We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have just come back from my holidays in Bulgaria and I am very happy about my choice to stay in Sol Marina Palace hotel.
Sol Marina Palace is situated in the good location - just around 15 min walk from historical Nessebar old town and very close to the sea. Nessebar old town is included in UNESCO heritage list. It is full of narrow ancient streets and contains many churches-museums as old as from XIII century so if you like ancient architecture and museums, you will definitely love Nessebar.
Also, if it becomes a bit too quiet for you in Nessebar, you can visit Sunny Beach resort that is relatively close. The bus goes from Nessebar to Sunny Beach very often and costs only 1 lev.
There is a beach just in front of the hotel and some further beaches that are also very easy to reach. We used to go to the beach in front of the hotel. I should note that this beach is very small and crowded but for me it wasn't a big problem. Since the beach was crowded, it was very easy to make new friends here!
I think one of the main advantages of Sol Marina Palace is its staff. The hotel staff was lovely, chatty and acted like friends. I really liked this because previously I stayed in some hotels where staff was very formal and I found that a bit boring.
Regarding food, the choice was sufficient and the quality of food was good.
The swimming pool is on the roof. I think the pool itself is too small but you can enjoy amazing views of Nessebar old town and the sea here. However, we didn't try the pool as we preferred to swim in the sea.
So in general, I consider Sol Marina Palace as a very good hotel and I have spent the great holiday here.

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose the room on higher floor and with the view to Nessebar old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear TravellerG26,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your very nice comment about our staff.
Welcome back next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 363 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from a week long stay in this hotel, what can I say, Friendly very helpful staff, good clean hotel, very comfortable beds, and good all round meals, nice position overlooking nessebar town and ideally situated as a base to explore the local area

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear simon e,

Thank you for the nice review and for high score!
We hope to see you many more timesin Sol Marina Palace hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've just had our first Bulgarian holiday ever and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The Sol Marina was very comfortable and, whilst it might not have had quite the standards of a 4-star UK hotel, it was very comfortable and relaxing. The roof-top bar and pool were great, although the water temperature seemed to be about the same as the free chilled soft drinks and beer that were on tap - first time I have ever come across free self-service beer. The only slight down-side to the rooftop bar was the rather persistent 'modern' music that played all day long but after our second evening, when we were the only people there and I asked them to turn the music down, things seemed to improve. Perhaps it's just an age thing! The rooms were clean and the maids came in daily to do their work. The only minor comment was that the fridge mini bar was not always re-stocked on a daily basis. The sea-views and view of Old Nessebar were stunning. We took the B&B option, and found the breakfasts excellent. Old Nessebar is just a five minute walk away, across a busy and lively causeway, and there was an enormous number of restaurants to choose a meal from. We found the average spend was around 80-90 levs, which for the three of us equated to around £12-£14 per person. Excellent value. Old Nessebar is fascinating and we never got tired of walking around its myriad of cobbled streets with countless shops. Nessebar beach was just a five minute walk from the hotel where two sunbeds and an umbrella cost around 24 levs - or around £11 for the day - again excellent value.
In conclusion, I could certainly visit Nessebar again, and if I did, I would definitely choose the Sol Marina as being a good quality hotel, ideally placed - just a five minute walk in either direction - between Old Nessebar and Nessebar beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Greychristian,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor. It is true that we have the chance to be located on a very good position overlooking the see and we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Sol Marina Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located just a few minutes walk from both the old town & the beach, fantastic views from the roof top bar & pool. Went B&B only as there's a choice of restaurants/bars elsewhere. Seems all inclusive doesn't include rooftop bar, just the so called Irish Pub near reception. Food & beer is cheap outside so pointless to be so confined to hotel. Good choice of cold food for breakfast, tho hot food may not be to our Irish taste. Staff do tend to whip your plate away, possibly to stop people going back for more. Staff are efficient but it seems the Bulgarian people aren't overly chatty, friendly or charismatic - they float around expressionless, avoiding contact. Quiet hotel, day & night, not for kids, not much entertainment etc but perfect for couples looking for peace & quiet at away from the resorts. Rooftop pool is just fab. Bedrooms are big & bright, basic décor but clean & comfortable with a large moderm bathroom & big shower. All good at this hotel really, B&B!

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers facing north look onto another building with sea view to one side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PioKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear PioKildare,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor! We sincerely appreciate your comments and we constantly work to improve our services. We regret to hear that you find our staff to be not "chatty, friendly or charismatic". We usually receive very good comments about staff as Bulgarians are very friendly nation. We are sorry that you were left with such feelings.

We hope to see you next summer in Sol Marina Palace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a lovely 10 days in Nessebar and couldn't believe how cheap it was compared to spain.
The hotel was ok, but as other people have said, it wasnt a four star by UK standards.
The rooms were fairly big and spotless, as was the rest of the hotel.
We paid for a sea view on the 4th floor and it was a pleasure to wake up to each morning.
This hotel wouldn't need an awful lot of money spent on it, to bring it up to standard.e.g
The pool area didn't have one parasol,the decking was very loose which was dangerous,a few plants here and there would of made it look so much better, as it was really bare.
The food was basic, with not much selection, but ok,ish.
We were on a half board basis, and wondered why there wasn't many people in the restaurant at night,It is because it is so cheap to eat out. Most people went B&B which I would do next time.
The first night,we ordered a bottle of wine with our meal,and wondered why the waiter asked us if we were going to pay for it,(we thought he meant pay by cash, or pay it to the room) so we paid cash, then found out the subsequent nights that it was free,you could have a couple of glasses of wine or a beer,if you went up to the bar,in the restaurant.
Old Nessebar was lovely.
The beach was really busy and very expensive 30 levs for 2 beds and a parasol.
Niko's restaurant and the venice were excellent,and very cheap.
We walked into sunny beach a couple of times as we like walking, but it was definitely catered for the young, but fine all the same.
That said, we still had a lovely holiday and would return to nessebar, but maybe try somewhere else

Room Tip: pay for sea view, you wont be disappointed the higher the floor the better.we were in 413 and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpoolou_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Liverpoolou_10,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comment about your stay at Sol Marina Palace. We always appreciate feedback and we are very sorry that your impressions have not been as you expected for a 4 star hotel. Regarding the parasols round the pool we do not have as it is very windy and it is dangerous if we put parasols. But as we have 2 sides of the Sun terrace all the day you can enjoy a shadow place.
It will be a pleasure for us to see you again in Nessebar and Sol Marina Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my second choice hotel, however, it turned out to be the better hotel of the two we looked at. We wanted a rest and eace and quiet and that just what we had - the roof top sunbathing area was never full and some days we had the place to ourselves - for me I could have done with a bit shade in the form of a brolly, but being the roof and windy, not always practicable. BUT there was always shade if I moved. The pool was freezing, so it took a bit of effort to get in, but once in well worth it. Did walk down to the tiny beach out front a couple of times as the main beach was far too busy. Hotel was bright, clean, rooms good ( could have done with a kettle and cups). On B and B basis, breakfasts were good, and lunch snacks at the Skybar excellent. Hotel was handy for small supermarkets and for Old Nessy Bar - and from the roof there was always something going on in the harbours and bays to keep me interested. We had a room overlooking the harbour which was a bonus.
Waited off for the seafood evening in the dining room and was very disappointed with the selection, and also by the lack of response by the Manager to my E mail.
Not sure why there is an "Irish Pub" in the building, but both that bar and the Foyer Bar always seemed to be quiet. We did enjoy the Skybar at night after dark for a well presented drink and a spot of stargazing.
Quiet week for us as we discovered that hardly any of the other guests spoke any English - so it was back to the books/ Kindle ( a must as there were few English books in the book exchange).
The staff were all very nice and cheerful.
Did plan on using the Spa for a massage, however, I did not really strike up a rapport with the staff so missed out on my bit of papmering.
We did venture into Sunny Beach - very, very, briefly, not my cup of tea.

If you want an exciting night life - you need to pay for a taxi into Sunny Beach.

Room Tip: High floors overllooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear StuartBlaikie,

We are glad to see that you were happy with your stay in Sol Marina Palace.
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our seafood evening. I was not able to send you a response to your mail and I apologise for this.

We will be happy to see you next summer again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a very relaxed holiday in Bulgaria. The hotel (and our room) was always clean and the staff very polite and friendly. We booked B&B, so can't comment on lunches or dinner, but there was always a good selection of both hot and cold breakfast options, served buffet style. The restaurant was kept clean and free of dirty dishes and had a relaxed feel. One point which may be important to some people was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It wasn't something we missed, but realise that it might be expected by some. The bedroom and some or the lobby areas could do with a little updating, the finishings are a bit tired looking. I visited the spa one afternoon for a pedicure and found the staff very friendly and the lady did a great job!

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the UNESCO heritage site of Old Nessebar, where you can find a huge variety of excellent restaurants. I think we made the best choice by booking B&B, over half board or all inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelx1983x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Rachelx1983x,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.. We appreciate your comments and regret that you are not completely satisfied with your stay.
We constantly work to improve our services and products.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.2 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#30 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sol Nessebar Palace
Sol Nessebar Palace
#1 of 35 in Nessebar
780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sol Nessebar Bay
Sol Nessebar Bay
#6 of 35 in Nessebar
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sol Nessebar Mare
Sol Nessebar Mare
#4 of 35 in Nessebar
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $82 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgettable. At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation. There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like lobby, sky and day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing