We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - but better alternatives”
Review of Moura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moura Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average - but better alternatives”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed half-term week with my daughter.

Room was a good size with lots of storage and the twin beds were comfortable, although I had reservations about whether the bed linen had been changed ... but it was late when we arrived and I got the impression complaining wouldn't have achieved much.

The staff are generally completely apathetic and show no interest for the guests. The whole place shows a complete lack of management; for example, the bar till is a glass under the counter and the staff get very irate if you don't have the right change when paying for drinks.

The food is basic and done on a budget. Lots of potatoes and rice and lots of dishes made with chicken wings and cheap cuts of meat. I wouldn't bother going half-board; there's lots of cheap better places to eat nearby.

It didn't spoil the holiday because we went out most evenings, but it was disappoiting given that it is supposed to be a 3-star hotel.

Don't worry about the night club downstairs, you can hardly hear it.

Room Tip: Unless you're on a budget, try and book into the Rila or the Samokov; both of which are much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
14
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Given how much was paid for the hotel, wasn't expecting massive luxury, but found the whole holiday a disappointment..
The food, like some other reviews have stated, isn't very good quality.
While the rooms were good for the cost, some of the staff were pretty rude and unhelpful- twice I went up to reception when they were on their mobile and then got shunned as quickly as possible so they could get back to their conversation... Don't think will be going back sadly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee91271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Borovets hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week from Feb 9th to 15th. We had read some horror stories on here about the hotel so was a little worried! Some of the reviews were a little dramatic so here is an honest review, from a non dramatic person!

When we arrived, our room was ready and waiting for us, although some of our party has to wait a little while.

One of the issues that worried me from reading reviews on here was the issue of cigarette smoke everywhere in hotel. I can honestly say that during our stay, the only smell about was bleach! The hotel was always clean, the reception area, the restaurant area, and our rooms- no problems.

The room itself was ideal, twin beds and a bathroom with shower. Our bedding was changed often and we had clean towels every day. The bathroom was clean but in need of an upgrade.

As some have mentioned before, the nightclub in the hotel is not a real issue. On our last night (which was a Friday) we could hear the thumps of music very faintly but nothing major. We were disturbed a few times during the early hours of the morning by individuals returning to their rooms from the nightclub, but again, after a day os skiing you are too tired to worry about this!

Food was ok. Breakfast a choice of cereal (muesli and corn flakes), toast (be patient with the toadter!) fruit and some hot choices - egg, sausage etc. Dinner was a little repetative - always a choice of potatoes, chips and rice. Lots of stews and wishy washy meat in juice.

Location is fab! 150m or so from the Gondola station. Close enough to the bars and restaurants. We used the swimming pool in the Samakov Hotel which was also ideal.

All in all great value for money, clean and ideally located. Would definitely recommend if you're happy with the basic things in life.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ffj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A small, basic but comfortable hotel only 5 mins walk from slopes and lifts. Due to availability, I stayed here on my own whilst friends had booked the Samokov a few minutes walk away. It was quite and felt secure in my room and at the hotel. There is a night club beneath the hotel but I could not hear it and did not get disturbed. Breakfast was usual buffet style but I did not eat at the hotel in the evening. Other guests commented on lack of choice of evening buffet meals.

There are no other amenities such as swmming pool, gym, sauna etc so a little like a premier inn or holiday inn express standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed as family of 4, children aged 11 and 14, by far the cheapest skiing holiday I could find so I wasn't expecting anything great but after reading some of the reviews I was starting to expect a real doss hole but pleasantly surprised. Good location 5 minutes from main chair lifts, plenty of restaurants / bars in walking distant but couldn't hear any noise from hotel, room ok and not a bad size with nice balcony area, bar and restaurant ok although could do with some updating. Most of the staff seemed ok apart from the odd miserable one. Breakfast wasn't great but edible, dinner at night wasn't great either, not much choice but if you closed your eyes and swallowed hard it filled a gap, to be honest I wasn't expecting great food but as the holiday was so cheap and less than most self catering holidays I didnt mind going out some nights for dinner as this was relatively cheap. The skiing was great though and loved every minute of it!!! And I've paid double the price to stay in hotels in France and Italy that were no better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As the title says small and friendly, good for a family, food basic but wholesome, lounge comfortable, bar reasonable, rooms clean. A basic tourist hotel, value for money, could use a face lift and a bit more attention to 'wear and tear'.

Room Tip: Rooms get smaller as you go higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flatfooters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on the 19th to the 25th and where greeted with a ice covered front which was stupidly slippy. We got our room on the second floor which was great but we still decided to use the lift with all the heavy bags. how that think was passed by regulators i have no idea. our room wasnt too bad, although the bathroom roof was falling in on its self. the beds where super thin and mine was on a tilt towards the wall.
We went down for dinner and where greeted with a choice of green slop or grey slop, luke warm chips and 'meat balls' which looked more like under cooked burgers. we ate out most of the time. The breakfast on the other hand was pretty decent with sausage, egg and toast.
at night the noise was unbearable!!! at 3am there where lads and girls shouting and screaming till about 5am! There was also the sound of sex from all angles! It felt like we where trapped in an american pie film. at one point im sure i could hear a lad shouting at another lad to get a 'hard on' this is totally unacceptable. I understand that everyone wants to have a good time on holiday but hearing that at 4 in the morning was disgusting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdave73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borovets hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ela
Hotel Ela
#11 of 29 in Borovets
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samokov Hotel
Samokov Hotel
#12 of 29 in Borovets
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#15 of 29 in Borovets
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lion
Hotel Lion
#2 of 29 in Borovets
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
Euphoria Club Hotel & Spa
#3 of 29 in Borovets
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bor
Hotel Bor
#23 of 29 in Borovets
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moura Hotel

Property: Moura Hotel
Address: In the resort centre, Borovets 2010, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel "Moura" is located at the very center of Borovetz across from the cabin lift. The hotel has 19 triple, 28 double, and 17 single rooms, 1 family room and 1 apartment. Each room has its own bathroom, telephone, satellite TV and some of them have terraces. The classic romance of a mountain hotel is well-combined with bold design and dynamic colors. The hotel has a restaurant with capacity of 120 seats, lobby-bar with a fireplace and conference hall with 25 seats. A children's play room is available for the convenience of our guests with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing