We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”
Review of Hemingways

Hemingways
Ranked #53 of 126 Restaurants in Nessebar
Description: Sea view, overlooking the ferrry boats going across the bay to sunny beach central resort.
Restaurant details
Description: Sea view, overlooking the ferrry boats going across the bay to sunny beach central resort.
Crewe
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's difficult to be overly positive about this restaurant. The evening we visited, we were shown to a nice table upstairs overlooking the bay - the view was lovely. The waitress appeared shortly afterwards with menus and took our drinks order. However, the drinks were delivered shortly afterwards but were simply placed on the table. I had to open & pour the bottle of beer myself. Have you ever heard of a restaurant where you're handed a bottle of unopened beer which you've had to open and pour yourself?!!

A short while later, the waitress returned to collect our food order. A group of five people then arrived and sat at the table opposite. Nobody seemed interested in serving them; they waited for over 10 mins for somebody to bring them some menus but nobody did and they ended up walking out.

Meanwhile, the table next to them were having a full-on argument which ended abruptly as one of the party got up and left the restaurant.

When our meals arrived (chicken skewers), there were no accompaniments, i.e. it was simply a large skewer with lots of big pieces of chicken - but no salad, no chips, no nothing!

Though it was the only restaurant which we visited during our stay which had live musicians, the atmosphere felt a little stale and we were both glad to leave. The skewers weren't bad, to be honest, but they should have been served with a small salad or a few chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    13
    8
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute waiters”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

That short blond hair waiters girl is so cute

Helpful waiters and they know menus 100% i am beefeaters but lamb was good all so

One lamb and 3 timess steak sirion with onions

Eat four times nower get bad food or service everything is like 5 star restaurant but cheap prices at least Finnish point of wien

If Finland where i am yuo wand same servise yuo must pay 3 or 4 timess moor

Food in Finland are good but servise is not if go place where meal price is below 60e (120levaa) per person yuo get food but not servise

Best meals of the holiday and best wien of sea and that very cute waitress

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sokar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & Views”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great meal here Mixed Lamb and Chicken sizzler, Waiter Asem told us it was enough for 2, which it was, nice bottle of red wine and great views of the marina.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank R0ni2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose Hemmingway’s due to the live 2-person band which made a nice change. Just 8 people all evening, so small wonder then the white-suited, stetson-wearing owner was on the street touting for custom. Taking a table on the terrace overlooking the sea the setting was great. It’s this side of the Old Town that you see the actual sun setting. We always ask for all the dishes to be brought at the same time in case anything is ‘unpleasant’ and can try something else instead of having to wait again. The portions are large enough at all the restaurants & we order just 3 mains for the 4 of us.
Shepherd’s Salad, Chinese chicken & rice, HUGH pork pieces on a skewer with onions & peppers plus beef with a creamy sauce & chips. All the meat was barbequed on a griddle downstairs. The chicken & rice was fine as was the salad. The pork too was OK but a little under-cooked in the middle due to the size of each lump of meat – pity. The beef was poor. Plentiful but mainly gristle & fat with the occasional edible piece if you cut the rest away. The chips were covered in a tasty creamy sauce.
Free Wi-Fi but it didn’t work. Excellent service though & really enjoyed the band.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saxondean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“For us, it was perfect!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant is surprisingly easy to miss, located just past the entrance to Old Nessebar, through an alleyway on the left. Be sure to get a 10% discount flyer, and a table on the upper terrace with the afternoon / evening sun is just perfect. We had drinks and pancakes, although the rest of the menu is plentiful and typical of the many restaurants around. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. All in all, we could not find fault with our experience and were only sad that we had not found the place earlier in our stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingways also viewed

Nessebar, Burgas Province
 
Nessebar, Burgas Province
Nessebar, Burgas Province
 
Nessebar, Burgas Province
Nessebar, Burgas Province
 

Been to Hemingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing