We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but definiately not 5*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Nessebar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Palace
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“OK but definiately not 5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Just returned from a week's stay at the Sol Nessebar Palace. Firstly, this is Bulgarian 5* so really nearer to 3/4 stars in terms quality and service etc. All inclusive at this hotel is actually just full board with snacks of pizza, chips, cakes and sandwiches filling in the gaps...not that anybody honestly needs to eat all that anyway. Only the local spirits are part of the all inclusive package and the wine is absolutely terrible!!! The mini bar in the room is not part of the all inclusive package and you have to pay to use the room safe. The bar shuts at 11.00pm for all inclusive drinks.

The animation team worked really hard and if you have children then this is an ideal holiday for them with all the chips pizza, icrecream and endless entertainment.

The beach is very disappointing and not as good as the beaches in Nessebar or Suny Beach. The swimming pool is fantastic and we never had a problem getting a sunbed and this was at the busiest time in August. However, the adjoining 3/4* sister hotels were allowed to come in and use all the facilities of our hotel which was a bit of a gripe really as they had probably paid a lot less than we did and they were able to use all of our facilities. The food seemed OK to start with but got progressively worse as the week went on. The cold buffet and salad was always very good,, lots of fresh fruit but that's where it stopped really. The hot buffet was not very interesting, the fish was always hard and overcooked and the meat was usually very tough. We were given sausages on 3 nights running!!! A lot of the stuff that you thought was hot was in fact cold when you got it to the table. We always managed to get a table outside which was much nicer than being stuffed inside. They have no dress code so don't bother taking your nice clothes because people were coming into dinner wearing the same shorts and T shirts that they were wearing around the pool all day long. One evening a very fat 50 ish year old guy turned up for dinner in just his shorts and no top!!! It was disgusting and the staff did not challenge this....I personally found it to be very offensive.

The general cleanliness of the hotel was very good but they were very laxed about clearing the tables of glasses and snack foods all over the public areas...it was not unusual to sit down with a drink to a table full of dirty stuff. A lot of the carpets had stains on and once again is not 5 star standard. You had to queue for all your drinks and they provided no waiter service - sometimes giving you an evening drink in a plastic cup.!!

Most of the staff were very pleasant, especially the pool bar where they made a half decent capuccino coffee.

Would I recommend this hotel....maybe if you got a last minute cheap rate it would be good value but it was not good value for what we paid.

Nessebar is only 20 minutes by foot if you are fairly fit but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    240
    92
    37
    24
See reviews for
383
186
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Dont drink the water and the juices in the "all inclusive" area of the hotel,you might get diarrhea,young children especially.It is tap water and not a botted one.If you want to enjoy a descent cup of coffee that is not your place.Parking is charged 5 euro/night.Also if you want your room to be nicle cleaned better give a tip.Everything else is fine.Food also.Try the hamam and the thalasso centre you can get anice relaxation

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

I was in this hotel not in season and it was perfect. This hotel looks very good, also all inclusive services. The rooms are very big and have everything you need. You can eat anything you can imagine. You are very dainty if you can say that the food is not good..
Even it was october and the time was not favourable to swim in the sea, we manage to swim in a great swimming pool.
10 -is for the swimming pool
Hotel was 100% occupied.
It's a very nice hotel to spend your holiday to your family, for recreation....

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Nicolae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTHERHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

well well well where do i start, firstly cannot fault the hotel cleanliness, room fabulous, cleaners brilliant, animation team deserve medals, thats where the the complments stop, some of the staff were friendly, but others I found ignorant, and its no good them saying that they dont under stand you, because they do, the food was not up to standard my partner and I are not moaners we go along with the flow but, we did moan alot during our 2 week stay at the palace, the food was horrid,they just catered for non english, we couldnt even get a decent cup of coffee the machines where always empty, we did complain to our holiday rep, who was coincidentally bulgarian (balkan holidays), she told us that the management said there was a power cut, thats why the machines were,nt working, funny they must have had a power cut for three days on the trot 24/7 [--], they were ok for a couple of days after that,but then went back to being empty again, our rep didnt give a damn, they want our money, that where it stops, we where also told, by first choice who we booked with that the palace had its own private beach, not so, you have to pay 6lv each for sunbeds, 6lv for umbrella, and you also have to pay for your drinks at the beach bar, so dont be fooled, we where also told by first choice, that we could also use everything the other sister hotels which are joined to the palace, the mare and the bay offered, including meals, again we were disappointed because you cant, you can only eat in the hotel that you are booked into, every thing is shared by the other hotels, entertainment pools, the main bar, so if you dont like the food at the palace you are stuck, we went into the mare and the bay not knowing that we couldnt eat there, their meals were 100% better than the palace, as we wre going into the mare one night we got stopped by one of the hotel managers, who told us we couldnt eat there we had to eat in our own hotel, we complained about this as first choice had told we could eat anywhere in the complex, not so we were made to feel inferior and humiliated, you are out in the middle of nowhere, and stuck, the nearest place you can go is old nessebar, which is a 10-15 mins bus ride away or a steady 40 mins walk, but you have to think about getting back, you can never go on the times of the buses,they turn up when they want, all I would say for anyone booking a holiday like this is please look into everything before you book, and dont take it for granted that your travel agent is always right, please be very very careful dont be taken in like we were, go to sunnybeach, half board then you are not stuck, enjoy your holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MINNIE125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

first time to Bulgaria, not sure what we were going to get, read the mixed reviews about the Sol Nessebar Palace and was starting to get cold feet.
This was quickly dispelled when we arrived. From check in to porterage, room was a pleasure. Slight downside was we had not booked sea/pool view and we overlooked an old Military camp with old tin huts, not great but certainly improved at night. Again I was not here to spend all my time in a hotel room! All areas I found to be clean and maintained to a high standard. The room was cleaned by Dora, who I wish we could take home with us, every day she made a different theme with the quilts and towels and was always a surprise coming into the room to find it clean and tidy (even round our son's not so good tidying habits!).
The Dining room had charts up indicating busy times which was helpful, though we never struggled at peak times for a table or freshly cooked food, though demand sometimes meant a small time waiting, hey I'm on holiday whats the rush! Food selection was very good, at times too good, felt I needed to try a bit of everything! even fussy eaters were more than happy with the selection. Tables were cleared quickly and reset by busy waiting staff, sometimes a little eager to clear as soon as you had finished but always polite attentive and not too intrusive.
Animation team need a special mention, they were pretty much attuned to the guests in understanding that a lot of people come on holiday to relax, and when and if they are ready will join in attend the activities, they wer all very friendly and were happy to stop and chat and give you the time of day letting you know they were there. A real cheery bunch of good dancers and performers, my Son was so impressed by them he wants to do an animators job when he is older during the summer breaks. Salsa dancing lessons and Bulgarian dancing during the day, keep fit and water aerobics were popular and pitched at the right level for beginners and intermediattes to join in, and basically fun. Snack food available at the pool bar kept you going during the day between meals cooked fresh at the time, chips pizza burgers and others fine once you realised that waist lines were expanding with all the dining room delights were showing! The water park nearby was excellent we had a really good day there, laughed at the sign going in, no food or drink animals or guns hey something different. Old Nessebar was a bus or taxi trip away, good shopping and good restaurents and a really nice ambiance no overly pushy people trying to part with your cash.
All in all we were not sure what to expect, and this was exceeding our expectations we chilled out, son was kept entertained, we ate well, drank well an had a thouraghly good time in a comfortable vhotel with a great atmospere an kind and pleasant staff, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_Josey_Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsoy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

we could not fault the place we had a really good time here the weather was good , the pool was great the kids loved all of the pools , we never had any problem with getting sun loungers where we wanted them , we were on the 5th floor over looking the pool area so we could see what was happening all the time , the staff at reception etc were friendly the only thing was the language barrier but we managed to get what ever we needed , the only thing was the entertainment area was a bit away from the bar and when you went to see any shows on return the bar was closed beside the pool at 10pm so you had to go into the other bars for any drinks etc the other bars closed at 11pm for all inclusive but you could still pay for drinks if you wanted to after 11pm we only did that on one occasion , we never needed to stay out after this time anyway ,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollikrisp41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

My wife myself and our 11 year old daughter spent a week here from the 25th of June 2009, and we found this hotel hard to fault. It was the 1st time we had been to Bulgaria, and only our 2nd "all inclusive" holiday, our first being Tunisia. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are huge and cleaned every day, the food and drinks were of a very good quality and high standard, the choice has huge and varied at meal times. I'm not sure if it is 5 star.....as Ive never stayed in another to compare it to? There were 4 outdoor pools, all of them rather refreshing in May as I dont believe they were heated, and one large indoor pool. The small and quiet beach was 1 minute away via some steps, and during our visit, though it was early in the season, the sun beds and umbrellas on the beach were free. The only small downside to the holiday was that the hotel does have a "smoke anywhere you like" policy, which the forever restrained British smokers took full advantage of. Some of the bars did fog up in the evening, as nobody bothered to smoke outside, despite all the children in these araes. The bars of which there were 4 in the evening did cease "free" drinks at 11pm, but if you did want to continue, they were no where near as expensive as home or the rest of europe this year! Daytime entertainment was numerous, but the evening shows were a little lacking. If your looking for a relaxing break, with no hassle or worries..........book here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nessebar
1.2 mi away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Italia
Italia
#6 of 35 in Nessebar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Nessebar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Palace

Property: Sol Nessebar Palace
Address: 7B Aurelia Boulevard, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
#1 Family Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Nessebar Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Palace,-Mare, - Bay is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Nessebar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Palace Hotel Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing