We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome break”
Review of Mirage of Nessebar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mirage of Nessebar
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Nessebar
Reviewed April 30, 2013

good quality hotel near the new town and in easy walking distance of the old town. breakfast was better than expected with good choice and wide selection of dishes. Didn't eat in the hotel other than breakfast but drinks and coffees were served promptly. The room was modern and well serviced except towels were only changed every three days...not enough. Happy to go back there.

Room Tip: rooms at the seaside get shade very early in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xalo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have just recently returned back to Aberdeen from a FANTASTIC week long holiday to Bulgaria. I travelled there with my mum & we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

We stayed in The Mirage Hotel, Nessebar. Would definately recommend this hotel to my friends & anyone who is interested in holidaying there. All the staff in the hotel were lovely as was the locals. The views from our room were magnificant, looking out onto the beach every morning was wonderful. The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to most places. The Boulevard Cafe & Diner was by far my favourite restaurant over there. We dined there many times over the week. The MIrage Hotel is also right on the beach front, perfect if you like to have a walk on the beach. The beds in the rooms at the hotel are the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in in a hotel, the pillows were great too :). Grigor & the rest of the staff at the hotel were lovely people, helping myself & my mum & friends (who we met there) to the learn the lingo.

Nessebar Old Town is absolutely beautiful. Definately better going there at night when it is less busy & the setting is georgeous. Plenty of little shops to go into including handbag shops ;). Everything over there is very inexpensive, i found it very difficult to spend my money.

If anyone is thinking of travelling to Bulgaria i would definately recommend staying at The Mirage. Perfect Location, beautiful views & great staff :).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gcoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the mirage for a week at the end of July. This is a beautiful hotel and we had an amazing room looking out over the sea. The was stylish, large and comfortable. The bath however is a little high to climb into for a shower if you are only 5 ft 2 ". The maid who cleaned our room was excellent and did a good job without being obtrusive. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

However, the staff in the dining room and bar were incredibly rude. Don't be suprised if you plate is whisked from underneath you whilst you are still eating. Salt and pepper are hard to find and staff unhelpful when you ask for anything. The bar staff were too busy socialising to serve you promptly or iffeciently and dominated the TV.

The pool is by ahe mirage apartments and sun beds are full of towels with no one lying on them which we found frustrating. The sun loungers and umbrellas on the beach are expensive and uncomfortable.

Would I return. NO!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here with the family for 2 weeks at the beginning of August, our first visit to Bulgaria. A good 4 star hotel in a prime location overlooking the beach, you couldnt get a better sea view if you tried. Rooms were large and beds extreamely comfortable with fab views.Breakfast was good and plentiful, food at the hotel was really good and reasonably priced. Old town Nessebar is beautiful, but for eating out we found the area around the hotel (new town) to have better restaurants and more reasonable prices. Staff at the hotel were helpful, try a massage with the lovely Maria, 15 english pounds for an hour and 15 mins massage which was fantastic, the best massage ive ever had!
Best asset this hotel has? the doorman Grigor! an absolutely lovely man who cannot do enough to help anyone, nothing is too much trouble when hes around, he has a wealth of local knowledge on anything you need to know and really goes above and beyond his role at the hotel. I hope the hotel realise what a brilliant employee they have in Grigor, he makes the hotel what it is!.
Bulgaria is a beautiful country which i would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank michellebrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Nice hotel with some very nice staff - 4* warranted.

Pro's

Fabulous location.
Some excellent staff.
Central for walking into New Nessebar town (mainly residential and pleasant).
Great breakfast and reasonable food.
Inexpensive.

Con's

Some poorly trained & incompetent staff (in certain areas only).
Guest rooms are adequate but look dated for such a young hotel.
Management and maintenance staff wandering around chain smoking.
Health and safety issues.

This little hotel could be worth another star if it sorted out some of it’s staffing issues were attented to and management adopted a professional approach. With the exception of Reception and Cleaning staff the remaining workers in general seem to be poorly trained or untrained. They are definitely capable of raising the bar and making this the premier hotel in Nessebar.

I don’t wish to name staff in case management read these reviews and kick butt - but a couple of members of breakfast waiting staff and beach club bartending were found to be as much use as a Anne Frank’s ghetto blaster. We did receive a 2.50 lev bill for a drink taken from our mini bar. We never used any drinks from the mini bar and experienced a similar case of this at the Iberostar Sunny Beach last year. Anyhoo, we contacted reception immediately and they corrected matters. Be careful – Is this a Bulgarian thing???

If all staff adopted the professional standards set by the friendly and ever helpful Reception doorman/concierge Grigor or the beautiful ever-smiling Receptionist Desislava this place could take off (all reception and concierge staff were good).

Hotel location is top notch sitting immediately above Nessebar South Beach with a fair amount of restaurants/bars within a 5 minute walk. I’ll mention restaurants later.

A modern appearance from the outside continues indoors and the layout inside give's a feeling of spaciousness. Reception and other public areas are well presented in a contemporary style and the outside terraces are beautifully fitted with white rattan furnishings.

Rooms seem dated for a young hotel, particularly the odd coloured bathrooms, but they are perfectly adequate for a beach based holiday - Air conditioning worked fine, but not overly cold. TV has two English speaking channels in BBC World News & EuroNews. The very poor Eurosport 1&2 is available in another indistinguishable language. Rooms and halls are fully carpeted resulting in very little noise in the corridors and adjoining rooms. Lifts were slow but fully functional and dropped you off at every level including the beach club café.

Bathrooms on the corner rooms 202, 302, 402, 502 etc have an opening window in the bathtub/shower at waist level looking out to the Black Sea - God knows if anyone swimming in the sea can see your private bits but it certainly feels like they can when you are showering. Guests also need to beware of this outrageously placed window as any top heavy person over 6ft tall slipping in the bath could quite easily fall out the window to their death.

Poolside has ample space for both the hotel guests and adjoining apartment's guests. Plenty of sun loungers are available but you have to be up before 07:00 to claim the best placed ones. With the greed shown by Nessebar Municipality in charging 10 lev's apiece for uncomfortable and unpadded beach loungers and parasols, or 7 lev's apiece for the inferior ones, the poolside is likely to become busier as the peak months arise.

Needless to say that there were very few beach loungers occupied during our 14 night stay and the local government are simply throwing away money - Given the reasonable cost of almost everything else in Bulgaria the sun beach loungers and parasols could easily take up the lion's share of your holiday spending money. This was a big disappointment for us as we love to stretch out on the beach. Solution - buy a large parasol 22 lev's and a couple of beach mats 6 lev each and walk half a mile towards Ravda for some free beach lazing. Lying on the sand is far more comfortable than those brick hard 10 lev loungers.

Within a 5 to 10 minute walk there are plenty of facilities such as banks, supermarkets, clothing stores, currency exchange and numerous restaurants. The hotel has a gate opened until approx 20:00 and this gives easy access to a small promenade of restaurants such as:

Niko’s Place 2* - Tasty food and good service but a pretty filthy restaurant with all waiters openly smoking in front of customers. Handy for a light bite to eat and always seemed the busiest of restaurants probably due to having live music in the evenings (poor live music).

Oazis 0* - Filthy hole with inedible food – apparently had 9 owners over the past 9 seasons? Not to be confused with the nearby Oasis Park.

South Park 2* - Basic food in a basic set up – attentive service.

Restaurants walking in the direction of New Nessebar:

Stariat Kesten 2* - Basic food with attentive but disinterested waiting staff.

Zlatna Ribka 4* - Normal Bulgarian fare but tasty and service was of a high standard.

King Kong 4* - Normally busy with Pizza families – Good service and good food. Very clean with friendly staff and air con on the hottest nights. Very inexpensive.

Palazzo 4* - Nice freshly made pizzas and pasta. Good service and beautiful interior. Expensive in comparison to other local restaurants.

Alexander 1* - Gets top rating for Nessebar restaurants on TA. We must have landed on a bad night as the service was diabolical – Food was of a 3* standard but taking service into account can only rate it 1*

One more thing to add – If you are thinking of New Nessebar for a holiday and dislike smoking it may not be the place for you. Smoking is king to Bulgarians and as New Nessebar is mainly residential virtually everyone smokes. As restaurants all have full length windows/shutters opening onto the street they simply open them up and everyone smokes making for some very uncomfortable dining. We were in Sunny Beach last year and there was a marked reduction in the number of smokers which we believe to be due to it being a more cosmopolitan resort.

We have drifted somewhat from the subject of the hotel but I wanted to be fairly comprehensive in our review. We hope this information helps others make up their minds.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "02" 202. 302, 402 etc have a corner view looking towards Old Nessebar - T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank OhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just returned from our second year at the Mirage and have already booked again for next year. The hotel is great and the staff could not do any more to make your stay special. From the girl who cleaned our room to the girls on reception, from Bilyana in the lobby bar and Grigor who is the font of all knowledge, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. We look forward to seeing all of them next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Barrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

just returned from 2 week stay at The Mirage, hotel was briliant, always clean, staff very helpful and friendly. lovely location right on the beach with fabulous views.perfect weather.
we were on bed and breakfast and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank leedsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nessebar hotels
0.1 mi away
MPM Hotel Arsena
MPM Hotel Arsena
#8 of 35 in Nessebar
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Marina Palace
Sol Marina Palace
#3 of 35 in Nessebar
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#9 of 35 in Nessebar
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Italia
Italia
#7 of 35 in Nessebar
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Festa Panorama
Festa Panorama
#2 of 35 in Nessebar
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirage of Nessebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage of Nessebar

Address: Old Nessebar, Nessebar 8230, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range: $35 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mirage of Nessebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Of Nessebar Hotel Nessebar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing