We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Digs by the Park”
Review of Alegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alegro Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Hotel Alegro is an intimate and well located spot overlooking the park. Aside from their spacious and comfortable rooms, they have an excellent restaurant (try the trout) very efficient service and friendly staff. I would stay here again! Our room was super comfy and quiet at night so sleeping was easy and the buffet breakfast (included) got us well prepared for a day of shopping and touring. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here on a family trip. Everybody got normal good rooms except us that needed triple room and stayed in an "appartement", which was an exhibition of terrible taste and old furniture.
It was so bad it completely ruined our stay. The other double rooms were actually nice. Breakfast is also quite bad. Not much choice with poor coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's a nice little hotel, close to Marno Pole Park, in a quiet area of the new town, but at a walking distance from the old area. The room was not so big (I guess because I reserved an Economy room), but nicely decorated and clean. The bathroom was big and also very clean. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a terrace. For breakfast you can choose an english, continental, french or bulgarian type and it's more than enough. The parking is right in front of the hotel and you need to reserve it and ask at the reception for the parking ticket. I will stay here again next time I will be in Veliko.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea_Tollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and I have to say that this hotel is very pleasant, stylish and clean.
The rooms were small but clean, with wifi and AC, with parking places close to location.
The staff speaks English, the breakfast was enough and good.
I'll certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeaConstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

So we were in this hotel for 2 nights and both nights the air-conditioning didn't work. Complained to Hotel staff about it but was told that there is a fault but nothng was done about it - they could have at least brought in a fan for us?!? The room is small but adequate if it weren't for the air-conditioning. We had to open the windows and the noise from the pubs/clubs was deafening. The breakfast is strangely "rationed". I had asked for an English breakfast but was told that because I had ordered an omlette with chilli and cheese, I couldn't get two other items on the rationed menu being the vegetables and the bacon. I found this very strange but didn't bother to argue as the waiters didn't know too much english. The location of this hotel is good though and the reception staff is friendly. Wireless interent is intermittent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The room was rather small, but OK if you are there for a few days to seee the town and don´t spend much time at the hotel. Location is fine, quiet and just outside the old town. Staff speaks English, and there is a computer station with internet connection that can be used for free by guests. Breakfast rather small, a choice of different menues with just one cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Have stayed here before, and the place is small but neat and close to the town. The staff are caring and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We asked to change our room, as we wanted a small balcony facing the park. This was arranged for us when one of only 2 rooms with balcony became available. Weather fantastic for December! Lots of cultural events in the town to watch or take part in. Have spent many years travelling to Bulgaria, and would recommend this place for a relaxing and easy going stay. Their restuarant is also extremely good, if a little quiet for the time of year, but it meant we didn't have any trouble getting our meals in good time, and a chance to chat with the staff!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms that faces the park with a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Veliko Tarnovo hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Gurko
Hotel Gurko
#1 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
311 reviews
0 mi away
Yantra Grand Hotel
Yantra Grand Hotel
#2 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
315 reviews
0 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#8 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
Meridian Hotel Bolyarski
#6 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
146 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#17 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
67 reviews
0 mi away
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier
#11 of 18 in Veliko Tarnovo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegro Hotel

Address: Svetoslav Str 15, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range: $33 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alegro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Alegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegro Hotel Veliko Turnovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing