We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Marina Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Vigo(Nessebar)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Italia(Nessebar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marieta Palace(Nessebar)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kamenec(Nessebar)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveler rating
140
127
61
27
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
127
61
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barrooftop poolinclusive barold townall inclusive optionsunny beachsun deckbed and breakfast basisall inclusive guestsoverlooking the seatop floorcouple of nightspool was coldthe rooms were cleaned dailybulgarian nightmodern hotelkept spotlessly clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 367 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Marina Palace is excellently located with views of the old town of Nessebar and/or the sea.We were on the East facing side, so had a partial view of the sea from our balcony, which was lovely.We went in September (just back 10 hours!!) and although we were not in other bedrooms, we reckoned that it got pretty hot in the south facing rooms.

The room was clean, with decent facilities.The hairdryer worked but there was a hole in the hose bit and the shower was a bit finicky to use.Towels were changed regularly and the cleaning staff were very nice.The room also had a safe which you pay to use.There were no coffee making facilities, and staff didn't allow us to take tea/coffee or water from the restaurant up to the room, but there was a mini fridge in the room.

The reception staff were extremely rude, indifferent and unhelpful.If you can, try to have as little contact with them as possible as their responses will upset you.Although we booked a double room, we were given a twin room, with the beds shoved apart.When we queried this with the woman with short dark hair in reception (who does not wear a name tag and who we think has been mentioned in a previous review), she shrugged and her facial expression varied from disdain to confrontational.We hated when she was on reception and would avoid her as much as possible.

There was another young guy on reception who was also rude to us.He shooed us from the reception and said "go, go", when we tried to confirm if we needed a receipt having just paid for dinner in the restaurant.He didn't update our key when we extended our room stay and then we had to deal with the short haired woman on that one.When we asked the young guy to order a taxi to bring us to the airport, we overheard him tell the taxi man where we were from and they attempted to charge us more than the price we had been quoted earlier by another staff member.He was very reluctant to help us and he admitted that he did not care.

Breakfast staff were mixed, the majority were lovely.Being allergic to wheat, I found the chose of breakfast foods limiting.I also got foodpoisoning on the last day.I'm not sure if it was from the eggs or some pork thing I ate for breakfast.

The acoustics of the hotel were poor and we could hear the music from the bar in our room, which meant accepting that we would not sleep until 1am each night.The air con also vibrated and never sounded off.

If you are going with children, just be aware that there are no kids channels or childrens movies on demand.This did not affect us though.The pool was lovely with beautiful panoramic views and the beautican was extremely friendly and looked after me very well.

In summary, this is brilliantly located hotel with good facilities.Unfortunately, the staff let it down and depending on your interactions with them really have the potential to affect how you feel about your stay.

Room Tip: room 103 would be probably be the best room to choose as its East facing (ie cooler during the day) and is furthest room from the bar.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rainey329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear “Rainey329”

First of all I would like to thank You for choosing h-l Sol Marina Palace for Your summer holiday! We appreciate shared experience in Tripadvisor as well!
Unfortunately, from Your review is clear enough, that You haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish You to, but never the less thank You for the nice words about the hotel location and views.
After a short investigation among our employees I would like to share our opinion in here and to clarify some details You have mentioned in Your comments, which could be not clear for our future guests!
The double rooms in the hotel are all twin-bedded and because of constructional and design nature we are not able to set beds together. Double bed could be offered by the hotel only in units, directly facing the black sea and in the apartments, for which the price is different than Your original booking. According to our reception You have been explained and offered many times about the opportunity for an extra charge and the specific hotel equipment!
For this season we have had more than 3 clients, allergic to wheat, and all of them have been provided with the correct meals or bread! We only needed to know about Your allergic and we would do the same for You! Even some clients are mentioning about this healthy feature in front of the tour operator, that we could prepare ourselves, to provide the best service and welcome! Meanwhile the day of Your departure and even after, we haven’t had “Food poisoning” case in our registers or among our guests! Maybe You can send us more information for the menu You have had that day?
I appreciate Your worries about our family guests, but please note, that on our channels list we have the most popular international kid’s channels and namely: CN (Cartoon network), Boomerang and Disney channel!
I will totally agree with You, that staff in a hotel could really ruin Your holiday! As a service orientated business, hotels and management companies are straight orientated to pick up the best and to train the employees as good as possible! After all, it is also very important what are the clients looking for!?!
If You give us a second chance to welcome You again in our hotel in the near future, we would be very happy to show You our professionalism and good manners in order to satisfy every detailed request You may have!

Sincerely yours

Tsvetosalv Angelski
Quality Manager
Sol Marina Palace, Nessebar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Marina Palace in the beggining of the month of August 2012 with my boyfriend. I absolutely had the best of time!! First of all, the rooms were very clean and cosy but the best feature certainly was the rooftop pool overlooking the sea from which you could see the sunrise (for the early birds or late partygoers), very romantic :) Also, I might add that this hotel has a ideal location between the beach and the old town so we could easily walk to restaurants, shops, etc. I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

I would like to thank you for the nice words you wrote about Sol Marina Palace hotel We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisorll! We will be happy if you come next year again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Marina Palace for a week in july (2012). We booked a double room with semi all inclusive. It was good value for the money. The hotel restaurant is serving good and varied food. With semi all inclusive all drinks (soft drinks, beer and vine) is free, although there is no coffee at lunch. Since we wanted to experience the old town, we went out for dinner. The prices at Bulgarian restaurants is cheap, and the food is very good. Many of the restaurants in the old town has amazing views over the Black sea.
Be aware that all inclusive is not applicable in Sky Bar or Day Bar. Sky Bar has the greatest views over the old town, so it is worth paying the little bit extra for drinks. The staff is helpful and polite.
We found the room basic, but clean. The room has AC, but it wasn't working very well.
The balcony was very small, so there was only space for a small table and two chairs.
The beauty salon was rather poor all tough the prices was nice (check picture).
The hotel has a nice atmosphere. Most of the guest are Scandinavians.
The pool at the top of the hotel was nice, and there was almost sun beds for everyone.
If you like to go to the beach, you will find it very nice.
Two sun beds and one parasol costs from 21 to 30 BGN (2.20 BGN is about 0,6 EUR or 4 NOK).
It was nice to experience that there is no hassling in the shops. And you do not have to bargain. Most of the goods has a price tag. Over all we had a pleasant and relaxing stay, with amazing sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - then you'll get a bigger balcony with stunning views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kave_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our happiness for choosing our hotel for spending your summer holiday. We appreciate your opinion and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer.

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary holiday weekend.
This hotel is sort of new, well designed and very suiting for tourists who want to walk around the town and especially to the old fishing village of Nessebar. The view from our room and from the rooftop pool was beautiful. One sandy beach is very close-by and so is the scuba diving port, the boats, the tourist train along the promenade and sightseeing along the rocky beach. The main promenade and tourist attractions at Sunny Beach are just a short bus-ride away.

Some negative comments about the hotel service:

The dinner buffet is varied and plenty of food choices, although if you come late the food is somewhat dry (open buffet).
If you have to leave early for the flight, the breakfast is open only from 07:30 and there is no coffee or anything else available. The hotel offers a very poor breakfast package with bottled water and a sandwich.
There was no extra key (electronic) for the room.
The safe in the room is not even attached to the wall or cabinet.
The mini-bar is not cold.
There is only one electric outlet in the room for connecting electrical equipment (chargers, computer etc.).
The rooftop pool is small but nice, with a corner whirlpool. Not much, but OK for kids.

In summary - the hotel and the room are OK and the personnel are friendly, but the service could be upgraded more for a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Segula-Amnon_Irmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is important to us that you share your experience in Tripadviser. Thank you for your negative comments, we surely need a feedback from our guests so we can improve our service and work. Hope to be our guest again :)

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is in a good location but you really don't get what you pay for! We paid for a double room with a sea view all inclusive and we got a twin room with the view of a building site! The all inclusive food doesn't cater for vegetarians apart from a bit of salad every day! The all inclusive drinks only include beer, wine and coke in the restaurant and the Irish pub both which are open at limited times! The maid barely cleans the room and you don't get fresh towels every day only on the first day. The staff arent very pleasant and welcoming either!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Losdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace hotel for your summer holiday! We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisor!
Unfortunately, from your review is clear enough, that you haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish you to. We really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
The chambermaids are changing the towels every day if you put them on the floor. They are cleaning the rooms every day.
The All Inclusive drinks are from 07.30 till 23.00 in the evening which are usually the hours in most of the All Inclusive hotels in Bulgaria.
We are training the staff to be helpful and polite to the all the guests.
I hope that you will give us another chance and we will have the privilege to welcome you one day again at our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews