We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday, Great Staff!”
Review of Hawaii Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nessebar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawaii Hotel
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday, Great Staff!”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

As other reviews have stated this is a basic 2* Hotel, but it is clean, friendly and you are on Holiday! Rooms are basic but you get a TV (with English speaking European News, Free Premiership Live Football (Nova Sport), etc), a Fridge and Air Conditioning which is a must (especially in Summer!). Beds are hard (as other reviews have said) and only 1 pillow each. Breakfast is plentiful with a good choice of hot & cold foods (you won't go hungry!). Bring your own kettle! But you only sleep & shower in the room and you do get what you pay for. Our balcony (while small) did offer a good view of the local area with the Black Sea in the distance. It gets very warm on the balcony (in August) especially with the air conditioning on. The Bathroom is good, with a shower (on the wall, wet-room style) with good Hot water. On a couple of occasions we had no hot water but it was not long before it came back on! Our room was cleaned every day, if you want clean towels leave the dirty ones on the floor in the bathroom and you will get them. The real Holiday starts at the Pool and the Pool Bar. This is fantastic, with a small childrens pool (we had our 10 year old with us) which has a nice kids slide into the pool. There is also a larger pool which is great for cooling off in (especially in August!). The garden areas and pools are very well kept, they are extremely well watered (No hose pipe bans there!), the grass cut regularly and the pool itself kept immaculately clean. Then there is George, who looks after the Pool Bar. He is very hard working and a Gentleman. He couldn't do enough for us! George actually opened up the Bar, phoned my room at 4.00am in the morning to make sure we had not slept in as we had a 4:45am pick up from the Hotel for the airport. On coming down to reception at 4:10am, he made us coffee and Fanta for our 10 year old and provided a bottle of water each (as he said "the shop at the airport may be closed")! He would not accept a penny for any of this, he really appreciated our custom. When the bus did pick us up and stopped off at the 5* Hotel up the road (to pick up another couple) it was funny to see that they were sat in the dark alone! George's wife (& all his staff) work hard and are very friendly and I say a Big Thank You to them All for all their work and Help while we were there. Whilst we were there we met some very nice people, who all agreed that they were having a Good time. The Black Sea & Beach are Great, I have never known a sea to be so warm! We wandered round the New Town of Nessebar quite often and had no trouble what so ever. The Old Town is lovely and whilst you do get 'targeted' to spend your money, it is well worth a visit. The Hotel Hawaii is a Great location for the Beach and town/shops. There is a Supermarket directly over the road and plenty of Cafe/Bar's within easy reach. All in all we had a Great time and would definitely Go back. You get what you pay for, so hard beds and a basic room with Air Conditioning, TV, Fridge and good shower will do us fine at this price! I used the safety Deposit Boxes in Reception and had no problem at all. Whilst they are a bit expensive at 6 Lev per day, it takes away the worry of losing your Passports, money, etc, especially when you are out and about. We found the staff all polite and friendly, especially when you went out of your way to speak to them. They couldn't do enough for you. Wish I was there now!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    10
    8
    17
See reviews for
7
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Me and my aunt spent 7 days at Nessebar at Hawaii Hotel. From the very beginning we've got a dirty room, bathroom as well. We also noticed that the doors of the fridge and balcony were broken and told all this to the receptionist. The reply was that they don't have other rooms, but he will send a technician to fix them. Aha, wait! He didn't came. I was absolutely disappointed. At last he proposed us another room which wasn't better (e.g: the outlet wasn't working well). Well, the fridge was all right and we moved it to our room in order to have even cold water in warm weather conditions. The adventures didn't end. On the second day we left the towels on the floor in the bathroom. When we came back, we saw only one towel set changed laying on the bed. The other one was picked up from the floor and left on a shelf for further use. The room wasn't cleaned at all. The trash basket was empty, but the room in the same disgustingly dirty estate. It was really nasty. The breakfast variety consisted of stale products and eggs in all the possible ways of cooking. The tablecloths were very-very dirty, as well as the knifes, forks, and cups. Last three days of our sojourn were marked by an awful "perfume" from the bathroom (combined with WC). I would never recommend Hawaii Hotel. It will spoil your stay at Nessebar which is really an interesting UNESCO Heritage Site to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulikoelBanditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nessebar hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The hotel was in need of renovation as other reviews had suggested however our room was clean with fridge and air conditioning and the rooms were cleaned daily. Bathroom cleaned, towels changed and the water was always hot. The bed broke however my partner is 20 stone ha ha but they immediately gave us another room for the night until it was repaired in the morning. The beds weren't particularly comfy but this is a 2* hotel!
There was a plug socket in the room with exposed wires which was dangerous so reported it and it was immediately fixed by the maintenance man (very nice but can speak NO English!).
I would not use the safes at this hotel as another tourists passport and money was taken from her safe which are in the reception area.
Reception staff were all friendly and helpful. Staff at the pool bar (George and the Russian looking girl) were very friendly too. Snacks were available at the bar which we had but there is a supermarket and other local places where you can get food and drink.
Cleaners appeared to be friendly however a mobile phone and watch went missing from our room but then on the last day my partner had dropped his driving licence in the room and it was returned to him after we had checked out and was waiting for the coach!!!!
I would advise not to leave valuables in the hotels.
The pool area had plenty of sun loungers and as others have reported people do put there towels on them early in the morning which is irritating. We did go in the pool and it was regularly cleaned and i didn't see it looking cloudy!!! The tiles on the steps in the pool are sharp and we heard that one person had cut his leg and we seen another cut his toe!
Breakfast at the hotel, well, coffee and bread rolls with cheese and tomato was about the only thing i personally would eat but they did have a selection of meats, eggs, beans, cereal but it didn't look particularly appetising!!
We were on the 6th floor and were always able to get to our room using the lifts and we were there for 2 weeks.
We would go back to this hotel if it was a similar price at the same time of year - £330 for 2 weeks at this hotel and we had 2 weeks of 30 degree + weather close to the beach and from here you are also able to walk to Nessebar Old Town which is very nice and has lots of little shops and restaurants on the cobbled streets. Sunny Beach is 20 levs in a taxi (£10).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elp12002uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugla, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Basic hygiene was sadly lacking in the dining areas althought the grease covered table clothes were meticulously brushed every morning after breakfast. Does the hotel not possess a washing machine? The same rubbish was on the patio throughout the whole fortnight. A towel was used to wipe down the hot food area at the end of breakfast. There did not appear to be any cleaning agents used.

Every morning we had to ask for various items of china and cutlery and these came out in small amounts, wet and cold. I question whether these items actually saw any hot water and washing up liquid. It seems the hotel was totally unable to cater for the number of guests. Nearly every table had a sugar bowl with obligatory coffee/tea stained, sugar coated teaspoon.

Our toilet and washbasin were not cleaned for days resulting in us buying our own cleaning agent and cloths.

The pool was not properly maintained. It was so cloudy my husband grazed his knee on the steps leading out into the pool.

Could the lack of basic hygiene been responsible for us both having stomach upsets during our holiday?

The lifts were inadequate and operated intermittently.

There were a number of evenings when we had no cold water and had to wait until we could have a shower.

Fire extinguishers had not been tested for about 15-16 months.

The reception area, games/internet room, corridors and dining areas were very hot and uncomfortable. This must have made it very unpleasant for the staff.

The only good points were the poolside bar, the garden and the helpful, pleasant reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkey21221512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

cant believe one review i read the receptionists were lovely and spoke good english porters helpful problems dealt with as soon as reasonable room very clean bedding changed at end of first week breakfast good all staff in dining room -and cleaners and our gardener (who keeps the grounds beautiful)
Our only complaints were selfish tourists who put towels on sunbeds all day (although when we mentioned it the PR man had a notice put up straight the way requesting tourists not to leave totwels all day. Also tourists took bags of food from breakfast including fruit rolls yogurt - and took big piles of food and some didnt eat half of it how could you eat 5 eggs or piled high omlette therefore wasted a lot. If only we could have stayed another week! not that would be greedy. Give our regards to all staff and our gardener - we were in room 105
This hotel is not 5 star but everything else is clean, helpful staff . One ocmplaint the first night we had a lovely meal in the hotel outdoor restaurant. the 2nd meal a few days later was not good ie si ordered port spare ribs only one bit was meat the rest was fat also i think we were overcharged to a bottle of merlot so we didnt eat there again although george was very friendly. these are our only complaints

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anngreen020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Where do i start.On arrival we did not receive any help with luggage form security guard who just stood there n watched us struggle up the steps with our cases,never received a welcome from the receptionist who just gave us our key and told us 7th floor,no indication as to where lifts were. Room was supposed to be a superior room(what a joke). Beds rock hard and only changed once during our stay (yukkkkkk) rooms not cleaned very well at all. Pool area not swept and there was glass on the floor and the pool itself was very dirty (couldn't see the bottom). During our stay there was a major power cut that lasted 2 days and the hotel had no back up whatsoever (they gave us all a candle lol) no food,no beer as was all run by electric. Staff so unfriendly didn't even respond when you said hello. On the upside Old Nessabar was delightful and when worth a visit. If going to bulgaria avoid the Hawaii Hotel like the plague.....................

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2010

just got back from this hotel and to be honest i was not expecting much after reading such bad reviews on this site.
i traveled with my 18 year old daughter and we had a great time , you honestly get what you pay for , the rooms were clean the beds and towels were changed when needed the cleaners were always about shower worked well in fact the whole hotel was clean and tidy.
the food was good george the bar owner was very nice he works so hard to help you enjoy your stay
security was good did not feel worried about leaving the room ,finally just to say thanks to everyone at the hotel for making it such a nice holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kamenec
Hotel Kamenec
#17 of 35 in Nessebar
21 reviews
2.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#28 of 35 in Nessebar
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elizabeth Dy
Elizabeth Dy
#15 of 35 in Nessebar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Evridika
Hotel Evridika
#22 of 35 in Nessebar
17 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vigo
Hotel Vigo
#31 of 35 in Nessebar
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Saint Nikola
Hotel Saint Nikola
#10 of 35 in Nessebar
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Hotel

Property: Hawaii Hotel
Address: UR NESSEBAR S/N, Nessebar 8249, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawaii Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Hawaii Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing