We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service with four star prices”
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Sol Marina Palace in September 2013 and got the direct sea view room on 4th floor by making the reservation directly from Melia.com site. (Our normal booking site did not offer these rooms). The small upgrade fee that we paid was worth paying, because we had our own private balcony with great view, and it was also nice to look at the sea directly from the queen size bed ;-)

The all inclusive package was more than enough to keep us well-nourished... In the beginning we tried to eat more than our legs could carry, but after trying it a couple of times we realised that quality before quantity.

I recommend Sol Marina Palace to everybody who wants to have a great holiday without any worries. And, on top of that Nessebar is a cozy Unesco world heritage site with enough to see for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the rooms giving direct sea view and a private balcony. It is worth paying that little ex...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jojuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Sol Marina Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 356 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went to Nessebar Old town and stayed one night at St George Hotel. The hotel was scruffy and unclean.The shower was broken.The staff were very lazy and the coffee was substandard. They even had the cheek to charge for it. The breakfast was laughable too. We hurriedly left the hotel first thing in the morning and walked to the SOL MARINA PALACE. In comparison the place looked a dream. We booked for 6 nights. They told us to go straight to the restaurant for breakfast and to help ourselves. The buffet was really good with a large selection.6 nights all inclusive with a room overlooking the sea was about £350.00 total for the pair of us. The beer wasn't too good but the wine was! Unlimited too!
I highly recommend the Sol Marina. The European trained staff were most helpful and polite. Most had a good sense of humour too.
This hotel is close to Nessebar and about a mile from the Sunny Beach attractions however there is a quiet small beach just behind the hotel.

Room Tip: At check in ask for a sea view at the reception.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InspectorClueless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Traveller,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our service fulfilled your expectations.
Welcome back next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks from 15th to 29th September flying from Norwich with Balkan Holidays. Our room (403) was spacious and clean, with comfortable beds and a wonderful view of the old town of Nessebar. We just could not get enough of the beautiful sunrise over Nessebar, a wonderful sight! We stayed on half board basis. Choice at breakfast was generally good, although even if we were early the food was never very hot. There was a good choice of dishes each evening, again not kept very hot, but we always found something we could eat. If you are booked in for half board then you can have free wine, beer or soft drinks every evening. Towards the end of the second week, and the end of the season, the food became noticeably less varied. There were few English guests in the hotel, others seemed to be mainly Russian so not much socialising! There is a swimming pool on the roof, that at the end of the season was very rarely used. The downside to the hotel is that if you are not "all inclusive" the only bar to have a drink in is the attractive Sky Bar. At the time of year we visited it was really quiet and was, for Bulgaria, quite expensive.
We had booked guided birdwatching tours for 5 days of our stay, as the area is a migration route, and were able to see not only Bourgas Lakes, but the Northern coast and also the Sakar hills and the Eastern Rhodopes. Away from the resort the countryside is attractive with lots of interesting wildlife. We also visited Pomorie, just a 20 minute bus ride away, and a lovely resort. Sunny Beach is just across the bay. We visited one morning, very briefly, leaving as quickly as we could. Enough said!
Staff were always friendly, especially in the restaurant. Special mention should be made of the cheery faced barman who always made you feel welcome when you entered the restaurant.
All in all this was a good choice of hotel, in a wonderful position, and good accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as high as possible. They all have an excellent view of old Nessebar
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JudyHub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Judy W,

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience from Sol Marina Palace.
We are pleased that you like the service provided by us and the location of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again in Sol Marina Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel was in a great position between the old town and the new one. The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms were spacious with comfortable seating in situ. The food was plentiful and quite a selection was available sadly the only thing that let it down was that it was never very warm, however I understand that is the way the Bulgarians like it. There is a microwave you can use to heat your food but if you worry about reheating chicken etc then this is no use. Overall the staff was friendly, the men anyway, the females were a bit dour. No entertainment at night and if you go all inclusive then you are restricted to one bar only in the evening.

Room Tip: We were in 201 and this faced directly on to the sea and had the sun all day long, similar floors wo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Jo M,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sol Marina Palace and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor..
We will continue with the good work and to give to our guests unforgettable experiences in Bulgaria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am writing this review whilst still being a guest having stayed here for three nights out of seven. The hotel is very impressive, the stand out features are the gorgeous roof top pool and the sky bar with fantastic views out to sea. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk away from old Nessebar which is a charming historic port and is about 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach of, so the location is fantastic. For the price, the hotel offers fantastic value, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the range of food at breakfast has been good, the quality not always great but you'll find something decent to fill up your plate. Tonight we are going to the hotel's Karoke night, for 10 Lev (the equivilant of £4.50) we are able to drink as much as we like from the bar which is unbelievable value. In summary, I'd recommend the hotel to anyone and will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TokyoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear TokyoDave,

Thank you very much for writing on Tripadvisor..
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Sol Marina Palace as we try to leave our guests with memorable experience.
Thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to see you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Firstly I have to thank the manageress for providing us with a bottle of champagne and a big bowl of fresh fruit for a honeymoon welcome surprise, it was lovely and kick started our honeymoon perfectly! The hotel was lovely, very clean, big rooms, a balcony with lovely view of the road leading into Old Nessebar and the sea. The breakfast had a varied selection to choose from whether you fancy a traditional Turkish breakfast or fried eggs beans toast bacon and sausages, I even had pasta one morning and lovely biscuits to follow.The pool was absolutely freezing but very well presented and close to the sky bar which was a bit expensive. Certain members of staff were very helpful ie. getting me a plaster, recommending us places to go and how to get there. One of them let them down when they said "thats what your travel rep should be telling you" as I saw this as unprofessional,abrupt and rude. I always think locals know best and how to do things cheaply, traditionally and so forth. I highly suggest a day trip to Bourgas which is a 40 min trip on the 11 bus for 6 leva each way. My only suggestion was not too have the kareoke night on as loud as it was, I was on the third floor, I am pregnant and the music was audible from my room with the door shut.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaraP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear ClaraP3,

Thank you very much for spending your time and writing a comment on Triadvisor.
We try to satisfy our guests and we are proud of our staff as being very friendly and polite. I apologise that you felt let down by a member of our staff but usually the representatives of the travel companies should explain you all the details about the area and about the trips you can book.
We will be glad to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have just come back from my holidays in Bulgaria and I am very happy about my choice to stay in Sol Marina Palace hotel.
Sol Marina Palace is situated in the good location - just around 15 min walk from historical Nessebar old town and very close to the sea. Nessebar old town is included in UNESCO heritage list. It is full of narrow ancient streets and contains many churches-museums as old as from XIII century so if you like ancient architecture and museums, you will definitely love Nessebar.
Also, if it becomes a bit too quiet for you in Nessebar, you can visit Sunny Beach resort that is relatively close. The bus goes from Nessebar to Sunny Beach very often and costs only 1 lev.
There is a beach just in front of the hotel and some further beaches that are also very easy to reach. We used to go to the beach in front of the hotel. I should note that this beach is very small and crowded but for me it wasn't a big problem. Since the beach was crowded, it was very easy to make new friends here!
I think one of the main advantages of Sol Marina Palace is its staff. The hotel staff was lovely, chatty and acted like friends. I really liked this because previously I stayed in some hotels where staff was very formal and I found that a bit boring.
Regarding food, the choice was sufficient and the quality of food was good.
The swimming pool is on the roof. I think the pool itself is too small but you can enjoy amazing views of Nessebar old town and the sea here. However, we didn't try the pool as we preferred to swim in the sea.
So in general, I consider Sol Marina Palace as a very good hotel and I have spent the great holiday here.

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose the room on higher floor and with the view to Nessebar old town.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear TravellerG26,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your very nice comment about our staff.
Welcome back next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.2 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
488 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#27 of 35 in Nessebar
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#5 of 35 in Nessebar
298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $79 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgettable. At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation. There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like lobby, sky and day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing