when it works.
There absolutely no help for disable people to visit the fortress. They have to wait down hill, out in the sun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsarevets Fortress also viewed

Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
 
Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
 

Been to Tsarevets Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing