We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel and facilities but not worth the 5 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Palace
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel and facilities but not worth the 5 star rating”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a huge set of 3 hotel boasting 900+ rooms over the complex. Anyone with children of school age will find this a superb experience. The bedrooms, especially those overlooking the pool are very impressive. They are cleaned and towels and bed linen changed daily. You buy your own bottled water although its available by the glass free from the bars and the restaurant.
The food is varied and of good quality and available in huge quantities for the hungry traveller. Pool towels are available and a safe deposit box is there for hire - although not cheap.
You need to be able to speak the various central European languages to communicate with the majority of fellow guests although the young people who clear the tables in the Restaurant are well versed in th english language as are the reception and entertainment staff.

The restraunt is self service and as you enter you grab a spare table - if one is available. The waiters are highly efficient at clearing and setting the tables but unfortunately don't to show you around or obtain drinks etc. as is normal elsewhere in our experience for a 4 or 5 star hotel.
Its a bit/lot like "school dinners" and we found that once you had found a table you had to hang onto it for dear life. Don't go for your food and leave it unoccupied as you're liley to have to find somewhere else to sit on your return. If you enjoy the social experience of dinning we really can't recomend this hotel. This to us was a real dissapointment but to other central europeans fellow guests seemed to be just what they wanetd.

Be aware of the the trips - Bulgaria has yet to catch up with main stream holiday resorts. Guides are not well versed in the finer arts of the job. In heat of 30c+ our bus broke down and really taxed their experience. Alls well that ends well though.

Overall a good holiday in our view the hotel is beyond walking distance to Nessibar but well away from Sunny Beach. Keep your wits about you when out on the town and you'll enjoy the experince of this develping country.

Room Tip: Its worth the extra cost for a pool view but ask for a lower floor level room. There are 8 floors a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siversurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Siversurfers, I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Thank you for spending time on sharing your opinion about Sol Nessebar Resort and our country. Our resort is really a place where guests from all over the world meet and share their culture and values. This is actually an additional big advantage of properties with multinational audience like ours. Wishing you all the best and hoping to see again soon, Best regards, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    255
    96
    37
    24
See reviews for
403
197
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hardy family aged 38, 35, 13, 9 . We arrived in the early hours of the morning. The staff were efficient and even opened the restaurant for us to eat! The only down side was we did not get a family room that was booked we were squashed into a normal room with a teenager and a 9 year old. The sea view however is a must!! we were on the 7th floor, however I had friends on the 2nd who had paid the same as us but couldn't see the view just the pool area. The weather was nice starting with a few days of rain temp about 22, but indoor pool is handy here as outdoor pools a bit cold but over the weeks rose to 35 and the pools were lovely and warm once the sun had been on them.The hotel was very clean an staff were fabulous! The animation team were great with the kids all day, making sure they knew what was going on around the resort and the shows at night were good! however did repeat each week! The food here was nice, with a variety at each meal times however after 10 days I was craving a change as it was repeated weekly! My only disappointment ( not that I'm a snob!) was that the guests in the neighbouring hotels were able to use our facilities as well which made me think why did I pay more for this hotel when I could of stayed next door for alot less and still had the same benefits? The bar was fab! the angels kiss cocktail is a must! and they happily kept the drinks coming! On my birthday without being told I returned to my room to find a card and a birthday cake from the hotel staff!! The kids pool was great with a few slides and the beach once it had been cleaned was nice especially at sunset after dinner! Now for Nessebar and the area ! --
The area around the resort is under construction and is a little out of the new and old towns. A bus can be caught from the stop not a short walk from the hotel for 1 lev a trip per person or you can walk for about 20 minutes. The old town is lovely, full of little cobbled streets selling good quality fakes! You will get hassled alot but you get use to it quite quickly! A must here is a visit to Michaels Eco bar at the rear of the old town, lovely drinks and setting, a cave with turtles swimming around hard to find so you will need to google it first! We weren't that impressed with sunny beach two commercial for us but a meal at Djannys is a must! great food and beer 35p for a litre! The water parks - We loved the paradise at Nessebar, perfect for children and the staff very helpful and happy! We found the one at sunny beach too busy and they wouldn't allow my 13 yr old on any slides alone, staff were rude and they rip you off on the food, avoid like the plague! We had a great time and would return! hi to all we met, Essex Paul, Bob and Sonia and Grace, Sarah, Hassan, Jasmine and Kartel (Frank) and finally Julian, Emma and Jake, you all made our holiday a great one with your company!

Room Tip: Sea view, floor 5 and up! if you can afford it get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the first week of June. On arrival the receptionist offered us food even though it was 1am. Our bags were also taken up to our room for us.

Room -
The room was very nice. We paid extra for a sea view which was definitely worth it. Only downside was that the bed sheets were only changed after we asked. We had accidentally spilt a drink on the sheets and the bedding had just been rearranged to hide it under the pillows. When we asked for them to be changed though it was done immediately.

Food -
The food is very average. Lots of pork, veal and shark! I often had to have pasta or chips because I didn't like the rest of the food on offer. If you want a change of food I would recommend taking a trip to old Nessebar and having a meal there - reasonably priced and loads of variety. Drinks at the hotel were good but you have to pay for some of the cocktails with more alcohol in.

Pool -
Very nice big pool. There were always available sunbeds. You do have to pay if you want towels though.

Locations and excursions -
The hotel is not within walking distance of anything. The buses are cheap but beware of going to old Nessebar in the day - we couldn't get back so had to pay for a taxi. There is also a water taxi available from the beach at the back of the hotel.
Would definitely recommend going to the Nessebar water park. There is a free bus from outside the hotel and it has great slides. It is very clean, has loads of free sunbeds and was very quiet compared to other European water parks I've been to. Also went to Khan's Tent Bulgarian night which was very good.

Overall we had a good holiday although was a bit disappointed considering the money we paid and the fact we thought it would be five star standard.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ln_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear LesleyZ, I am Janina Ninova, the Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for choosing us for your last vacation, as well for your time spent on sharing your detailed comments. We are pleased that your time in our resort was relaxing and nice. We are especially glad that you are going to visit us again. For your next holiday at our property I would like to inform you, that at the reception desk you could receive your own copy of the bus time table to the places of interest in the area and your own copy with the resort taxi prices. At your disposal is also our hotel info book (Sol Hotel Knowledge Book), where we have gathered for you plenty of local information. At the reception and/or at the quality desk we will also be on your side and deliver to you any additional information needed. Thank you once again and we are waiting for you to visit us again soon. Best wishes, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager, Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just back from a lovely week here. Arrived in the 'small hours' of the morning, check in was quick and we were even offered a meal. The room and facilities were comfortable, adequate and all spotlessly clean. The pool was freezing but a good size and you are able to use the pool at the 2 sister hotels (Mare and Bay) on the complex. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and plenty of room around, not all squashed together. The pool bar was a blessing in the heat and it also served hot food to nibble on plus ice cream. The private beach is sandy although you need to navigate the seaweed if you want to go into the sea. The Heritage Town of Old Nessebar is definitely worth a visit; a good walk of @ 40 minutes but well worth it. Taxis are very cheap so if you didn't fancy the walk back then it's an option. Took the bus to Bougas one afternoon; very disappointing. If you want a towel for the sunbeds then you need to purchase a ticket from Reception (20 Lev). The wi-fi works well around reception, pool area and first floor; remember to get a code every couple of days from reception. The ladies in the lobby and pool bar were all very friendly and spoke good English. The most disappointing part was the food. I'm not fussy and have stayed at AI hotels for years but this didn't match up at all. I appreciate they try extremely hard and have many different nationalities and cultures to please, however, very disappointing. There is a show on every night and the animation team work very hard. Not much else once the sun goes down though. All in all a lovely restful break, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Nice to try somehwere different.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view which is also the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear SneekyPeek, I am Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Thank you for your feedback about the stay in our hotel. It is a big pleasure for the whole team of Sol Nessebar Resort to see that you had a very nice vacation with us and that you enjoyed it a lot. There is also a point that did not match your expectations so we thank you for your suggestions for improvement. Waiting for you to come back soon, Kind regards and best wishes, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We arrived early hours of the morning - reception staff were efficient and we were offered food & drinks upon arrival! Rooms are very spacious even with a temporary child's bed in and the bathroom facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend a pool/sea view room - the front of the hotel has no outlook at all. Overall cleanliness was excellent - staff constantly cleaning all public areas. We found the food quite good - even our 11 year old found enough choice to keep him satisfied. The main pool area was great - lots of sunbeds and shelter if you need it. Our son was rather disappointed by the kids pool - not quite as exciting as the photos portray. We were told that in the future they are planning a teen-age club as well as a kids club. Free wi-fi was a bonus. There is little in the surrounding area of the hotel although beautiful Old Nessebar is not far away - we would recommend the sea taxi from the hotel. The animation team work hard even though the outcome is sometimes quite amateurish. On a down side I would say the hotel offers little information about the surrounding area i.e. bus details, local facilities, etc I would not be fooled into thinking the local alcohol is watered down - be warned! We traveled early June 2012 and things were still rather quiet but that suited us. We would definitely return to Bulgaria and would consider using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Sea/Pool view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Palace, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear LesleyZ, I am Janina Ninova, the Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for choosing us for your last vacation, as well for your time spent on sharing your detailed comments. We are pleased that you your time in our resort was relaxing and nice. We are especially glad that you are going to visit us again. For your nest holiday at our property I would like to inform you, that at the reception desk you could receive your own copy of the bus time table to the places of interest in the area and your own copy with the resort taxi prices. At your disposal is also our hotel info book (Sol Hotel Knowledge Book), where we have gathered for you plenty of local information. At the reception and/or at the quality desk we will also be on your side and deliver to you any additional information needed. Thank you once again and we are waiting for you to visit us again soon. Best wishes, Janina Ninova, Quality Manager, Sol Nessebar Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We arrived at the nessebar palace late may at 12.30 at night, the hotel staff were very nice however there was only one receptionist dealing with about 6 different partys of people who were by now all very tired. we checked in our rooms that were spacious and clean with a nice bathroom with separate shower, we had a sea view highly recommended, the balconys were not private as you could talk to your neibour, and see what they were doing (Did not like). We had to pay for the safe in our rooms, on a daily basis again not 5 star, you also have to pay for pool towels. and also the drinks in your fridge. The pool was nice but the seagulls constantly flew over hunting for food which was a nusance, dnt eat food by pool. the beach was small and dirty with seaweed and driftwood not nice. the restaurant was noisey with lots of clatter and you have to find a table, the food was not hot but they did provide a microwave, and we hope you like pork as it was on the menu every day. the allinclusive drinks are very weak so you wont get drunk. the entertainments team did work hard trying to envolve people, if you want that. Old nessebar is a bus ride away which costs 1 lev it takes a good 45 mins to walk it along a dirt track road, taxi drivers are expensive they can charge between 10 and 15 lev to old nessebar, dnt get caught? We only wished we has stayed in old nessebar it is lovely, and sozopol is worth a visit too. we wont go back to bulgaria for a while, and def not allinclusive as there are lovely places to eat very cheap .

Room Tip: select a seaview quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Me and my fiancée stayed end of May. We are aged 25-30. The hotel itself is beautiful and modern. Below are some of our opinions:

Service- All members of staff whom we came in contact with were very friendly and easy to approach.

Value- Really good value for money all things considered.

Sleep quality- myself and my partner slept well throughout the holiday. The only issue we had here was that our bed sheets weren't changed all week. In other hotels we have stayed in they are usually changed once or twice.

Cleanliness- The hotel was extremely clean throughout. In the communal areas the cleaners were always out cleaning the areas keeping on top of the cleanliness. Only thing i would say is that there are few maintenance issues throughout the complex which need addressing.

Location- Good location for local bus links. Would stay closer to Sunny Beach if i were to go again as there is not much to do in the local area for younger people.

Rooms- the rooms were very spacious. Again they were very clean and modern. No issues here.

Food- There was always a wide variety of food each day. The food was good but on a couple of days the food was cold. Saying that there was a microwave to warm your food up if you weren't satisfied with the heat. At Sol Nessebar Palace they class themselves as 5*, for this i would expect the hotel to have some a-la-carte restaurants, to offer their guests a change.

Entertainment- The animation team work hard to get everyone involved. If you are say 50+ you will have a great time. For us there was nothing to do in the evening. No entertainment bar or a bar with music, just the mundane lobby bar so very boring. When we were there the 'disco' was only open once and you had to pay for your drinks in there so not very good.

Overall a good holiday. I would go back to the hotel if i went with older family for a chilled break.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nessebar
1.2 mi away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#22 of 35 in Nessebar
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#5 of 35 in Nessebar
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
277 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#14 of 220 in Sunny Beach
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Nessebar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Palace

Property: Sol Nessebar Palace
Address: 7B Aurelia Boulevard, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
#1 Family Hotel in Nessebar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sol Nessebar Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Palace,-Mare, - Bay is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Nessebar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Palace Hotel Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing