We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Kids loved it!”
Review of Sol Nessebar Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Bay
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Kids loved it!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just got back from a weeks stay in the Bay, and thoroughly enjoyed it! Did not know which part of the hotel we were staying in until we arrived. The hotel group is a horse shoe shape with the Palace in the middle and the Bay & the Mare a mirror image of each other on either side. We were greeted by a really nice receptionist at midnight and offered a full cold buffet with a choice of drinks in the restaurant. Which was a really nice extra touch (although a bit strange eating ham and cheese at one in the morning with several other new comers) Our room was fantastic a doublr room with triple aspect doors into the balcony overlooking our pool the palace and out to sea. (and at no extra cost) The restaurant was a mix of cold and hot buffet with lovely cakes and a choice of self serve drinks which was nice. The pool bar served pizza, chips , sandwiches and biscuits all day and the bar staff were really nice and helpful. The hotel was fairly quiet as their season doesn't really kick off until June 1st, it was great for us as it was half term and there were quite alot of english families for our kids to make friends with and have a great deal of fun, we all got on really well which was a nice. You could use any of the pools including the childrens fun pool where the kids club was situated in front of the Mare and we had not rouble getting a group of sunbeds at anytime of the day. The children loved the kids club the staff were great and spoke several languages very well and included some of the kids in their show in the evening when the did songs from Disney Princesses which they all loved. Walked along the beach in both directionsfor several miles (if you go towards Nessebar you have to walk along the road and get back on the beach again) Staff were very nice and helpful and we found they spoke enough english to serve whatever we needed and always did it with a smile. I agree you certainly get back what you give out. We had a fabulous time and would certainly go again and possibly before the 1st of June because it was really great for us with the hotel not being full!

Room Tip: They all seemed really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are glad to hear that the hotel, the staff and all the facilities fulfilled your expectations! We would assure you that we will keep working hard in this direction.
Once again, our most sincere thank you, we are waiting to welcome you again in Sol Nessebar Bay!
Best wishes,
Janina Ninova, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    111
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
199
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Sol Nessebar Bay hotel. The hotel is modern, very well maintained, clean and spacious. Good sized bedroom with plenty of space for clothes and a nice bathroom and a balcony. Staff friendly and food ok, some repetitions but on the whole it was good. The only thing I would say is that if an important part of your holiday is a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant this is not the place to stay. The restaurant is like a works canteen and there is no dress code. Although there is a sign at the door showing long trousers and shirts for men nobody took any notice and people went to dinner in vests, shorts and flipflops. We look forward to dinner on holiday and this time we got it over with as quickly as possible and left the restaurant. Apart from this we enjoyed our week and the old town was full of places to have lunch overlooking the sea and lots of freshly caught fish to try.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Keith m,
I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
In first place I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Your opinion is very important for us, and you have our commitment, from both the hotel management and all the staff, that your comments will be used to improve our services and make sure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay with us.
We apologize for your discomfort caused by dinner dress code of the other guests. We took actions to avoid this situation from happening again. We really do our best to guarantee that all of our customers’ experiences are satisfying.
We hope to see you again soon and we thank you for your positive comments, as well for the once, that give us point to improve.
Hoping to see you in Sol nessebar Bay again,
Best regards,
Janina Ninova
Quality Manager
Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Saw this holiday at a good price in the local paper with the added bonus from our local airport at Norwich. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel and people will always whinge about something, but all in all we had a good time with the added bonus of excellent weather. We were checked in very efficiently by a friendly receptionist and shown to our room. Huge room, nice and clean, large bed with two separate duvets so no fighting over the bed clothes at night:-]]
Nice bathroom with shower and small bath tub.

Food was okay. Yes, it was not too hot but if you have travelled in hot countries, they do not eat hot food as it is too hot to do so!!! There was a microwave to heat food up should you wish and although the food was not to our liking, we always found something to eat each meal and there was plenty of it, although when we first arrived it was obvious it was very early season with around 50 guests which increased to around 150 before we came away.

Staff were lovely and I am a great believer that you only get back what you put in and if you smiled and said good morning it was reciprocated. We found all the staff to be lovely and had a lot of fun with them. For those who have said the staff were not nice, it is probably because they were not nice to them!!!

There was a lot of construction work going on down and the route to the beach so lots of lorries and cranes making a noise for lots of the day, but hey ho, again it was early season and we got a cheap holiday and we lived with it. The only bug bear was the local dogs barking most of the day and when one started they all started. Apparently it is not a noise nuisance in Bulgaria for a dog to bark continually!

We did not go across to the Palace hotel for the entertainment, preferring to relax after dinner with a glass of wine in one of the bars.

There is a pool bar, which serves up pizza, chips, coleslaw, sandwiches all day from 10 to 6 and the staff are very happy to put fresh chips in for you, should they have got cool. Again, great guys who run the pool bar.

We did walk into Nessebar one cool day - around 3 km and 3km back. It is worth a visit to the old town with spectacular views of the harbour and the old town is well worth a walk through, although very touristy.

In summary of the hotel and resort. Yes I would go again to this hotel. Entertainment staff are amazing. Food okay and Nessebar very pretty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear JulieHall86,
Thank you very much for your valuable review. We are glad to hear that our hotel, service, staff and facilities fulfilled all your expectations. We are doing our best to assure а pleasant stay for everyone. Comments like yours motivate us to keep doing it even better!
We are hoping to welcome you again in Sol Nessebar Bay!
Kind regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have loved every trip to Bulgaria. Sol Nessabar Bay is part of a large 3 hotel complex complete with gardens and steps to the beach. All the staff from reception, chambermaids, front of house and animation team are very friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere on the site with a mix of nationalities and religions. We had a bottle of wine from the hotel for our anniversary and a box of chocolates for my birthday, which were nice touches. Their Musicals show from the animations team (some drafted in from other hotels and resorts ) was a notch above what I have seen before, especially the Moulin Rouge segment. It is early on in the season so not everything was open in the hotel and resort so would recommend June onwards. Bulgaria is very pretty, almost like being in Britain but with the flowers 6 weeks ahead of us . Most things are very cheap. There were swallows in the hotel and a nightingale singing by the pool bar! The local bus service is excellent and easy to use costing 1 leve (about 46 pence). We would recommend to Bristish visitors who like Bingo to go to the Corner Bar in Sunny Beach. Small critisms would be the lack of a kettle and tea and coffee in the rooms,not being able to use all the facilities of the 3 hotels and the Animation bar in the Sol Nessabar Palace not being to the standard of the other bars in quality and taste of the drinks. These are minor critisms but this is clearly a hotel chain that is very ambitious and seem to know the little touches are important....so I would expect them to rectify.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Garry F, I am Janina Ninova, the Quality Manager of Sol Nessebar Resort. I would like to thank you for your feedback – you give to our team power and motivation to be better each day! Following your “small criticism" we have arranged kettle for tea / coffee to be available at reception upon request, and also we are now in redecoration of the Animation bar Palace. You have to visit us again – we hope you will like it. Wishing you all the best and waiting to welcome you in Sol Nessebar Bay again soon, Kind regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager of Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is near the beach, 4 min. walk, the swimmingpool is good , deep enough for adults and there is a small one for the little ones, food is a lot of vegatables and sweets and salades en pasta, every day both fish and meat, there are a lot of Roumanians and animation is both in bulgarian and roumanian, not in english, sometimes a bit in german. Drinks are good, animation gives good shows, but only in bulgarian and roumanian lenguage. Everyone loves children, the beach is great, really great, for long walks and a lot of swiming. There are so many sweets it is impossible to taste all of them at one day.

Room Tip: Seaside is far more quiet and streetside, tourist train rides of and on and horsecoaches too and dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose-dammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rose d,
I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for choosing Sol Nessebar Bay for your last holiday, as well as for spending your precious time on sharing your opinion from our resort. Your comments are our motivation for moving every day forward in the quality of the services we supply. Come back again – we all will be happy to meet you again soon and to be able to hear your second holiday feedback about Sol Nessebar Bay! Best regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager, Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was in this hotel for 4 days in low season. It has a big area - it belongs to the complex of three hotels and it's rather noisy place with many children. I would reccomend it for people who want to stay most of time in the hotel area, because there is no place to walk outside the hotel.
And I think the beach is too small for all guest of these hotels in high season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortuna7-7-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Fortuna7-7-7, I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for the time spent to share your opinion about your stay in Sol Nessebar Bay. I would like to hope that you will visit us again athigh season time, you then would be able to enjoy all animation activities in the resort - shooting, volleyball, dancing school, shows and more. A visit of Old Nessebar would also be a nice experience in addition to our services. We will wait to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just arrived back from Bulgaria. We stayed 7 nights at the Sol Nessebar Bay! The hotel has excellent services, very good food and let me say a big "CONGRATULATION" to the animation team! They were very professional during the daytime and during the night shows! Surely we will plan to go back and stay in this hotel. Thanks for everything! :)

Room Tip: Deffinitely choose sea view room on the 6th floor! The view will worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laszlo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Laszlo71, I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for the time spent on sharing your opinion gathered at Sol Nessebar Bay. Many thanks for the nice words in your comments as well. The satisfaction of our guests is our major aim. We all hope that your next holiday choice will again be our property! See you soon again, Kind regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nessebar
1.1 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
334 reviews
3.0 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#80 of 220 in Sunny Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#5 of 35 in Nessebar
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
738 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pollo Resort
Pollo Resort
#2 of 58 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Nessebar Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Bay

Property: Sol Nessebar Bay
Address: Nessebar Blvd. 7, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nessebar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Nessebar Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Bay, - Palace, - Mare is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Nessebar Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Bay Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing